We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The went out of the way to help, honest people”
Review of Super 8 Ogallala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Ogallala
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“The went out of the way to help, honest people”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

We stopped for the night at Super 8 on our way home from Yellowstone / Grand Tetons. The room was basic and clean. Good for a overnight stop after a long day on the road. The 5 start rating comes from what happened after we left. After about 10 hours of driving after we left the Super 8, we discovered that one of my wife's bags was not in the car. This bag had all our personal effects & toiletries. Her wallet with all her Credit Cards and Cash were also in the bag. I called the hotel and described the missing bag. They said they found it in the parking lot - I must have set it on the ground when I was packing everything else (our Explorer was stuffed with bags, pillows, etc...). They boxed it up and mailed it to my house. Everything was intact - including all the cash.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16gauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    174
    92
    17
    15
See reviews for
146
127
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I stayed here on my way driving across the country with my dogs. This was one of the less expensive hotels, and it was a very good value for the price we paid (around $55). The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room and hotel were quite clean. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, a fridge and microwave, and decent selection of cable channels. The breakfast was limited, but was actually better than I would have expected for the room price. This Super 8 does allow dogs with a refundable deposit, which is a very fair way to accomodate pets. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a convenient, good-priced overnight.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

The person at the front desk was warm, chatty and friendly both over the phone (my GPS couldn't find the hotel, so I had to call for directions) and at checkout. A great first impression.
Our room had a queen bed and the usual basic amenities, and was nice and clean. It was across the highway from town (I could have found it without a GPS if I'd turned left instead of right), very close to a little park by the river, and close to several local attractions and restaurants. We drove into town but could easily have walked, ate at Valentino's and visited the petrified wood gallery with its impressive collection.
Slept comfortably. The coffee in the room was above average. I usually use my own coffee, but here I didn't need to. There was a nice exercise room with a treadmill, cross-country, and two bikes. I didn't try the hot tub.
The breakfast area was spacious and sunny. There was a nice selection of fruit, hot and cold cereals, bread, juices and a colorful, tasty assortment of locally made doughnuts. Again, I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff in the morning.
We were only passing through on our way across the country, but it would have been a pleasure to stay in Ogallala for a couple more nights. It's a neat little town with lots to do, and the friendliness at this Super 8 made the short visit very pleasant.

  • Liked — Low price, friendly people, good coffee, tempting doughnuts
  • Disliked — A pool would have been nice, but we didn't miss it. besides, the lake is nearby
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2008

The room was clean, the bed was nice, just nothing to die for. There was a past guest's tanktop left in the bathroom, though. I was disappointed in the continental breakfast..very small and incomplete. Overall...average.

  • Liked — Privacy.
  • Disliked — Continental breakfast.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Didn't find any of the problems that others had. I found it to be a good, and reasonable place to stop off I-80. The front desk clerks seemed to be very pleasant and inviting. I had both a fridge and microwave in my room, which I found to be nice and clean. Breakfast was nothing too extravagant, but not the worst I've seen by a longshot. If driving through again I would return.

  • Liked — Easy check in, check out
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rusty_Shakelford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Central Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2007

We didn't do any research, just pulled over when we needed to stop for the night. At this truck-stop-sized town, we were surprised to find free wireless internet but minimal cable channels. Compared to other economy motels on this same trip, we ended up paying a little bit more for a little bit less. While other motels offered us a fridge in our room, this Super 8 had none.

  • Liked — ?
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deardruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2007

Front desk clerk was more interested in watching TV than checking us in or answering questions. Romm was adequate, but did not feel clean.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarriorHelpMeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Ogallala
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#6 of 10 in Ogallala
315 reviews
18.8 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Ogallala
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 10 in Ogallala
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ogallala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ogallala

Property: Super 8 Ogallala
Address: 500 E. A South, Ogallala, NE 69153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ogallala 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Ogallala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ogallala Hotel Ogallala
Super Eight Ogallala
Ogallala Super 8
Ogallala Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing