We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Despite Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice, Despite Construction”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel was undergoing renovations, but in spite of that, it was a very nice stay. We had driven about 8 hours from Chicago and really needed a good rest before starting out the next morning for Denver. Upon arrival, I noticed that there were some people looking like they were there to party, so I asked for a quiet area of the hotel if possible. The man who checked us in smiled and made sure we were put into a very quiet area. All of the hotel staff were polite and professional.

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and we got the rest that we needed.
We booked the room on Priceline, and were happy with the price we paid, I think $84.

The restaurant/bar was a very strange experience, but only because of the server. She obviously was suffering from either a drug-induced behavior or perhaps an emotional breakdown situation. There were only two of us in our party, but she managed to get our orders wrong with lots of time between visits only to find that she had not given us what we were supposed to get. Anyway, the restaurant is probably not even affiliated with the hotel, so should not reflect badly on the hotel. I guess I can review it separately.

The location was good. Parking was $9.

The shower head was not working properly, so only about half of the holes were working on it, the others were clogged.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    130
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
93
70
18
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

As a frequent guest at this hotel, a landmark in downtown Lincoln, I have been impressed with the solidarity and professional service maintained by the staff during a transition time in recent years. Now the Cornhusker, reestablished as a Marriott, is nearing the end of refurbishing and remodeling, from guest rooms to food options to workout facilities to entryway. It's wonderful. Some staff have moved on, however the current staff represents the best of Lincoln and the Marriott. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACA666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Hill, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Room was clean, neat and super comfortable beds! Employees were very polite, friendly and caring. Breakfast was delicious and well-stocked. The pool was very clean and refreshing to swim in. I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Cornhusker within 5 years and once again we had a great stay. The beds were very comfortable despite only being full size but the night's sleep was great. Remodeling is underway as well. Concierge level was pleasant to enjoy. Great location to everything.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Burgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Cornhusker by Marriott is an older hotel with lots of extras and a wonderful staff. The rooms were large and very nice. The restaurant was excellent with good service and great food. I enjoyed my stay and will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards member and stay somewhat often at Marriott branded hotels. We were looking for a downtown hotel in Lincoln, NE and found the Cornhusker on-line and reserved for a stay that evening. After driving 3.5 hours to our destination for a concert that evening, we decided we needed to stay at a hotel with strong amenities. The price for the Cornhusker was surprisingly high (ended up paying $220 w/tax for one night) but we decided it would be worth the extra expense to have a quality stay. Wrong. We went through six keys in the first six hours just trying to get into our room. Front desk stated "we have been having some problems with their keying system". At our checkin we requested a taxi for a 6:15 pickup to make the 7pm concert we were attending. Of course the taxi was 45 minutes late and each time we checked with the front desk, the Marriott staff seemed not to care. The attitiude was "the cab company is a third party and we have no control". Sorry, if you hold yourself out to be a full service hotel, charging full service prices, having the connections to arrange transportation for your guests is expected. We returned to the hotel at 10 pm after the concert and tried to have a late dinner at the restuaraunt in the hotel ( a Miller Beer themed restaurant). After ordering entrees, our waitress avoided our table for the next 30 minutes, only to come back by and admit that she had failed to turn in our order. Twenty-five minutes later food did arrive. Back in the room at 1:30 am we were awakened to yelling in the halls from late arriving guests using the bellhop luggage cart to transport a large beer cooler to their room, located adjacent to ours. A call to the front desk yielded the "we don't hear anything answer". Two hours later (3:30 am) as the party next door continued, we were lucky enough to have two loud knocks at our door with additional party goers mistaking our room for the party room next door. Another call to the desk yielded nothing further except "I am sorry you can have free breakfast in our hotel restaurant". Did I mention whenever we showered we ended up standing in four or five inches of water from the barely draining tub drain? We chose not to partake in the free breakfast. Further, at checkout I made a point to go to the front desk just to see what type of customer service I would receive. Not a single mention of the numerous calls I had made to the front desk regarding the all night party and certainly not even a "How was your stay" or "Hope you had a nice stay". It was simply "the parking garage is owned by the City, you will have to pay them directly, we can't put the parking charge on your bill". Do not waste your money staying at the "Cornhusker", it is overpriced, and provides zero service.

Brandon F. - Kansas City

Room Tip: If a weekend, choose a room on the top floor. Banquet rooms on the ground floors host wedding recei...
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard signage regarding "we want to be green".
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles H, General Manager at The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Brandon F. Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us and I apologize for all that you encountered. We are much better than this and obviously we did not come close to meeting your expectations. We did have a key issue during your stay and has been resolved after receiving two new key machines for the front desk from the vendor this past week. Relating to your other issues, I would like to speack with you directly to get some addtional information that these social websites don't provide like room numbers so we can fix the drain issue, etc. and to also personally apologize for what occurred. Can you please call me at 402-474-7474 and ask for Chuck Harper. I want to make this right for you and prefer to speak with you directly if possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. The room was comfortable and very clean. The location was right downtown and within walking distance to the capital and other downtown locations. There is a restaurant on location. However, we did not eat there. The only drawback to the property is that you hear every door that closes around you. We tried to take an afternoon nap and were constantly awakened by doors. Also, the shower heads are large, which disperses the water in a wide pattern. This means that you don't get much pressure for rinsing your hair. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

Green Features: I didn't see anything regarding environmental issues. We were only there one night.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Lincoln Haymarket
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lincoln Downtown / Haymarket
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Lincoln Downtown/Haymarket
0.4 mi away
Graduate Lincoln
Graduate Lincoln
#12 of 61 in Lincoln
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel

Property: The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel
Address: 333 S 13th St, Lincoln, NE 68508-2516 (Formerly The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lincoln
#11 Family Hotel in Lincoln
#12 Business Hotel in Lincoln
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitalize on comfort and quality when staying at The Cornhusker, Dog-Friendly hotel in Lincoln NE. Enter our elegant lobby with its grand staircase and feel right at home with attentive staff, modern amenities, and convenient services. Guest rooms at our luxury Lincoln hotel feature plush bedding and elegant touches for a sound night's slumber, with high-speed Internet access and spacious work areas to boost productivity. Start with breakfast at The Cafe, then join us for lunch and dinner at Miller Time Pub & Grill. In downtime, take a dip in our indoor pool or work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center with Precor machines. Serving guests in the heart of Lincoln, we are located near the University of Nebraska, State Capitol, Haymarket, Railyard District and Pinnacle Bank Arena. Over 46,000 square feet of event space makes our venue ideal for business meetings, conferences, weddings and social soirees. Experience hospitality at its finest at The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lincoln Marriott Cornhusker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Lincoln
Marriott Hotel Cornhusker
Marriott Lincoln
Lincoln Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing