We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly not what you paid for.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly not what you paid for.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Passing through North Platte on an August Monday night looking for an average rate on a motel room. North Platte seems to think that the average rate should be over $100. We settled on a "discount rate" at Quality Inn and the front staff was friendly in checking us in. Our room was located around the side on ground level and soon found we had to park down away as a number of handicap parking spots lined the front of our room. No problem. Soon inside the first thing we encounter is that the toilet was running better than the AC. Sitting on the bed we discovered that their promotion of comfortable beds was not true. Old mattresses with a thin pad that you could actually feel the metal springs through, Driving all the way from the Minnesota all we could do was sit and laugh, Bad beds, no AC and a running toilet. Oh, did I mention the pile of bugs and flies collecting between the tv desk and the wall that had not been vacuumed up? Anyway, off to the front desk and with an apology we were moved down a couple doors. At least we were getting closer to our car. We were still collecting our belongings when the maintenance guy showed up "jiggled the handle" and proclaimed, "Yup, the compressor must be out." The next room had no improvement on the beds but the AC was pumping out cold air. We attempted to use the WiFi and discovered my younger years of speeds slower than dial up. We gave up. Off to the pool/hot tub. Hot tub was indeed that as it was an oasis in the desert with hot, bubbling relaxation. Thumbs up there. Pool also had a nice temp. We left early and missed the breakfast but it did look like they had a nice setup. The showers were another thing that they promoted and standing their with water just barely enough to produce a stream I was not impressed. Free cookies were a plus.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sorry to hear of the issues that you had with your room. All of them have been relayed to our maintenance and housekeeping managers. Rest assured that we want to make our rooms as comfortable as possible for all of our guests. I apologize that that was not the case with you. Thank you for letting us know. Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    83
    65
    35
See reviews for
89
62
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stopped in North Platte for a one night stay on our way out west. Everything was clean and as expected for a hotel. Some of the other reviews mention problems with ac, but it was hot outside and our room felt nice. Continental breakfast was big and tasty.

They do have some black beetles hanging around. These are about junebug size. The woman at the front desk informed us before we paid that the beetles are commonplace in Nebraska this time of year. We didn't find any in our room. However, it was not until we read the card about the beetles in our room that we were informed the building was sprayed to keep the bugs out (wouldn't have been a concern if we weren't traveling with an eight pound dog.) The woman at the desk informed us that the spray is applied only to the exterior of the building and wouldn't harm the dog anyway. Customer service was good here.

The only other concern for those traveling with dogs was the burs. The area they had to walk our pup behind the building has some nasty burs-hard enough that they could hurt a dog who weighed enough to really press down on the thing.

Overall- nice hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast, just be cautious with dogs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sure to pass your note on to the entire team. We'll look into the bur problem in the field behind our property. Your pets' safety is important to us. We appreciate you staying with us! Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Came into this hotel at 8:00 Pm got a room on 2nd floor. Went out to eat and returnedroom at 9:30 pm. The room was not very cool. Lowered the thermostat and went to be. Too hot to sleep 10:45 pm called desk 3 times. Sent maintenance man up he checked and called desk. We had 2 choices, he would install a new unit or move to a new room. Moved to a new room @ 11:00 pm that was another building over and 2nd floor. Hard to sleep after all that. Next morning checked out at front desk and complained about the stay. The desk lady was argumentative about the ordeal. No apoligy offered. We settled for a 50.00 rate reduction. This is one of the worst experiences we have ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marteau403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I apologize for the bad experience that you had at our property. That is definitely not the level of service that we should provide. I have shared your comments with not only the individuals involved, but with our entire management team. We all agree that the situation could have been handled better and there is definitely room for improvement. Again, I am sorry and hope that we made things a little better with the adjustment on your bill. Thank you. Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Platte hotels

Centerville, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed just one night on my way through Nebraska on my way to Colorado. The room was clean and roomy. But it was on the second floor and there was no elevator to get luggage up and down. I have a bad back so that was a struggle for me! Also, the water pressure in the shower was pretty much nonexistent! The breakfast was really, really good though! I did like the fact that I got there way early and they let me check in anyway! And this hotel sits within a short walking distance of several restaurants and a Starbucks is on the edge of the parking lot! So, some pluses and some minuses!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review! I apologize that you had a room on the second floor. I'm assuming that we didn't have any first floor rooms available or a previous request had not been made for a ground floor room. Nevertheless, state law does not require elevators if you only have 2 floors. I'm sorry if that was an inconvenience for you. However, I'm happy that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in, a clean room, good breakfast and Starbucks next door! Thanks for staying with us! Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms need updating (next time when painting a room if the paint does not match, paint the entire wall not a small section), cleanliness questionable, leaky facet, and toilet needed work. Breakfast was ok, but don't go when it first starts as the food is lukewarm. Go to competitor across the street.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We do not take your comments lightly. Our entire team is constantly trying to improve on our standards. We hope that you will try us again someday! Thanks for your input. Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The facility entry and exterior is very attractive. The remainder of the complex is a remake of an old motel. Rooms have exterior only access, no elevators, poor maintenance and cleanliness was disappointing. Next time I'll use the competitor hotels nearby This facility hosts weddings etc. so it can be busy. Our room opened into a concrete courtyard that was crowed with participants until 2am. The front desk explained that they were aware this can be a noise problem. Lastly and to be fair, the staff was very nice. The breakfast area and servings were very nice.

Room Tip: Not by the "courtyard". Ask for a room that is opens into the front lounge and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I apologize for the problems that you encountered while you stayed with us. Rest assured that I will address all of your concerns with our management team. Good service is our goal, so I'm glad that we were able to provide that. Thank you for staying with us. Your comments will only help us to improve. Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Unbelievably expensive when I passed through North Platte last week. $149 for an old converted Holiday Inn? Are you kidding?

They are pretty impressed with their hotel, which should cost more like $65 a night. Was clean, but still...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thifty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npquality, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I'm sorry that you did not see the value for the room that you paid for. We are the only full service hotel in North Platte so I hope that you were able to experience some of the amenities that we have to offer, including: our restaurant & lounge, indoor pool & spa, fitness center, full hot breakfast buffet, complimentary cookies, popcorn & flavored water in our lobby area, microwaves & refrigerators in all rooms, and Starbucks Coffee adjacent to our building. Thanks for your feedback. Alan P, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Platte hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 18 in North Platte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn North Platte
Hampton Inn North Platte
#1 of 18 in North Platte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites North Platte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites North Platte
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - North Platte
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Platte Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 2102 S Jeffers, North Platte, NE 69101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > North Platte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in North Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel North Platte
Quality Inn North Platte
North Platte Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing