We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Fantastic venue for a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow! Fantastic venue for a wedding!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just celebrated my daughters wedding at Walton Hall. It was superb. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Pauline, the wedding co-ordinator went out of her way to help. The rooms were set out exactly as we requested including 40 metres of bunting! It looked perfect. The wedding breakfast was delicious, plentiful and hot! The staff were efficient, attentive and friendly. I really could find nothing at all that could have been improved. The location is stunning. The photos are amazing. We all stayed overnight and the bedrooms were comfortable and spacious. All in all 20 out of 10 for a perfect day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilldoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review and giving us a whopping 20 out of 10! I'm so pleased your daughter had a fabulous wedding day and I will pass your comments onto Pauline and all the staff involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    226
    98
    49
    28
See reviews for
224
357
20
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel as my friend got married here. The wedding was fantastic and the venue is great for weddings. Setting is beautiful on a lake with a manor house on an island. Service at the wedding meal was prompt but smiles and friendliness were absent. Also absent at the bar in the evening. Overall the service was poor apart from at breakfast in the old house on the island which was very good. The food throughout was excellent, at the wedding lunch, evening buffet and breakfast in the morning.
The room I stayed in was not worth the money paid at all. Stayed in a twin in the manor house on the island. I have stayed in many hotels and this is the worst room vs money paid ever. Not clean, uncomfortable bed with a dip in the middle! No air con, very odd layout with chairs blocking the wardrobe and balcony. No minibar which I would've expected. The back of the TV was thick with dust! Room 6 was the room if the hotel want to go check it out!
If the room was clean and had a minibar and a more comfortable bed and service was with a smile it would be 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the wedding and I have taken note of your other comments. I will pass these onto the relevant people who will deal with them accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as we were having our wedding reception at the golf club up the road.
The car park was full and the place was very busy as there was a wedding (possibly two?)on. Walked over the bridge to the beautiful old building. Waited a good 10minutes before being told we were in the new building.headed back over the bridge to check In which was dealt with quickly.
The room we had was lovely I wish I'd Had more time to stay I it.
Phone reception is terrible as is the wifi ! I called reception to say I couldn't log on and she told me there were absolutely no problems with the Wifi...however when if had my lengthy wait in the old building I heard a man say exactly the same to the receptionist..and she gave exactly the same answer!! My husband and in laws couldn't get it either !
All in all I'm not sure i would return or recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I hope you had a lovely wedding day! I'm pleased you liked your room and I have noted your comments and will pass your thoughts onto the relevent people. All the best for your future life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is an excellent setting for a wedding reception with it being set on an island in the lake. Stunning views, excellent customer service and assistance from all staff. The back drop is an excellent place for wedding photos and an ideal place for relaxing. We had a magnificent day made better by the staff at the hotel. The room we had was stunning and very comfortable. The prices are reasonable for a place like this, and the drink prices are obviously dearer than your local but not too expensive. Breakfast in the morning was also very good and once again all the staff were very helpful & friendly. They also have a swimming pool etc. on site which my grandson used and this all looked very well looked after. I would recommend this venue to anyone thinking of either a wedding or just a nice relaxing place to visit, or even for a Sunday lunch!

Room Tip: Rooms on the island offer a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomG624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased you had such a good wedding and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future...perhaps for Sunday Lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last five years and always had amazing service, very friendly staff and beautiful rooms to stay in.
The two buildings are so different moving from the old to the new seamlessly and it doesn't matter which one you stay in, all are ultra comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi Linda we are so pleased you enjoy our Hotel and keep coming back and thank you for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

From the very furst viewing of walton hall as a wedding venue to the day itself, I have continued to be thoroughly impressed by the excellent service and friendly nature of each and every member of staff I have come into contact with. Pauline, the wedding planner has treated us like royalty from start to finish and has certainly taken all of the stress out of planning the wedding. Nothing has been too much for her, she has always made time for us and has constantly gone out of her way to ensure that we have had the very best experience.
From the big things right through to the tiniest detail, the day itself was expertly managed by pauline, paul and andrew who put us at ease and ensured everything ran smoothky, we coukd not have asked for more.
As a guest in the hotel, I felt the service was just as good from the receptionist to the bar and leisure staff. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away. The food in charlies bar is absolutely beatiful and I have been there for lunch on a number of occassions.
I cannot thank the staff enough for alk their gard work and dedication

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Hi Gemma, thank you for your wonderful review. It’s such a pleasure to get great feedback and the staff really appreciate acknowledgement for their hard work. They all work hard to ensure everyone's experience at the Waterton Park Hotel is a great one. I'm so pleased you had a fantastic day and I wish you all the best for you future life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Set in a beautiful location the Waterton park hotel sets the mood immediately and expectations are raised when you see the beautiful central hotel that is situated on the island. We stayed here during a wedding which we attended. There were a few problems with the room card machine but they soon sorted this out and the hotel were kind enough to let us check in a couple of hours early.

The room was excellent, with a four poster bed, slipper bath, double shower and classic decor and every bit of it was spotless. One thing it didn't have was air-con' however a fan was provided, I do however believe that this would not have helped much if the weather had been as hot as previous days.

The wedding went smoothly, the food was very good, the drinks extortionate £4.40 a pint of Guinness! (To be expected) The location itself makes the hotel such a wonderful place, such exquisite views and I would be more than happy to stay here again it is however quite expensive so I would have to save it for special occasions unless I get a very large pay rise or win the lottery!

Room Tip: Get one on the Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshiredave1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
Thank you for your super review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton
7.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,587 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
901 reviews
10.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,377 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Park Hotel

Property: Waterton Park Hotel
Address: Waterton Park Hotel The Balk, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Walton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Waterton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing