We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room, but terrible hotel layout”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel may have the worst layout ever. There is no elevator and the rooms are scattered throughout many different hallways that you cannot easily access. We were given rooms in two different areas and had to carry our stuff to and fro to get to our rooms. The rooms themselves were okay, but the layout was terrible. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sarahut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bugs crawling on the walls, floors, and in the bed and when i laid in bed they were crawling on me. The door would not latch properly without the deadbolt turned. The floors were not clean. The door did not seal at the bottom and flies were all over the room. The building is dilapidated looks like it could use some fixin up. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkwhite67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I generally only write reviews when they are favorable...but in this case, I will make an exception. Wow! This hotel is rated #1 in Ogallala so we made reservations for a weekend trip. Yikes! The hallways and their glass doors were dirty... not just that they hadn't been cleaned yet that day... but, ingrained, neglected, with days (weeks?) worth of filth! Our room, was pleasant enough. The bed appeared clean and it was comfortable. The mirror, toilet bowl, and bathroom floor however were not clean. The room came with vouchers for a breakfast buffet at Denny's (next door). We picked up plates to work our way through the buffet, but they were out of eggs. A staff member went to get more...after about 5 minutes of waiting and swatting flies... we gave up and went into the main restaurant and paid $27 for breakfast for two. I couldn't quite stomach my eggs since the whites were runny and snot-like. Let's see...to end on a positive note - it's convenient to I-80!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stopped here after the first leg of our drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. Staff was friendly and efficient. Bees were nice and firm, room was very quiet. Hotel isn't fancy but it served us well. We received coupons for the breakfast buffet which was unexpected and and. A nice surprise.

Recommend a reservation, especially on a weekend during peak travel, we overheard the desk clerk turn someone away, and he mentioned there were no open rooms in Ogallala that evening (sat night).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisc_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our extended family has held a family reunion at this motel annually for over 20 years . Over the years the motel has been owned and operated by several different companies and we changed motels for a couple of years because one owner/operator was so bad - but then Quality Inn took over and we came back. Quality Inn is easily the best organization to have run the motel during our time there and the facility is in the best condition it has ever been in. The motel is not brand new but Quality Inn has fixed or replaced pretty much everything and have greatly upgraded the quality of the rooms. More importantly the staff bends over backwards to accommodate their customers. Ogallala experiences a shortage of competent service personnel every summer but Quality Inn has managed to hire and keep competent staff members who are smart and friendly to deal with. Staff has been given the training and the authority to solve problems on the spot.

Great pool for the kids (of all ages), great courtyard for visiting. The only downside is that one family member with mold allergies had to stay at a newer facility.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor on the courtyard if you have kids and will be using the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Woke up to a bathroom full of bugs! Too many to count. When we first got there and went to our room we turned out the sofa sleeper and found dirty sheets. The lady at the desk was very nice and brought clean sheets right a way. The room overall wasn't vacuumed too good. The door to the room went outside and you could see daylight at the bottom of it. When I told the girl at the desk in the morning about all the bugs she didn't even say she was sorry or acknowledge what I told her. The free breakfast buffet at Denny's was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tlroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I am so sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. It sounds like we failed in all aspects concerning room condition and service which is unacceptable and not an experience we ever want our guests to have.

I know that over the last few days we have had a major problem with small black beetles from the river. That is a definite downside to guest rooms with exterior entrances. The little beetles find their way through the door jambs to get to the light. I'm so very sorry about this. We are working hard to correct the bug problem outside and keep them from entering the rooms.

Again, my sincerest apologies about the problems you experienced. I don't know what else to say except that I'm so disappointed that we failed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bugs. Moved to a different room and more bugs. Horrible. Small black roaches everywhere. Also two different late night travelers, apparently we're checked in and given a key to my room. ARE U KIDDING ME!!?? at check out, they even had my bill screwed up. Do not stay at this hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandlapper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJHI, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

I am so sorry you had a bad experience during your stay. Over the last few days we have had a major problem with small black beetles from the river. They are not roaches and we have been spraying for them. I will say that is a definite downside to guest rooms with exterior entrances. The little beetles find their way through the door jambs to get to the light. I'm so very sorry about this. We are working hard to correct the bug problem outside and keep the from entering the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#6 of 10 in Ogallala
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Ogallala
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Ogallala
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lonesome Dove Lodge
Lonesome Dove Lodge
#1 of 10 in Ogallala
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 10 in Ogallala
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 201 Chuckwagon Road, Ogallala, NE 69153-3104 (Formerly Platte River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn Ogallala is located on the Platte River and sits just 9 miles south of Lake McConaughy, the largest lake in Nebraska, with over 1 million visitors each summer. We are pleased to offer updated guest rooms with comfort bedding and flat screen televisions, with refrigerators and microwaves in every room. We are a 100% non-smoking property with exterior room entrances. Our guests enjoy our fitness center, onsite Denny's restaurant, onsite Sports Bar, and outdoor, heated pool and brand new hot tub during their stay. Your dogs will enjoy our dog-friendly rooms, large courtyard, and the nature trail just west of our property. With lots of great parking for trucks, trailers, and RVs we are a convenient location for every traveler. Quality Inn is also home to the Ogallala Convention Center, a perfect venue for reunions, meetings, parties and wedding receptions. Our banquet chef and serving staff provide full service catering for an exceptional experience at any event. **NOTE: Our pool is currently undergoing a remodel and is temporarily not available. (posted July 2016) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Goose Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing