We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Picton Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect for Picton Ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

By no means luxurious but for us it suited our purpose perfectly. We wanted an inexpensive bed, showers available with kitchen facility and close to Picton ferry so it ticked all the boxes. If we'd have stayed longer I would have chosen the contained units which looked great. Our unit was really just a bed but had small sink, table, chairs, kettle, toaster and a working TV so as I said before suited our needs perfectly. I would ask that an alternative to 2 cooking rings be available in the shared kitchen, which were almost useless but managed to cook a great meal none the less.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here in January 2014, The price was really good, and was just 5 mins from the Picton ferry terminal. The amenities were very good, a great kitchen, spotless showers and even a pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We paid $54 dollars on booking.com for a standard 2 person bungalow and stayed prior to catching the early morning ferry.
The bungalow was clean, the bed was comfortable and the camps toilets and showers facilities were spotless.
You need to bring your own sleeping bags and towel
This is an excellent cheaper option if you just need a bed for the night.
Waikawa Bay is a lovely spot and the camp is only a short walk from the beach and marina.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wadestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Friendly welcome, great for kids, really felt it was well equipt for children with the play area and swimming pool or couples travelling and love the music playing in the bathroom! Short walk to the pub and waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keta-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Good facilities but very cold cabins. Far from Picton town - $25 for shuttle one way. Marina and restaurant within walking distance but otherwise take your provisions as no supermarkets out that way. Good playground with trampoline for kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank C_E_N_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikawa3, Owner at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Picton's Waikawa Bay Holiday Park is 3.7km out of the center of Picton, this is clearly stated in all our advertising this is what you a lot of our customers find appealing,

And yes it will cost you between $20 and $25 for a shuttle ($25 for a late night arrival) which is not bad if there are 4 of you but not so good for a solo traveler.

All our units are equipped with a heater and there is no restriction to there use they can be left on all night, unlike other places that have a timer. Additional bedding can be hired at a very minimal cost.

Please all customers read the blurb as to where we are and what we offer before you book and do not down grade us because you haven't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

A nice clean get away from town.

Peaceful,relaxing, close to nature and a stunning bays with awesome scenery.

Great access to ferry terminal. Great for the traveller.

Very welcoming & would happily return :)

Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Didn't realise you had to rent linen and bedding (my fault) which suddenly made me realise it was not as affordable as it seemed. Cramped, old mattress and pillows, kettle but no fridge to store milk. Again it was cheap but I'd rather have paid an extra $20 to stay somewhere where I wouldn't have to worry about a blanket

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikawa3, Owner at Waikawa Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Yes $54 for a basic unit is cheap great for a traveler with sleeping bag, and $5 a bed for clean sheets duvet,blankets plus towels is a service rather than profit making exercise, I personally would prefer to sleep under clean sheets at a small cost than a blanket that multiple people have slept under prior, which is what happens when just blankets are provided. For a mere additional $10 you could have a had a kitchen cabin with full kitchen, including fridge. We have asked two subsequent customers about the bed and both gave a positive response. Please travelers read the blub about what is provided and be sure you are picking the right unit for your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikawa
0.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
1.8 mi away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Marina Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Picton Campervan Park
Picton Campervan Park
#6 of 26 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
2.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikawa Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikawa Bay Holiday Park

Property: Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Address: 5 Waimarama Street, Waikawa, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton > Waikawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Waikawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikawa Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikawa Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing