We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Ranked #241 of 654 Restaurants in Lincoln
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Nice place. Only tried the Saag Paneer and the House Naan and the Mango Lassi. Rice was great. Saag was stringy, and the cheese really really firm, almost hard. Nice flavor but not a fan of the texture. The Lassi was excellent, but the standout was the House Naan. Wow. Really good. We went early on a Friday evening. No wait. Staff were attentive. Place seemed clean. Would visit again, but would order something else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank youthtripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian Cusisine”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Tandoor is very close to my house and I eat there a lot. I have never ordered something I did not like and this place got me to actually like the soup, when I first tried the soup I thought it tasted like mint mojito soup with a piece of mustard bread stuck in it! Not anymore!! The Mali kafta (sp?) is my go to order!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronicka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

the food was good, service was OK. just, the food was not as good as some places I have been. they were clean and the service was OK.

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I love this place. I don't understand why there would be negative reviews on here. The food is fantastic. Every dish I've tried so far has tasted great!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leyla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, authentic Indian food”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I went to supper here tonight with a visiting Indian consultant friend. We'd been to the Oven on a prior visit and he was underwhelmed, but I reminded him "this is not San Francisco."

Still, he was determined to find someplace better, so this time we tried Tandoor. When we arrived, he inquired about the ethnicity of everyone there---the chef, the help, the owner---something I would have thought rude, but which our waiter thought only amusing. They were all Bhutanese, which my friend was quite happy about (Bhutan, of course, borders India).

We shared a chicken and a lamb dish, and both were good---better than the food at the Oven, and less expensive. The mulligatawny soup was actually fabulous, the Raita was great (it would be especially good for dousing the fire if you get something spicy like the Vindaloo) and the service was friendly and quick.

That said, my five star review is based partly on my opening statement: "This is Lincoln." Is this really a 5-star restaurant? No. The food is good, but not to die for. The ambiance is contemporary strip-mall---I'd never take a first date here---and I'm sure better Indian food can be found in a bigger city.

But I bumped it from four stars to five because 1) it's still arguably better food than the Oven for less money, 2) even my picky Indian friend thought it was quite good, 3) the service was friendly and quick and 4) this really is Lincoln, so I'm rating on a curve!

Give it a try, ask your waiter for recommendations and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing