We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, beautiful and so close to the motorway!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic, beautiful and so close to the motorway!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I found this hotel so enchanting, its set in a fantastic setting and very accessible even though once you get there it seems a million miles away from civilisation!
Bridal suite is amazing... views fantastic of the lake. We have now booked our christmas wedding there and cannot wait to have our ceremony and evening reception all in the same beautifull place. I can't wait to go back every year after as so many people seem to do...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    220
    97
    48
    27
See reviews for
217
352
20
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Nice buildings & pleasant area especially if you enjoy golf. However we felt our say was let down by the our overnight stay in the room. The room although very clean, became quite stuffy quite quickly with no ventilation present. After 5 minutes we managed to open the window but only 3 inches due to a good few layers of paint restricting it & it had the be held open using some folded up cardboard. We where then kept awake for hours by the ducks, swans ect outside our window having a brawl! In the morning after both using the shower the room was so stuffy it was very uncomfortable just to be in the room. A good English breakfast made up for it however I don't think I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We recently stayed for the weekend, the hotel was selected as a nice location to meet a customer and his wife whom we were having dinner with on the Sat eve. The original hall is a lovely old building with plenty of character and charm, the setting is beautiful on the island too, with old buildings you can only expect some oddities but filth is not one of them! Having met a couple of the housekeeping staff over the weekend they certainly did not appear to be lazy or give off the impression of wishing they were somewhere else. So this made us think that they simply did not have enough time to do their jobs properly anymore, maybe a reduction in colleagues has been the case, who knows! The specific items worth mentioning are - Four Poster Bed - dirt traps at the best of times so extra care required really, yet we found several weeks, if not months, worth of dust under the bed, not to mention a childs toy that has obviously lain undetected. Confetti on the bathroom floor - we had not been part of the many weddings that take place, so this must have been a previous occupant!! Spiders in the groves around the windows and shutters, ok, this is a difficult problem to handle in August, especially with ivy climbing the walls, but a regular vacuming of these areas would certainly help, especially when there are obvious webs attached to the very heavy, beautiful curtains. The problem with spotting these things is that you then start to notice everything and even look for it! They are an obvious choice for weddings, perfect setting etc but sadly this does create an enourmous workload for all staff, I beleive this to be the housekeeping issue. Maybe they need to address this so that those customers who are not attending the ceremonies might actually return. In addition, the wedding parties all congregate in Charlies Bar after the ceremony, they are oblivious to the fact that you are a paying customer at the hotel and stand around your table, blocking the screen of any guests watching the footie while enjoying a beer etc, without even noticing you. There are often more than one wedding party in there too so doubling the problem. Its not that you don't wish them a happy day, just that their guests behave like they own the place. The food was good though and the waiting staff superb, the rest is up to how much effort the hotel is prepared to make to amend the rest.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florencenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We were married in the Library at Walton Hall, Waterton Park in August 2000 and as we have celebrated our anniversary there each year, decided to renew our wedding vows there on our 10th anniversary. We love the fact that it's tucked away and as you drive down to it the view suddenly opens up and it's there - a beautiful house surrounded by a lake!

It was an absolutely perfect day from the moment we arrived. Amanda our Wedding Coordinator kept everything running smoothly throughout the day. The staff who looked after us during the meal in the Lakeside Room were attentive and polite and made sure glasses were topped up regularly! The meal was excellent, very generous portions! Goats cheese tart went down a treat as did the pumpkin soup, along with the roast beef, prawn cocktail, baked aubergine, Bailey's white chocolate torte, rhubarb and ginger sponge - gorgeous!! Thank you to the man who seemed to be in charge during the meal, whose name I have forgotten (sorry!), who found the anniversary cards we had lost!!

The complimentary bridal suite had a beautiful view of the lake from the bath and the bed (in fact as soon as you open the door it's the first thing you see!) and was very clean. Iron and ironing board provided (didn't use of course!). We enjoyed a good breakfast next morning too! Choice of cereals, fresh and dried fruit, yoghurt, bread, pastries, jams, cooked breakfast with vegetarian option. Reception staff were very polite and helpful too.

All in all a perfect day in a perfect setting! We shared a wonderful day with friends and family and we will definitely be back to celebrate our 11th anniversary next August!
A wonderful old building (with lots of history) in which to celebrate a special occasion in beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piersgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel following a wedding reception held there.
The room we stayed in was very nice although signs of dating were evident.
The view over the lake was magnificent. My criticism here was that the kettle in the room contained water on our arrival. A health and safety risk which I am sure the hotel would be aware of. When I mentioned it at reception the receptionist looked at me as if I didn't know what I was talking about. I suggest she reads the appropriate legislation.

The reception food was exemplary and credit must go to the unsung heroes whom rarely get a mention, namely the kitchen staff, chefs and waiters and waitresses who did a marvellous job.
However the full enjoyment was spoilt for a number of disabled guest who access to the room was severely compromised by the lack of a lift.
One lady had to crawl up the steps on hands and knees, several ladies and a couple of gentlemen struggled with sticks and walkers to manage the stairs and one lady had to be carried up in her wheelchair. When we questioned this we were told it was because the hotel is a listed building. Not strictly true legislation requires that reasonable adjustments be made. What is reasonable is a good question, and in this instance staff who had being suitably trained in manhandling techniques would have helped, after all we had being told staff would be available to assist us , but they were not forthcoming on the day.
My moan over I would reiterate that overall the the occasion was magnificent and the bride and groom had a marvellous time, My wife and I would like to convey our thanks to all concerned for a wonderful weekend and would happily visit the hotel again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKarenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for one night as our friend was getting married at the hotel. The hotel is very beautiful set around a lake and has a castle feel to it. It is very pretty and the rooms are very nice with great views of the lake. The only downside was several large spiders in the rooms, they seem to be all around the property, but i guess this is to be expected for a hotel in the woods on a lake. The only other downside was the restaurant stops serving food at 9.30. The food we did eat at lunch was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I regularly take short breaks and this hotel is one of the better ones that we have stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful and provided us with some good advice on local walks . The restaurant was top class and the breakfasts were excellent and the Breakfast Supervisor was very friendly, pleasant and professional. Absolutely wonderful and we will definitely be return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walton
7.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
888 reviews
10.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
980 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,340 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wakefield Limes Hotel
Wakefield Limes Hotel
#6 of 19 in Wakefield
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Park Hotel

Property: Waterton Park Hotel
Address: Waterton Park Hotel The Balk, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Walton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waterton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing