We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Friendly welcome, great for kids, really felt it was well equipt for children with the play area and swimming pool or couples travelling and love the music playing in the bathroom! Short walk to the pub and waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keta-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good facilities but very cold cabins. Far from Picton town - $25 for shuttle one way. Marina and restaurant within walking distance but otherwise take your provisions as no supermarkets out that way. Good playground with trampoline for kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank C_E_N_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikawa3, Owner at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Picton's Waikawa Bay Holiday Park is 3.7km out of the center of Picton, this is clearly stated in all our advertising this is what you a lot of our customers find appealing,

And yes it will cost you between $20 and $25 for a shuttle ($25 for a late night arrival) which is not bad if there are 4 of you but not so good for a solo traveler.

All our units are equipped with a heater and there is no restriction to there use they can be left on all night, unlike other places that have a timer. Additional bedding can be hired at a very minimal cost.

Please all customers read the blurb as to where we are and what we offer before you book and do not down grade us because you haven't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A nice clean get away from town.

Peaceful,relaxing, close to nature and a stunning bays with awesome scenery.

Great access to ferry terminal. Great for the traveller.

Very welcoming & would happily return :)

Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Didn't realise you had to rent linen and bedding (my fault) which suddenly made me realise it was not as affordable as it seemed. Cramped, old mattress and pillows, kettle but no fridge to store milk. Again it was cheap but I'd rather have paid an extra $20 to stay somewhere where I wouldn't have to worry about a blanket

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikawa3, Owner at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Yes $54 for a basic unit is cheap great for a traveler with sleeping bag, and $5 a bed for clean sheets duvet,blankets plus towels is a service rather than profit making exercise, I personally would prefer to sleep under clean sheets at a small cost than a blanket that multiple people have slept under prior, which is what happens when just blankets are provided. For a mere additional $10 you could have a had a kitchen cabin with full kitchen, including fridge. We have asked two subsequent customers about the bed and both gave a positive response. Please travelers read the blub about what is provided and be sure you are picking the right unit for your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed a night in a tourist flat prior to catching the ferry the next day. The accommodation was self contained and spotless. Everything was there we needed. About 10 mins to the town off the main road, excellent position. Close to the marina for a meal and look at the boats. Recommended and will stay again. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Waikawa Bay Holiday Park is a lovely place to stay. The very friendly staff go all out to accommodate you. The units are very clean and well laid out providing everything necessary for a pleasant and quiet break. It is also very handy to the ferry terminals. I'm looking forward to revisiting in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takatapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A few minutes drive from the ferry; close to town but off the main road in a sheltered setting with bush reserve to one side. What a pleasant change to have spotless facilities. When we decided to extend our stay, the cabins were mostly booked, but management did everything to make our move easy, allowing us to sleep in until the cleaners told us the new cabin was ready. Next visit we will use the tent sites located at the quiet rear of the camp with plenty of shade trees. Camp shop for essentials, daily paper, ice creams. Value for money.

Room Tip: Recommend cabin with new ensuite and cooking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyFrog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
2.2 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
1.9 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
175 reviews
2.3 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
2.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikawa Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikawa Bay Holiday Park

Property: Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 Waimarama Street, Waikawa, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Waikawa Bay Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Waikawa Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing