We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need for XXX rated tv”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No need for XXX rated tv”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have told several people this hotel is the best bang for the buck in the Sioux City metro area. I often stay in the Sioux City area with my children. Unwittingly, I stumbled across a disgusting XXX rated show on HBO. I am not talking about soft porn. There is no excuse for any hotel to not block a channel like this if they want to attract families. I will never stay there again unless after I call them, they can assure me that channel is blocked or removed permanently.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5MinnesotaSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review - I am so very sorry that HBO added shows of that caliber to their lineup. I thank you for bringing this to our attention and please be assured that the channel at our property is already cancelled. We do not want or need that kind of programming for our guests and their families. If you have any other concerns - please feel free to call me at anytime.

Sincerely
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    21
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
14
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here and it was very clean and the desk folks were awesome. They also had a awesome breakfast and hot coffee. The lobby was very clean and nicely decorated. I would tell everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We thank you very much for your review - we really appreciate it. I hope to see you on your next trip through Nebraska- until next time - Happy Trails

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermillion, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A recently renovated front lobby, offering fresh popped popcorn and lemon water at check in. A nice exercise room. Hotel room was with nice and new firm beds. Everything was clean and the room had a microwave and refrigerator to boot! The normal continental breakfast items were offered with a few hot options like make your own waffles or biscuits and gravy. You could hear a couple kids running around in the hallway, but after 10 pm, everything was quiet. Very friendly staff, overall a nice place with what you need and not the extra fluff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review - it is truly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are hoping we will see you in the near future. Until then - Safe travels

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I looked for what I might have said before, and can't believe that I've not reviewed this motel before. We've stayed here dozens of times for upward of 20 years. I've found it satisfactory and I recommend it for the price. I give it a Very Good rating, since it's an older unit that has been updating for several years and has new management. (the older comments probably don't apply anymore???) It's nowhere near fancy, it's modest but adequate. The guests here have been friendly, decent chaps (you get back what you give). They get all the fresh fruit because they eat at 5 and go to work. Ask for more fruit from the front desk. Lots of hard-working common folks stay here (meaning they are away from their home and at their job here for days/weeks). It's always been seemingly-normal and quiet even at night in the parking lot. A word of warning (or blessing) they will be eliminating the nice grass area next door and are building an annex which I understand will have a pool?? So you can't walk the dog but you can swim. (ha ha) I've never experienced the smoke odor or wet dog smells. I agree the window A/C units are noisy. Lots of 18-wheeler stock trucks go by and they use "jack brakes" coming down the exit ramp adjacent on the north. I'm a light sleeper and wear ear plugs so no problem. Am I wrong, or are electric extensions now enclosed in conduit?? I've always been amazed about the pubic hair people find at different hotels. I've never once seen one. The fridge and microwave are just like the other chains provide. I notice some complainers have as many derogatory reviews as average, so consider the source. I didn't count but 75% of folks are ok with this motel. I'd just say if you want a Hampton/Holiday Inn stay at one; however, they don't have the same reasonable rates. (They will probably raise them with the addition.) As far as how to find this spot, take the I-129/U.S. 20 bridge over the river, take the first exit (Dakota Ave.), go left back under the highway overpass and the motel is right there. From the north on I-29, you could also take the Memorial Bridge from near downtown Sioux City and Dakota Avenue goes right by the motel, but you have to drive through South Soo. You're going to have to drive to get anywhere, but this is on the edge of the metro area. The gas is cheapest at the I-29 exit 143 - Singing Hills Blvd/ Industrial Interchange. (as they called it back in the day)

Room Tip: See my comments. Has two wings oriented N-S or E-W. The back side of the N-S wing would be away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapicamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at ABVI and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Do not use your debit card at this hotel-they will screw up your checking account for sure. They will put a hold on all of your night's stay at check-in, and then do it again at check-out. I had 3 nights stay and $362 held hostage by them. Unfortunately, they don't tell you this until you find it on your bank account. They tell me that the check-in hold should have dropped off at check-out- this, of course, is a lie because the bank will tell you 5-7 days. After I pay all of my bounce fees, I could have stayed at a much nicer hotel and enjoyed the stay. Deceitful practices and dishonest customer service...I had planned to do a lot of business here...not anymore...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLB401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Sir,

I am sorry for your experience at our hotel. Our policy is to authorize debit and credit cards at check in - this just means that your bank holds the funds until check out. I am not sure why your bank did not release your funds at that time but as soon as you called us we tried to contact them to no avail. If you would like to call me personally I would be please to discuss the issue with you and resolve any issues you may have.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed for a long weekend in May this year (2014). The interior is great, the lobby computer and printer worked fine and I had a great workout on the treadmill to work off the good breakfast they provided. This hotel is mostly for workers that are there for a couple months and no they would not blend in well in any big city but they do blend well with the hard working area in which the hotel is located and as an unaccompanied female was never concerned for my safety. I grew up in the area half a century ago and return to see family occasionally. Mostly I stay with family, but there are times when I need a desk with peace and quiet. I am looking forward to my next stay there! No swimming pool but not a problem, they can sell you daily passes for the Y if you really want to swim and even thought the Y is at opposite end of town, it only takes 10 minutes to drive there, lol.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjumpteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review -We are happy you like all of our improvements to the property over the last year. Since your stay we have taken the wireless internet from 50 to 100 meg of service to better service our guests We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to have even more improvements.
Sincerely
Anne GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Shower would sparadically change from warm to extremely hot every 30 seconds, I would say. Air conditioner was a little noisy. Internet access was spotty and slow. Location of hotel compared to services in city was poor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool95, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Kayla,

I am so very sorry that you had those issues with you stay at our hotel. Please know that we had 50meg internet installed this spring but we have surveyed more guests since your review and found we needed to go to 100meg which we have done. Water issue has also been addressed. If you are coming to the area again I would be pleased if you would call me directly at the motel and we would love for you to be our guest for the evening. Again - we strive to give excellent customer service, clean rooms a great experience at our hotel and regret that you had problems. Please feel free to contact me at any time.
Sincerely
Anne GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Sioux City
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Sioux City South
Super 8 Sioux City South
#6 of 19 in Sioux City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.7 mi away
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Ce...
#1 of 5 in South Sioux City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.5 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Sioux City
Comfort Inn Sioux City
#12 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
7.0 mi away
Days Inn North Sioux City
Days Inn North Sioux City
#4 of 4 in North Sioux City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City

Property: Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City
Address: 4402 Dakota Ave, South Sioux City, NE 68776-3657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > South Sioux City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in South Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- South Sioux City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing