We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location for a secluded family break”
other travellers have booked this property
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Cosy log burning stove - ideal after a long winter walk View across the valley from the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Farmhouse, South facing with wonderful views over the valley
Cosy log burning stove - ideal after a long winter walk
View across the valley from the property
Sitting room with TV, DVD, Hi-Fi and woodburning stove
Our ancient orchard adjacent the farmhouse
Lake in Front Meadow
The lane to Hallwood and the village
Generously & thoughtfully equipped kitchen
Downstairs double bedroom
Downstairs double bedroom with ensuite & cot
Downstairs Ensuite bathroom with Power Shower
Misty morning
Tilling early carrots at Hallwood
View over Hallwood fields
Downstairs family bathroom with Power Shower & bath
Sunny South facing kitchen
Dining room with seating for 10 - 12
Dining room with woodburner
Upstairs family bathroom with bath with shower over
Upstairs twin bedroom (Lovely views)
Upstairs family room with a double & 2 singles
Plenty to keep little folk entertained
Large drying room
More to keep young & old amused!
A library of tourist information, books & maps centred on Hallwood
It's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
It's lovely here- see what our guests have said!
Lots of beautiful original artwork to be enjoyed
I's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
It's lovely here - see what our guests have said!
Lots of beautiful original artwork to be enjoyed
Woodburner in sitting room
Mrs Pig
Hallwood Farmhouse in early spring
Richard & Ruth
Todler sized piglets
Young Ruby Red Devon x Jersey calves
Richard checking the cattle in Cow Moor field
Lovely fresh seasonal veg grown here on the farm. Stock up from the farm honesty shop
Books,CD's & DVD's for all
Old pine settle with a seat chest full of toys
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Petrockstowe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful location for a secluded family break”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our extended family (4 adults and 4 children) were lucky to have found such a gem of a location - it's half an hour from anywhere within Devon and north Cornwall. Ruth and Richard were very friendly hosts. This is the first time we've stayed on a working farm and we would definitely do it again - the onsite farm shop and microbrewery was a bonus. Excellent facilities in the house - we must admit to being reluctant about writing such a positive review in case too many people find out about this lovely place...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Thank you for such kind words! It's always lovely to have families who really appreciate the farm and local produce. Hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne T
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent family facilities, all within a working farm environment.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Seventh year running and now another grandchild in the family! The boys are 9 and 7 and love helping feed the animals. They can explore but understand this is a working farm and always are sensible. Fidget and Hartley, the two resident dogs, keep them busy too!
Hallwood Farm is well equipped, clean and has everything you need to self cater. The farm shop can provide fruit, vegetables and their own reared meat.
Friendly welcoming relaxing and close to many beaches and attractions...can't be beaten, even though it's off the beaten track!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Glad you are enjoying! Lovely to see familiar faces back year after year, with the children growing in size and number! Thank you for kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurfo
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely warm and comfortable farmhouse in the midst of a working farm great for families and friends to get together for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings with walks straight from the front door and you can even walk to the pub! Ruth and Richard are very welcoming but also give you complete privacy and would highly recommend the home grown and reared produce in their farm shop. Their two dogs were so friendly and even came with us on one of our shorter walks. The farmhouse was so comfortable and we totally relaxed for the week and hope to come back very soon (better than any Spa break for relaxation and recuperation) we hope to make a week there an annual event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing break with our friends and family”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our break at Hallwood Farm was really relaxing, the accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious, Ruth and Richard were great and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed some lovely walks in the gorgeous countryside, the produce at the farm shop was top quality, and we stocked up with vegetables and meat to bring home. We had a lovely time catching up with friends and family relaxing in front of the real fire. The location offers some fantastic views, and we are looking forward to visiting Hallwood Farm in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and great walks
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B
1 review
“Perfect for a non-rowdy stag party”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Booked here for my friend's stag party and it was brilliant. Beautiful countryside, out of the way so not bothering anyone, excellent facilities, well equipped, extremely comfortable and spacious setup, friendly and welcoming hosts from the farm, even two extremely sociable and well-trained dogs. Hope to visit again for longer, but with family next time.

Perfect place to visit for some country air, peace and quiet, or if you're the sort of stag party that likes to sing Toto's 'Africa' en masse at 10:30 at night (sorry about that)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawn p
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely time”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I treated the family to a weekend away. We had a wonderful time and nothing was to much trouble. The youngest children liked to see the animals.
It was nice having some basics in the kitchen.
It is worth trying the sausages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Hi Dawn, it was great to meet you all. So glad you had a good time and thank you for your kind comments. Would love to see you all again one day.
Ruth & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicksys
Langport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT FAMILY HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful week at Hallwood Farm over the half term holiday. We were a party of 6 adults and one dog and there was plenty of space for all of us. The weather was very kind for February and we spent every day walking around the farm and surrounding area. We also spent a couple of afternoons sat on the picnic benches drawing and painting the wonderful scenery. The local pub was probably the friendliest pub I have ever been in and everyone in the village was very welcoming. Ruth and Richard were amazing hosts and we cooked every night from food brought from the farm, all of it was delicious. We can't wait for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A fantastic location to spend a relaxing family holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
So glad you enjoyed! Thank you for your kind comments. We will pass your praise on to the pub too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing