We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Nebraska State Capitol
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful mosaic ceilings and floors, paintings and sculptures inside the 400-foot high capitol building are as impressive as its marble, bronze and gold leaf exterior and white tower topped by a bronze statue. Free guided tours are available.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Actually I haven't been to our capitol building for a long time but it's a beautiful building. I enjoy seeing it again & again because there is so much Nebraska and Plains history represented in the art work and architecture. When our son was little, it was one of his favorite places to visit in Lincoln.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveler10131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    136
    25
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous Building”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I had never heard of the State Capitol building in Lincoln but it is an overlooked gem of architecture and art. There are incredible mosaics, paintings, and sculptures. If you have free time during the morning or afternoon in downtown Lincoln, you should absolutely visit. The free tour was very helpful in understanding the history of the building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lincoln Site.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A magnificent building, welcoming to tourists like us from VA. If you only have a little while or a long one, don't miss this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenRay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
480 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The Nebraska State Capital - A Wonderful site!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was in Lincoln recently and made time to check out the Lincoln State Capital. This is certainly a wonderful work of architecture with an art deco theme. It has some great art work and sculptures with great detail on the doors and elevators. A good visit for sure!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Architectural Gem”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An often overlooked place to visit. Outstanding architectural characteristics accompanied by much historical background. Not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nebraska State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Nebraska State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing