We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand why it's #5 hotel in Lincoln”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Victorian Suites Lincoln
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't understand why it's #5 hotel in Lincoln”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I wish I could give this hotel 2 1/2 stars. It's ok for a cheap room (our rate was $65) for a one night stay, but it should not be in my opinion so highly rated on Trip Advisor. The ranking was why I picked it, and we were disappointed overall. This is a budget hotel and it shows. The room was large, and well laid out, with a large flat screen tv, but the pillows were flat as pancakes and the sheets were on the scratchy side. The door to room from the hallway did not keep out the noise from people walking by. We were by the ice machine and heard it as well as full conversations clearly. I'd probably rank the hotel higher if the carpets were cleaner. The elevator, room, and hallway carpets are either in need of serious cleaning or need to be replaced. I was expecting a hotel similar to Fairfield Inn by Marriott and it is not that nice. Breakfast in the morning was basic continental, with a lot of pre-packaged processed foods. I'd pay more for a nicer chain hotel next time I'm in Lincoln.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lstwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate it and use each one as a training tool. We are glad you did notice that all our rooms are actually spacious suites and are laid out as such. From the 42 inch flat screen TV to the microwave, fridge, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and free wifi, we feel that our suites offer great amenities for the price.

We apologize for the pillows and sheets and are actually quite surprised about that. We get regular comments, both to the staff and on Trip Advisor about our "fluffy pillows" and "comfy" sheets and beds. We also are sorry if there was a noise issue. Next time, we would encourage you to simply contact our friendly staff at the front desk. The desk is staffed 24 hours a day for your convenience and most times, any noise issues can be resolved very quickly.

We are in the process of remodeling our elevator this week and as far as the common area carpets go, they are on a regular cleaning schedule and touched up as needed, however, with the busy summer travel and the hotel being full most of the time, they do get more wear right now.

The breakfast consisting of 26 hot and cold items is being reviewed currently for item choices and we are going to be brining a few more healthier options in, however, we do receive numerous compliments about the breakfast currently, as it is a nice, quick option for the on the go traveler and a great addition to an already great room price.

Once again, thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope you will consider staying with New Victorian Inn & Suites again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    114
    44
    14
    11
See reviews for
202
108
46
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel as part of a trip out west. We booked the room early thru Hotels.com and requested (but were not guaranteed) a handicapped accessible room. We arrived at approx. 4 PM and checked with the reception desk, requesting an accessible room. They provided a king bed room on the 3rd floor that was accessible with the exception of a shower/bathtub (versus a step-in or roll-in shower).

The hotel lobby, hallways and our room were clean and well decorated, with plenty of towels and washcloths. Everything mechanically in the room (lights, heat/AC and etc.) operated with no problems. There was a 42 inch flat-screen TV with many stations, a mini-fridge and microwave along with iron and ironing board in the room.

The next morning the hotel had a very nice breakfast buffet well stocked with cereals, baked goods, coffee and juices. The seating area was full and the staff quickly opened the conference room next door for additional seating.

Our only complaint would be the noise from people talking in the hallway and even the next room. Once asleep, we never noticed the rest of the evening until the people next door were preparing to leave the next morning.

Price was reasonable ($80 plus tax), but due to the noise we probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Carl,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are glad you found our front desk staff to be helpful, as we work hard to ensure all our staff provides outstanding guest services.

We are excited you enjoyed the amenities in the suite. From the 42 inch flat screen TV to the iron, ironing board, mini fridge, microwave, free wifi and hair dryer, we know these suites are like home away from home!

The breakfast is definitely an added treat! As you experienced, we offer a 26 item hot and cold breakfast bar.

We are very sorry that there were some noise issues for you. Unfortunately, not all guests exercise proper hotel etiquette. We would suggest that if something like this ever happens again, you simply call our front desk. As it is staffed 24 hours a day and usually we can remedy any noise issues quickly.

We hope you will stay with us again in the future at any of our 6 properties in Lincoln, Omaha, Kearney, York or Norfolk, NE or Sioux City, IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The lobby has a small gathering area should you want to meet with folks outside of your hotel room. Free coffee, water and cookies available 24/7. Small indoor Jacuzzi and pool that is also available 24/7 to guests. The breakfast is simple pastries and cereal, but look in the fridge for hard boiled eggs and yogurt as well; it starts at 5am and goes to 11am, which is also a nice feature. The rooms are spacious and included a small couch. The hotel is quiet for the most part as well. The roller skating rink is directly next door, and a CVS and a natural foods market are on the corner. The value for the area was also good. Some odd maintenance issues (loose tiles in the bathroom, out of order guest laundry at one point) but a good value. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Trixie,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate every one. We are glad you noticed many of our amenities like the coffee, cookies and ice water available 24 hours a day in the lobby as well as the pool, hot tub and fitness center that are also available 24 hours each day.

The breakfast is full of surprises everywhere you look! There are 26 hot and cold items all together for your enjoyment.

The rooms are all suite style so they are very spacious as you mentioned. With a fridge, microwave, ironing board and iron, free wifi and hair dryer in every room, they make a great home away from home.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Both of our sons attended college in Lincoln and the oldest one also graduated from Law School there. We visited them many times in Lincoln over the years and always had a difficult time finding reasonable priced hotels that still met our standards. The New Victorian Suites solved the problem. The facility is fine; the rooms are clean and the beds good. The price is also very reasonable. Unless you're looking for more upscale accommodations, this hotel should work for you.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as Lincoln tends to hold lots of events throughout the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Ed,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you found us! We believe we provide an excellent value and great amenities for the price.

With the suites all having a 42 inch flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, free wifi and hair dryer, we feel that you will continue to feel right at home here.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope you would consider changing your rating from a 3 star to a 5 star for us. As the rating system on Trip Advisor is what ranks the hotels and from your review, it sounds like we provided a great value, clean rooms and great amenities for the value.

Thanks again and we can't wait to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockwood, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Traveling across the country we were surprised to get near Lincoln and not able to find a room, every where we called had no rooms!!! Seems lots of athletes in area for many venues. After lots of looking we called home and my daughter suggested this hotel that I had never heard of. Having no choice we drove about 15 miles from interstate, and got the last room! hotel had allot of kids teams from all over Nebraska . Loud yes in fact after driving 11 hours all I wanted was a quiet swim, but there were loads of loud crazy pre teens in the pool. So just went to room comfortable room. But it took 2 calls to front desk at midnight and at 2am to get kids above us to settle down and stop jumping off the bed and yelling. Breakfast was on par with most free breakfasts, except had no plain cereal all had sugar coating . I cannot blame the hotel for wild kids I blame that on the coaches and chaperones. So because of cleanliness and good beds and decent breakfast I rate it average or good. I would have stayed in another but they are only in Nebraska

Room Tip: Avoid school sports travel teams
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Doreen,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate it! We are glad you found us! We did have several youth athletic teams in house during your recent stay. With our 24 hour pool, hot tub and fitness center, we are a very popular destination for families and sports groups.

We are sorry for any noise issues you may have encountered. Generally, a call to our 24 hour staffed front desk, can stop these issues rather quickly. Unfortunately, like you said, sometimes teams get a little rowdy and some adults do not have the best traveling etiquette.

Our 26 item, hot and cold, breakfast bar is great amenity for most travelers. We are sorry there were not enough cereal choices for you. We are also happy you enjoyed the room and the comfortable beds. We are sure you also enjoyed the 42 inch flat screen TV, microwave, fridge, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and free wifi in the room.

We look forward to you staying with us again when you are in Lincoln or any of our other 5 properties in Kearney, York, Omaha or Norfolk, NE or Sioux City IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When I first seen the hotel I wasn't sure what to expect due to the fact that this is not a hotel I have heard of before. When I first entered it was actually nice the person who checked me in was more then helpful, very nice and polite. When I got to the room I was amazed at how nice they were like a little suite. I was very impressed. The only thing that disappointed me was that there was no coffee pot in the room and I am a coffee drinking. Other then that I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a coffee pot in the room...lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joetta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Joetta,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you found our hotel to be a pleasant surprise. We are excited that you had a great experience at our front desk with our staff. We always strive to provide outstanding guest services I all areas.

We are also glad you enjoyed the suite. We are sure the amenities of a 42 inch flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and free wifi were an added plus I the room!

Our suites do not have coffee pots in the rooms, but we do have hot coffee, ice water and cookies available 24 hours a day in the lobby as well as a variety of beverages at our 26 item hot and cold breakfast bar each morning from 5 until 11.

We look forward to seeing you again soon when you travel to Lincoln or to any of our 5 other hotels in Kearney, York, Omaha or Norfolk, NE or Sioux City, IA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been pleasantly surprised by the New Victorian Suites. This place is pretty nice. Big rooms, great beds, very clean place. 24 hour access to the pool and spa and hot breakfasts included (breakfast open from 5-11am!). And they have cookies!! Seriously, this is a very good value for the area. We have a 50" TV, mini-fridge, microwave in the room. A reclining chair as well. Just on the other side of the parking lot is a natural food market so you can get some good stuff to eat while you're here. Free wifi, no codes. All in all, a very pleasant place to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NVIManagement, Director of Sales at New Victorian Suites Lincoln, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for leaving us a review! We truly appreciate your taking the time to do it. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites. The large, flat screen TV, microwave and fridge you mentioned are just some of the amenities people enjoy. The iron and board, hair dryer and free wifi are also great in room amenities.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lincoln Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lincoln North Hotel and Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#19 of 61 in Lincoln
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites East
Comfort Suites East
#21 of 61 in Lincoln
154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Lincoln Haymarket
2.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Victorian Suites Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Victorian Suites Lincoln

Property: New Victorian Suites Lincoln
Address: 225 N 50th Street, 2 Blocks North of 50th & O Street, Lincoln, NE 68504-3500
Region: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#7 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Victorian Suites Lincoln 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the New Victorian Suites we pride ourselves in making our guests feel as though they never left home. When you stay with us you can count on clean and comfortable accommodations, a convenient location, and great amenities like our indoor swimming pool, complimentary hot breakfast, and fitness center. Our friendly staff is always ready to help with whatever you may need from directions to a local attraction to a recommendation for dinner. Whether you've come to Lincoln for business or leisure, we're happy to have you at the New Victorian Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New Victorian Suites Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Victorian Suites Lincoln, Ne Hotel Lincoln
New Victorian Hotel
New Victorian Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing