We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lodge. Not a lot to do for teens & younger.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Certificate of Excellence
midwest
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice lodge. Not a lot to do for teens & younger.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

The lodge is quite nice. Styled like what I call a classic adirondack mountain lodge, but more modern; lots of lightly stained wood, log structure.

Staff
Great. Everyone was very friendly and very helpful.

Rooms
Nice rooms. Clean. House keeping was helpful and nice. Size was like a typical USA hotel room.

The restaurant offer very good food. For supper it is great food, but expensive. Breakfast pricing is more like a typical casual restaurant.

Bar staff was great.

Caution- The online info and brochures imply that the Arbor Day Farm is part of the resort. It is not. You must pay to go through the adventure part of the farm. I felt the Lodge is not forthcoming about this.

Things to do-
There is not a lot to do at the lodge. Unless you play golf. A nice golf course is right next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EM57_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    103
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
80
105
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
296 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We had a family reunion and needed a central location for family in Nebraska - as well as those flying into Omaha. We chose the Lied Lodge and it was such a pleasant surprise. Who would have thought that we'd find such a gem in the middle of farmland? It had snowed the day before and with the overcast skies and the snow on the ground, one could almost imagine being in Colorado. The Lodge has lots of fireplaces with lovely, intimate seating areas where people could gather in common areas to chat and warm up. Our large group of 22 also had a very nice buffet lunch on Saturday and the food was really excellent. Good service and nice atmosphere. On Saturday night, there was a special wine course dinner for Valentine's Day and music in the lobby. Just a really lovely ambiance. We also did the "Treehouse" walk (even though it was VERY cold) and our group, ranging in age from four to fifty-four, had a ball. There are lots of things to do along the way, a lovely gift shop, and a neat three-level tree house. This would be a great place for a family outing or a couples escape. We'd like to go back without kids one day! Others have mentioned it being noisy...we were right by one of the entrances to the building...and didn't have a problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamigaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelgirlzzzz
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

We decided to stay at the lodge for a brief family getaway. We always enjoy the charm of Nebraska City each fall and thought it would be fun to stay the night. The hotel is cute with a friendly staff. However, rooms are uncomfortable and small with very thin walls!!!! It was hard to sleep despite the fact that beds were quite comfy. Room was not cleaned well- and staff was apologetic. We chose to go on a horse drawn carriage ride too which was nice, but did not go through any historic parts of the city as adverised. Breakfast was not great. We left feeling lukewarm about our experience, but probably would stay again if nearby.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

I would have to agree completely with the person who reviewed this property and having thin walls. Arbor Day Farm is a very nice place to visit and is truly commended for their biomass engineering power for the whole center. However, if you want good sleep, check into Arbor Golf Links nearby. I was very sorry we didn't opt for that. Much nicer. The slamming of doors late at night and early in the a.m. at the lodge and hearing our neighbors wore me out so much for 2 nights that I'm sick now!

Also, there used to be more of a long trail to walk on and now it seems that's been used for the Tree House experience, with specific hours and cost, though not expensive, but you have to go through their gift shop to pay.

  • Liked — learning about the trees and seeing lots of birds
  • Disliked — noise level in halls and rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Overlandparkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

I went to the Lied Lodge for a meeting and was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of both the lodge and meeting facilities in this small, out-of-the-way place (Nebraska City, Nebraska). My room was rather small but quite nice--clean and attractive. Meals in the dining room were good, as were those served in meetings. And there's a small but nice lounge.

I wouldn't travel from far away just to stay at the lodge, but if I ever have reason to be in the vicinity, I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Architecture of lodge
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

We stayed at the Lied Lodge the weekend of January 25th. It was our first stay at the property. Since it was January, we could only imagine what the tree filled property must look like in warmer seasons. We had a beautiful (snow covered) view of the orchard from our room on the third floor. The room was lovely, with the exception of the bathroom, it looked like it belonged in a older budget motel. Beds were comfortable and towels were thin. I did like all of the options for recycling in the room- paper-plastic-glass bins were available.

The restaurant served quality food, the only exception was the catered dinner we attended as part of the conference we were at. The food that night was very unremarkable.

The staff was friendly and very courteous. Wireless internet was free in the lobby and conference rooms. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gingertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2007

My husband and I had a great stay at the Lied Lodge. The public areas are beautiful – great lobby with lots of comfy seating areas, cozy library/lounge with friendly bartender, and porch with great views and lots of seating. Staying here was a true delight.

However, the Lied Lodge needs to update its beds, bedding and the thin towels. One night I had to call housekeeping for another sheet because the one put on that day was so rough from pilling that we could not sleep on it! The restaurant meals were delicious and the waitress very friendly. They were short on staff the four days we were there, so service was slow and the waitresses were constantly apologizing.

I would recommend a stay at the Lied Lodge – almost nirvana!

  • Liked — The beauty and serenity of the lobby.
  • Disliked — bedding - thin towels, rough sheets
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftldml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nebraska City
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
BEST WESTERN Nebraska City Inn
#1 of 3 in Nebraska City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Nebraska City
Super 8 Nebraska City
#1 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.8 mi away
Motel 6 Percival
Motel 6 Percival
#2 of 2 in Percival
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Deluxe Inn
Deluxe Inn
#3 of 4 in Nebraska City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lied Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Lied Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 2700 Sylvan Rd, Nebraska City, NE 68410-3381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lied Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lied Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lied Lodge And Conference Center
Lied Hotel Nebraska City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing