We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but cheap”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
U.S.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old but cheap”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was clean, and that is what saves it. My room was very outdated, but quiet and comfortable enough. It had such a mom and pop feel to it that I was surprised it qualified as a Choice Hotels motel. It's very inexpensive, and good for just sleeping and then leaving but not much else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    12
    7
    14
See reviews for
14
12
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

traveling with my grandson, we found the rodeway inn for a overnight stop. a nice older motel with comfy beds, a good price and friendly staff. the breakfast bar was a good start to our morning. i would definitely stay again if i was in the area.
i was a bit taken back by a questionable channel while tv surfing.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This motel met my brief overnight travel needs and was worth the very reasonable price. My single queen room was spacious (12x17), with desk and easy chair, mini-fridge, microwave and an aging CRT TV with HBO. (No coffee maker.) The vaulted ceiling is the peaked underside of the roof, so heating and cooling the space takes a bit longer. This is no frills accommodation; the type of room with a clothes rack in one corner as opposed to a closet and threadbare towels in the bath. The bathroom with toilet and tub shower is very small, with a separate sink and vanity. Hot water is prompt and plentiful. Posted instructions from the management advise guests to open the bathroom window one inch while showering, otherwise the steam sets off the smoke alarm. (That’s an example of what I mean by “quirky.”) However, a cheerful “breakfast bar” in the motel office provides fresh fruit, cereals, toast and pastries in the morning. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean but showed some wear, e.g. the carpet is due for replacement soon. Free wi-fi is included, but the signal is not strong. Rooms open to the outside with parking in front of your door. Parking spaces are luxuriously large, facilitating easy loading/unloading and minimizing door dings. The downside of course is that you hear car doors slamming and car locks beeping outside as other guests arrive and depart.The motel is within easy reach of I-80, but traffic noise was not an issue. Check-in and check-out were friendly and fast. Roadside Ogallala is hardly a garden spot. An enormous semi-trailer parking lot and truck stop are just across the road from the motel. Valiant attempts at landscaping the premises only emphasize the desolation of the surroundings. The motel is close to shopping at a big-box Shopko store, and there are low-end chain restaurants and fast food at the I-80 exit. I drove into town and ate at the Open Range Grill on Spruce St. (The menu offers only fried rather than grilled food, but at least they have a good selection of beers.) The beautiful Victorian home next door to the restaurant, known as the Mansion on the Hill, is worth a look. On the way back to the motel I discovered a Safeway store, too late to forego the Ogallala restaurant scene and take some deli food back to the room. Though very basic and a little worn around the edges, Rodeway Inn was an adequate choice, and I had no major complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenmere7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth
Level Contributor
273 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

You get what you pay for! I used the coupon found at nearby rest areas. Old but clean. Our nonsmoking room smelled like smoke. Convenient parking at the door. Many other chain motels in the area. I had to go outside to use the internet.

Room Tip: Internet might come in closer to office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomorrowsantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

These folks would be wise to demolish and start over. The place is very old. The queen size beds are for very small people. And I can't imagine taking a shower with the window open an inch when the outside temp is 0 degrees. The people running the motel were friendly but we won't be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ogallala hotels

Meadow Grove, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

O.K place to stay for a night if you want no frills or bells. Staff was nice and quick. Outside is a bit shabby. Room was decent with a fridge/microwave. T.V. had snow fuzzys on every channel and the wifi was weak. Had to open the bathroom window an inch or the shower sets off smoke alarms. The only alarming thing was a plastic cup with an old sponge in it on the bathroom floor. Room was pleasant enough though for the price

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clwyatt1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This would not be my first choice of hotels, however we stayed there after a long drive and were dead tired. The bed was comfortable and the room, although dated was clean. The staff was friendly, the continental breakfast was bare bones but we was just fine. Motel is located accross from a busy truck stop but it was not noisy and we slept well. If you are picky this is not the hotel for you. If you understand that it is an old motel and you need a place to sleep, you shouldn't shy away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iliketoeateat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiloh C, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Sincerely,

Shiloh Cochran
Site Manager
Rodeway Inn, Ogallala
308-284-2056
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogallala
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Inn
Stagecoach Inn
#5 of 8 in Ogallala
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 8 in Ogallala
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Ogallala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Days Inn Paxton
Days Inn Paxton
#1 of 1 in Paxton
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#1 of 8 in Ogallala
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ogallala
Days Inn Ogallala
#4 of 8 in Ogallala
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 108 Prospector Dr, Ogallala, NE 69153-3108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogallala Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing