We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay . . . I highly recommend it.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay . . . I highly recommend it.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've been staying at the Quality Inn located on Interstate 80 near Ogallala, Nebraska for several years . . . . they have really made some progress over the past three-four years regarding the upgrading/remodeling of their guest rooms. I have been pleasantly pleased and I highly recommend staying there. A Denny's Restaurant is connected as well as a very modern sports bar. Kudos to Kyle at the front desk for his assistance with the lobby printer and also for making copies for me. Also, kudos to Marla for her great work regarding refreshments and our noon luncheon.

Room Tip: Pool side are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful compliments and your loyal patronage! Our owners are highly invested in continuously improving our property to better serve our guests. We're excited to be able to offer some new amenities in the near future and to keep improving the older ones. Kyle and Marla were pleased with your praise. Thank you for letting us know they gave you Quality service. Your words encourage us to keep striving to improve. Wishing you many safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    176
    126
    60
    49
See reviews for
261
127
45
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place was rotten from the start, so much so that at 10 p.m. we drove away to find another hotel. The first issue was we checked in and they gave us keys to a room, that when we opened the door, was already occupied! Yes, people were in the room, how awful. Then we went back to the desk and told them what happened, they apologized and gave us keys to another room that was located clear across the hotel. Guess what? Those keys did not work at all. So my husband called the desk from his cell phone and someone brought up more keys. The man came up and opened the door for us, as we walked in, we were hit with the stench of rotten fish! It was so bad that it could have made us sick. And all they offered was to "open the doors and let it air out." No way, it was so bad that this could not have "aired out." At this point we asked if they had any other rooms, but no, they were booked. No offer to a solution, no offer for anything other than sorry. Seriously? We drove 70 more miles further to find a nice and clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I am so sorry you had a terrible experience on your recent visit. I don't blame you at all for wanting to leave after those 2 issues. We messed up, big time!

Guest safety and security is our number one priority, and we made an error. The guests who were in your room chose to stay an extra night without informing the front desk. In this case, the housekeeper should have let the front desk know, and either they didn't, or the front desk didn't make the change when they were notified. There's no excuse for our error, I just wanted to explain why in the world you would have been given keys to someone else's room.

I want you to know that this situation has been addressed with all staff. If we're not working together as a team, communicating issues, and following up on those issues, we've failed before we've even begun.

We were indeed completely sold out that night. The second room you were taken to was not one we were planning to rent as some fishers had stayed the night before and it did indeed smell like the dead fish they brought in the room.

I'm again sorry our staff didn't take better care of you. We try really hard to make sure we're providing Quality service and accommodations to every guest, and in your case we failed miserably. If there's ever anything we can do for you please email us at gm.ne100@choicehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ogallala hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great stop in Ogallala with updated and clean rooms, flat screen TVs, an outdoor pool with a 9-foot deep end for kids to dive and an actual shallow end for babies. Very good breakfast buffet at Denny's - with a to-go coffee cup! Bathrooms are small, but new tile and very clean!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We love the title of your review, "Old school motel with updated rooms". Our property was built as a Holiday Inn back in the 1950's when motor hotels were all the rage. Today, they are still a super convenient accommodation.

We're proud of our property's heritage and that we've been able to modernize it in so many ways. From the remodeled guest rooms, hi-speed wifi, and flat screen TVs to the new fitness center and on-site Denny's and Sports Bar, our guests have seen a lot of great changes in recent years, and we look forward to providing even more new amenities in the future.

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you many safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The front desk check-in was easy and quick. Pleasant staff. Our room had been recently updated and was very nice and clean. The pool area looked nice and fun for kids. Breakfast was at Dennys and very good buffet.
The outside of the building, stairwells and parking lot were littered with trash and very unkept. I was actually a little nervous someone would break into our vehicle and steal our contents. There was a vacant older hotel building next to ours that needs to be removed. I actually parked my car by the front entrance because I didn't like the sketchy feel close to my room...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudsonbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We're very glad you enjoyed your room, our guest service, and the breakfast buffet at Denny's. We're happy to have helped you in those ways!

Thank you for letting me know about your perception on the exterior of our facility. It's important for us to know what our guests think so we can make improvements. I've already set up my grounds keeping staff to do a better job at trash pickup, especially on the exterior stairwell, walkways, parking lot and perimeter. We'll also be power washing the stairwell and building exterior. These are tasks we need to do far more often and I'm sorry we've missed doing so in the past.

Our owners are working on plans to remodel the North Building as they did the two buildings we currently use for guest rooms. The property was pretty run down when they took over in 2009 and they've made it their mission to improve everything they can about the place. We constantly have new projects in the works to remodel the old facilities and to provide new ones. We're happy with the changes we've made and we look forward to being able to make more.

I hope you'll stop by in the future to see how we're doing. We want every guest to feel safe and comfortable at our hotel and to have a wonderful service experience. We wish you many safe and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We'd been traveling 6 weeks. Last week stayed 6 days at a much higher priced competitor for $40. more per night per room. (We had 2). Room was very nicely appointed, sheets were crisp, bed was good. Pillows left a little to be desired but weren't bad. It was nice having the breakfast bar in Dennys. Eggs, Sausage, waffles. Not exceptional but so much better than other places of this or a bit higher price point. Staff were very helpful in helping us find a real surprise for dinner----The "Golden Palace", yes Chinese in Ogallala..... We're from CA and I was very sceptical but this was good food and very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool side. Nicer view and quiet. Staff told us that road side could be a bit noisier b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paxton, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It was a very nice place. Great staff and we'll managed. Anything we needed was handled quickly. Plus right on the interstate very convenient. Having a bar and restaurant in the hotel doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearnaytion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogallala, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I have been to numerous meetings and the convention rooms here are very nice and updated along with top of the line food. Great place for a meeting or reception. I would definitely choose to hold an event in this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82RICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#5 of 8 in Ogallala
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Ogallala
122 reviews
18.9 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#2 of 8 in Ogallala
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 8 in Ogallala
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 201 Chuckwagon Road, Ogallala, NE 69153-3104 (Formerly Platte River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Ogallala is located on the Platte River and sits just 9 miles south of Lake McConaughy, the largest lake in Nebraska, with over 1 million visitors each summer. We are pleased to offer updated guest rooms with comfort bedding and flat screen televisions, with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We are a 100% non-smoking property with exterior room entrances. Our guests enjoy our fitness center, onsite Denny's restaurant, onsite Sports Bar, and outdoor, heated pool and brand new hot tub during their stay. Your dogs will enjoy our dog-friendly rooms, large courtyard, and the nature trail just west of our property. With lots of great parking for trucks, trailers, and RVs we are a convenient location for every traveler. Quality Inn is also home to the Ogallala Convention Center, a perfect venue for reunions, meetings, parties and wedding receptions. Our banquet chef and serving staff provide full service catering for an exceptional experience at any event. **NOTE: Our pool is currently undergoing a remodel and is temporarily not available. (posted July 2016) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Goose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing