We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and food - stop here if you are in Lincoln”
Review of Ploughshare Brewing Company - CLOSED

Ploughshare Brewing Company
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Ploughshare Brewing Co. offers a rotation of our hand-crafted beers on 12 taps. We brew our own selection of house ales and lagers, and carry cider, GF, and NA options. The brewery also offers wine and non-alcoholic beverages, including fresh French pressed coffee and nostalgic sodas. The brewery uses traditional brewing methods and styles, and sources only the highest quality ingredients for its beer. In addition to serving amazing beer, Ploughshare Brewing offers delicious snacks such as soft pretzels, authentic brats, Ploughman's Platters, and seasonal soups and desserts. Many ingredients are sourced from Nebraska-based producers and farmers, with a focus on sustainable resources and an emphasis on organic ingredients. Everything is made in house from scratch. Ploughshare uses a British pub system. Sit where you want. Order from the bar. Stay as long as you like. You won't find any TVs in our establishment because we are all about enjoying good beer with old friends, or perhaps meeting new ones. After all, beer is the great unifier. Cheers!
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Before I left, I had sampled 5 of their beers and ordered 2 of them. All of them were excellent. You can't go wrong here. The food menu is limited, but the Diner down sandwich with side salad was incredible! It is clear that the Ploughshare cares about quality in all they do. Great remodel of the space, too. One note: they are like in England so you order everything at the bar, but they will keep a tab for you and bring you your food.

Thank DLOtravelsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Owner at Ploughshare Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear DLOtravelsCO,
Thanks for stopping in and enjoying Ploughshare. We appreciate the kind words.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Nice sometimes to go to a bar with no TV's. There was an old school dart board and very nice bartenders. Beers on tap are made in-house and are very good. Food good, though not many choices, but they do try to keep things simple. Only complaint was to have to wait in line to get a drink or order food as there is no wait staff other than those who emerge from the kitchen with your food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kswanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Owner at Ploughshare Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi kswanny, thanks for stopping into our establishment. We operate the Taproom on what we call "the British pub system," where you order at the bar and sit where you like. Admittedly it takes some getting used to. Thanks for your feedback. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Walking back to our hotel we came upon this place and we really liked this place. Great atmosphere. They serve their own beer that they brew. I'm not into Micro brews but my wife and our other couple really like it. I did like their Octoberfest brand. And my glass of wine was good also.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ekhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Fun spot in downtown Lincoln. Stopped during a 4000 mile cross country bike trip. Great beer selection and atmosphere. Staff was super. Food looked great (though we didn't eat a meal). Nice crowd.

Thank BeerVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Owner at Ploughshare Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Pierre - Thanks for stopping at the Ploughshare taproom. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Congratulations on a 4,000 mile bike trip! Cheers, The Beer Farmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We shared a 4-beer taster tray, then got a couple of pretzels and two slices of carrot cake to go, since we had to return a rental car to Omaha and didn't have time to eat at the brewpub. The beers were delicious, and so was the food. There are enough beer styles to please any palate, including a cask-conditioned ale. We were there just after they opened on a Tuesday, so the atmosphere was pretty low-key.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S, Owner at Ploughshare Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thanks for paying us a visit BonB! Our variety of beers and food changes throughout the year, so we hope you make your way in again. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ploughshare Brewing Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing