We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Nebraska!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Scottsbluff B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprising Nebraska!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were driving cross country from Michigan to San Francisco, with no specific agenda - we just wanted to not stay on Interstate 80 all the way. We noticed that NW Nebraska had a national monument called "Agate Fossil" that seemed intriguing, so we headed off I80 onto route 2 across the "SandHills" of Nebraska to the closest city - Scotts Bluff. Unbelievably beautiful and remote drive (be sure to fill up before you embark - not many gas stations along the way). We found the "Barn Anew" on a website, and were lucky to get a room the same day as we neared ScottsBluff.

It is an old Homesteader's barn that has been renovated to be a lovely residential B&B. It actually sits on "Oregan Trail Road" and from the upper deck (a great place to have morning coffee), one can see Mitchell's Pass - where thousands of pioneers passed through the Bluff on their way to Oregan and SF.

The rooms are small but very comfortable, with modern baths, and Cher and Allen are terrific. Both are former school teachers from Wyoming who decided to not end their careers in the classrooms. Allen is still teaching - gave us a full tour with complete history of the site and the region, and then provided us with a one day loop car tour guide that they had written for the local tourism industry.

We spent two nights and loved every minute of our visit. Breakfasts are incredible, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone with an interest in history, nature, and paleontology (definitely drive up to Agate Fossil Monument - worth the drive!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
57
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fascinating and beautiful barn reconstruction, lovingly done by Cher and Allen, who greet you with a very warm welcome. Peaceful and serene location, with great views across to the national monument. The breakfast was truly wonderful and is a highlight of the stay. Be aware though that rooms are a bit on the small side, have no wardrobes, and hardly any clear surface area (being filled with a whole raft of amazing artefacts and memorabilia); this does mean you will have to "live out of your suitcase" which will probably have to rest on the floor. Not a problem for one or two nights, but could prove difficult if you're planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrynEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were given an overnight stay at Barn Anew as an anniversary gift. We visit family in Scottsbluff/Gering each summer and were very pleased to receive a night away from the children in celebration of our anniversary. Unsure of what to expect, we were blown away by our stay. The service was wonderful! We especially enjoyed hearing about Cher and Alan's experiences and the stories behind the various items of decor in the B&B. (And, ask for a player piano performance.) There was plenty of privacy for relaxtion on the porches and the grounds ~ which were beautifully maintained. Our accomodations were quite comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was delicious!

I cannot speak to value since our stay was a gift. However, whatever the cost, it is definitely worth the stay!

If you are lucky enough to visit in late July / early August, make sure to collect chokecherries and make your own jelly or syrup!

Our time at Barn Anew was so nice, we have asked for this same gift again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I accidentally stumbled across the Barn Anew B&B when I needed a place to stay while I was in Scottsbluff on business. This 100-year-old barn on the old Oregon Trail has been renovated into a B&B, all rooms with private baths. Native American artwork/antiques throughout the property. Best of all - the serenity! Although in the area for business, I felt as though I was on a mini-vacation. The service was 5-star; loved the Rendezvez room (where I hung out and worked on expense reports), the sunroom, the grounds with all the trees and flowers and hammock, the veranda with the wind chimes that overlooked the Scottsbluff National Monument. The food, too - the best french toast I've ever had, served with chokeberry syrup made from the chokeberry trees that grow on their property. All for about the same price I would have paid to stay at the Hampton Inn in town. Alan and Cher are tremendous hosts. Cher even arranged for me and my client to meet in their sunroom (after I had already checked out!) and then for us to have lunch at their (private) country club! What's more, the owners are writers, artists, public speakers and travelers whose journeys along the Oregon trail and Santa Fe trails have been the topic of a Today show interview with Matt Lauer and articles in the National Geographic. I wanted to spend more time getting to know them. The whole experience was very special. Highly recommended for those who like B&B's!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Spend the extra $15 or $20 and stay at this B&B. It really is an oasis of tranquility. There are four suites - ours was called Fur Trapper. The rendez-vous room (the lounge) is superb. Monring coffee served in the rendez-vous room followed by a hearty breakfast on the main floor of the barn was wonderful. We arrived late in Scottsbluff, around 10 pm after lolly-gagging too long by driving through the inspiring Sand Hills. The decent local hotels were booked out (only two really in Scottsbluff), but trying out the Barn Anew was the best move we've made. The owners are proud of their knowledge and relationship with Indian communities in NE and WY. Many, many tasteful momentos decorate the barn walls and rooms. I am SOOOO glad we use Trip Advisor as we might have passed this place by (its in the country side - and on the Oregon Trail!).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toutelemonde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had the privilege once again to stay at the Barn Anew Bed & Breakfast earlier this week! Cher and Alan continue to provide 5-star service. It's the ONLY place I'd stay if I'm traveling anywhere near the Scottsbluff/Gering, NE area! The breakfast is amazing as are the views; and the inspiring conversations with hosts and guests are always memorable! Thanks Cher and Alan for your wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radski65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I passed through for just one night on a five day motorcycle ride through Nebraska. I had picked this B&B because it was our anniversary, and the pictures and reviews were so great! We were not disappointed. Our only regret was that due to a storm that passed through, our plans (along with a wedding in their courtyard) were all delayed, so we did not get as much time to enjoy the place.

The decorations are unbelievable, and I could have spent days wandering about looking at it all. Everything inside and out is impeccable, and we loved the place. Breakfast in the morning was very good, and we were happy as clams. I have already told a friend of mine who travels to Ogallala each year that she may need to tac on an extra night to make it here. If you are in the area and need a place to stay, this is it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnp636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnanew, Owner at Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Barn Anew and thank you for your nice review. Hopefully your plans will bring you back sometime soon, so that you can linger longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsbluff
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsbluff Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Scottsbluff
3.3 mi away
Monument Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
Comfort Inn Scottsbluff
#5 of 9 in Scottsbluff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Scottsbluff
Days Inn Scottsbluff
#7 of 9 in Scottsbluff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel
Arcadia Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast

Property: Barn Anew Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2 Miles West of Scotts Bluff National Monument on the old Oregon Trail road., Scottsbluff, NE 69361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Scottsbluff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsbluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising out of the ruts of the Oregon Trail, the Barn offers an exquisite get-away in the shadow of Scotts Bluff Monument. Just a few minutes from town, but a world apart,the Barn offers you a chance to re-energize with a stay in the country. Enjoy Western hospitality with gourmet breakfasts and beautiful surroundings. Savor a hot cup of coffee on our outdoor balcony as you greet the day. Relax in the hammock in the courtyard under 100 year old pines. Feeling adventurous? Reserve a night in one of our sheep wagons! Join us for a Friday night blue grass jam session. Hear stories of adventures on the Oregon Trail and other historic expeditions. Enjoy Western and Native American Art. Ask about one of our packages: fly fishing, Oregon Trail guided tour, circle tours, horseback riding, horse drawn carriage rides. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing