We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base to explore Shropshire/Mid Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitton Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Westbury B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Shropshire/Mid Wales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are just back from a sensational weekend away at Whitton Hall. It was a tremendous experience, and I can't recommend it highly enough. The location is stunning, with a feeling of remoteness, yet very cosy, with stunning panoramas just a short walk from the front door. Whilst notionally a B&B, this had more the feel of a luxury boutique hotel, yet with the definite feel of staying in someones much loved house, and the family go to incredible lengths to make you feel welcome. Kate was remarkable, was an incredible host, and chef, and helpful with some travel items we had forgotten! The food was sensational, with an evening meal featuring beef from their farm, and a very locally sourced breakfast with the most stunning eggs i have ever tasted. The room was large, with a comfortable bed, and a lovely view across the lawns and on to the countryside beyond. Towels were the fluffiest, and certainly the largest, i have ever come across. This place is a real gem, well worth a stay, as you can tell, I'm a bit smitten

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bounda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for the second time at Whitton Hall this summer, and found again the warm welcome of Gill, Kate and Christopher waiting for us. The house itself is beautiful and characterful, and the grounds charming. The room is very comfortable and large, and the amenities are excellent. The hosts are very helpful and generous with advice and ideas, and made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was lovely. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertBlackfriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Whitton Hall is a wonderful hidden treasure close to the border with Wales. Our recent second visit was just as lovely as our first. The house is stunningly beautiful with gorgeous grounds. We stayed in the spacious double room which has a wonderful view over the grounds. A bottle of wine was waiting for us in our room which we enjoyed outside on the lawns in the company of the dogs.
We have had supper in the house on both visits and it is highly recommended; the ingredients are all fresh from the estate and are delicious!
Kate, Gill and Christopher are fantastic hosts - nothing is too much trouble - and when we left it was with a perfect picnic and a tailored route map taking us to the most glorious Gloucestershire lookout over which to enjoy it.
We can't wait to go back!
Sara & David, Buckinghamshire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This B & B is extraordinary. From the start Gill’s welcome makes you feel as if you’re a special house guest at a large old Manorial Hall.

The setting is glorious, there is a lake outside, some beautiful gardens to walk round and a farm of pedigree Jersey cows on the estate.

The bedding and towels are white - the towels - the largest I’ve ever seen.

We stayed in a comfortable large room – only two of the hall’s many rooms are used for B & B although this stay, we were on our own. We were in the twin room.

We also ordered an evening meal which we can recommend – all local produce with fruit and vegetables mainly from the garden. Plus a bottle of wine – for £20 per head at the time of writing and well worth it.

The breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, Jersey milk from the farm, cereals, tea or coffee and a full English with eggs (cooked to order) from the farm and the sausages and bacon from a local farm shop and beautiful wholemeal toast.

The bathroom was not en-suite as such but our room had it’s own bathroom directly across our corridor.


Whitton Hall gave us a very special experience and has a quintessential English charm.

All in all, a magnificent stay and a place to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whitton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitton Hall

Property: Whitton Hall
Address: Whitton Hall Whitton | Shrewsbury, Westbury SY5 9RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Westbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down a long private drive with fields on either side is a lovely 18th-century farmhouse with a sense of timelessness. A large open hallway with a warming fire welcomes you where you may relax in peace and quiet. You breakfast in the dining room and sleep in large and light bedrooms with views over the glorious gardens. A great place from which to explore the Welsh Marches. Supper available for four or more guests, book in advance. Licensed premises. Self-catering in Garden Cottage now available. One large bedroom with extra beds and sofa bed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing