We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of Texas BBQ

Taste of Texas BBQ
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in McCook
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Not Galena
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic, period.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you appreciate southern style BBQ, you'll find it here. The portions are huge, the prices are fair and the service is excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walking_next_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down Home BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Only true BBQ place in tow. My favorite is the stuffed baked potato with shredded beef. The potato is huge so you won't leave hungry. A little expensive but a value for the food you get. Has wall mounts of animals so if eating and staring at them don't bother you, then this is the place....I prefer take out.

Helpful?
Thank JayLynnK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northglenn
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Great choices on the menu. Lots of food. My wife and I both took part of our meal in a to go box and had it for another meal!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sdcallerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
390 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Southern BBQ (Southern Nebraska!!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Passing through town for work, I stopped just to see. Was wonderfully surprised!
Small town, homey atmosphere. Many taxidermy animals and a bearskin on the wall.
Full of locals on a Wednesday night.
My brisket was butter - tender!!! A reall delight to enjoy! The sauce was nice, tangy.
Service was simple but very effecient.

I don't get out this way too often, but next time I will hunt them down!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidSidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCook, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely not Texas BBQ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Received the worst "pulled pork" sandwich I have ever experienced. I hope the meat on the bun included chicken, beef and perhaps Chorizo? Otherwise it is plain scary to think about, as it was not all pork. Service was friendly, atmosphere was good for BBQ joint, but sadly the food was simply terrible.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Uther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taste of Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing