We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I spent a Saturday night at the Wingate while traveling to the West. Check in was very quick and the hotel desk staff friendly. We had a non smoking, double queen room on the second floor. The room had a flat screen TV, microwave and small refrigerator, and a large bathroom with lots of counter space. Breakfast consisted of home made waffles, breads and cereals. Also a positive, there were ceramic coffee mugs instead of paper cups. I did not use the pool or fitness center, but the looked like they both were of high quality.
If you are on I-80, this is a great hotel in Kearney.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChitownCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed one night at the Wingate on our way to a family reunion. I chose this hotel as we had stayed here before - but that was maybe 9yrs ago. Back then the hotel was brand new and very nice. Now, it's starting to show some wear and tear. I was a bit disappointed in it's kind of shabbiness. We had a double suite with a pullout sofa. The sofa was ripped. The bathroom looked like it could use a really good intensive cleaning - the grout was black where people stood in front of the sink as opposed to the rest of the grout. The wall paper in the bathroom is beginning to come loose and the wall in the bathroom under the sink with the trash can had some food on the wall.

Since we only stayed one night we didn't try the pool but did have breakfast in the morning. Standard fair - items to toast, cereal but there was some eggs and sausage. It was well stocked and fine for what I was expecting. The lady who checked us in late the night before was really nice, helpful and accommodating. It was quiet, so that was a plus.

It was just ok. I would definitely like to see a few updates or just a good cleaning of the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2, Regional Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2009

Thank you all for your wonderful reviews and especially for choosing the Wingate Inn in Kearney Nebraska! In addition, reviews that were received with constructive feedback as well as other oppotunities...Thank You also! In our continued efforts in striving to be the best, your feedback helps us focus on the areas necessary to maky everyones stay a Wonderful stay.

We do hope you enjoy our recent renovation of the guestrooms and continue to enjoy the Wingate Inn here in Kearney Nebraska!

Management

"If you can change your mind, you can change the world" - Joey Reimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed overnight here on the way to and from Colorado. This hotel and everything about it seemed to be brand new. It is in a very quiet aera off the expressway. The beds were incredible. Had a great nights sleep.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed one night at the Wingate. We were upgraded to a suite upon check-in. This hotel is very nice. The rooms were spacious and very clean. It had all the amenities and more for the price. I would definitely recommend the Wingate if staying in Kearney.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim&Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

I really like staying at Wingate hotels. I feel they are quality hotels at a very reasonable price. I was not disappointed by the one in Kearney, Nebraska. Our room was really nice, the pool area was wonderful and the breakfast was good. I would be happy to stay here again. One thing to note: We have five people in our family. The online reservation system accepted a reservation for five, but warned that I should check with the hotel to make sure this was acceptable. I called the hotel and they assured me that it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBarohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2, Regional Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2009

Thank you for your wonderful review or our Wingate Inn located in beautiful Kearney Nebraska! More importantly, thank you for choosing our hotel...we know there are many choices so our staff sincerely appreciates your choice.

We continuously strive to provide the best experience for our valued guests, therefore reviews such as yours give us the motivation as well as opportunities needed to move forward and better our hotel, staff and efforts!

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

This hotel got mixed reviews on other sites. We took a chance and booked through Priceline. Wingate took our bid. After a long day on the road, the Wingate was a welcome respite. The hotel staff were extremely accommodating and friendly. The hotel was very clean and well appointed. Our room was quite luxurious and was the best nights sleep I had all week. The pool area was a little unkempt and they were out of towels, but this was only a very minor infraction in my book. I was just glad to be able to soak for a bit. If you are hoping to be within walking distance to the many chain restaurants nearby, the Wingate is a bit further than the other hotels. There are lots of local options just a quick car drive in to town. We opted to walk to the restaurant located in the next door Holiday Inn. We got a drink and dinner coupon from the Wingate front desk. It was a very nice place for dinner and very convenient. The expanded continental breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to get us started for the day and back on the road. Hot and cold items and quite a selection. We would gladly stay here again on our next road trip through Nebraska.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PeasnLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

We stayed here twice in one month. Rooms were nice and large. We had a suite room one night, which had a separate room to divide us and the kids (too many rooms labelled "suite" don't do that these days.) Good-sized pool. Breakfast buffet was good. It's close to the highway but we didn't have a problem with noise. A solid experience all the way around.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestminsterMomAndDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Kearney
Comfort Inn Kearney
#7 of 22 in Kearney
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney

Address: 108 3rd Ave, P.O. Box 1992, Kearney, NE 68847 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Kearney)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kearney
#1 Business Hotel in Kearney
#3 Family Hotel in Kearney
Price Range: £85 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Kearney Hotel Kearney
Wingate Hotel Kearney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing