We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option after the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good option after the ferry”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Basic cabin:
Arrived late at night from the ferry to Picton and left early in the morning for Christchurch.
But in the time that we were there. It's close to the Picton ferry port so very handy. Cabins basic but functional with T&C facilities. Nice little site that is close to some stunning bays and scenery. If we were to have stayed for a few days in the area we would have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Presently living at the camp owing to a change of lifestyle and wanting to see the south island in the future. Lovely quiet camp (although its the time of year), amenities so clean and tidy and the showers are non metered. Owners blend in with their occupants. Grounds are kept lovely and tidy and the ladies who look after the cleanliness of the place are lovely and friendly... the cabins and motel units are really stylish, with three at the top having great views of the sounds (if you want a better view, perhaps you should buy a boat) from their balcony and of cost depends on the grade of cabin you want.. Two chairs and a wee table are there for you to enjoy a wine or a beer while enjoying the sun,or picnic tables if you want something larger. We are enjoying our time here and would highly recommend it to any other traveller wishing to stop in Picton. Some comments have been made regarding the distance from town, well it isnt that far and besides marinas are within walking distance, shops come in each and every town and city in NZ.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

have stayed there before and it was cheap and comfortable so thought I'd stay again. Got a lovely welcome from the male owner but no more conversation like where I was from, what I was doing, the weather, attractions etc. My heater wouldn't work so returned it to the office (after plugging in other appliances to make sure it wasn't the plug) and was told to get one out of another cabin - I would have expected service from the manager and him go get me one! In the morning the showers had no hot water (and there were four of us waiting) which turned out to be a blown element. After knocking and ringing the office bell for at least five minutes the owner (still in her PJ's at 7:30am when office opened at 8) informed me she'd open a cabin. Eventually she did. Maybe a bit of bad luck this time. Room tidy. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponymadaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's a Holiday Park so is never going to be anything special. I had a two bedroom unit right up the top of the property. There was a double bed in the main room with the kitchen etc and a bunkbed plus single bed in the other room. Would only be good for a family really as the main bed is in the main room and you have to walk through there to go to the bathroom too. It was clean and tidy. Rather cramped though and the table only had three chairs plus a couple on the balcony. There was a picnic table on the small grass patch outside which was great for beers in the sun.

I agree with other reviews on a couple of points... Would be a stretch to say the pace had views as only the top few cabins can really see out to the sound (we were in the best room for views apparently). It's also a rather cramped holiday park with much repositioning of vehicles going on when someone new arrives.

It's a five minute drive away from Picton so not handy to the town unless you have wheels. There is a small pub at the marina which is walking distance. Staff were helpful and friendly.

I did think it was overpriced unfortunately.

Room Tip: Cabins right up back are the only ones with 'views'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here one night before catching the early morning Interislander to Wellington. The kitchen cabin was clean and the main facilities well maintained. We were surprised to not have hot water in a kitchen cabin - a first for us. Overall reasonable value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed in a standard cabin. The camping round was a wee way out of town but I did look it up on the map first so was aware of that. The cabin was small and TV reception was a little poor (don't plug in your phone charger at the same time) and the room only had two plugs. However it was clean and tidy. The gravel driveway can be a bit noisy at night. There are lots of walks nearby and shown clearly on the notice board outside the kitchen/toilets/showers so there is plenty to do. I had to wait a wee bit for the hot water to come through in the morning but the shower was clean. The cabin had a basin and tap which was handy. Parking was tight but I was only there for one night so really didn't bother me. The kids seemed to be enjoying the pool and playground and it had a good atmosphere. I would stay again.

Room Tip: it is on a hill and I did notice that some tents were pitched on a downwards slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponymadaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

A bit of decpetive advertising here I think, if you stretch your neck you may get a glimpse of Marlborough Sound. The staff are warm, friendly and very helpful. The park is out of town and sits on the side of a hill. In my opinion is not camper friendly unless you are prepared to pitch your tent between highpowered speedboats, campervans and 4-wheel-drives. Grass is also in short supply. We chose a cabin which was comfortable. Washing machines and dryers are few so be prepared to line up if you have lots of washing to do.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazza058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
0.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
1.9 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 26 in Picton
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikawa Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikawa Bay Holiday Park

Property: Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 Waimarama Street, Waikawa, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waikawa Bay Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waikawa Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing