We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marina Inn Hotel Is The Place To Stay In The Sioux City, IA Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marina Inn Hotel Is The Place To Stay In The Sioux City, IA Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds and a nice view of downtown Sioux City and the Missouri River. Kahill's Fish Chop & Steakhouse next door is a bonus. Great food and ambiance. I've stayed here a number of times over the past 5 years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    53
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
44
44
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here one night for a business conference. I was pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous decorations and furnishings, extremely helpful and friendly staff, and very comfortable beds. I am rather picky about beds and pillows, and like a softer bed. The bed in the king standard room exceeded my expectations. There were lots of pillows to choose from on the bed, as is typical for a hotel. I particularly liked the down pillows, they were more comfortable than my usual pillows at home! The room I was in was not facing the river, but was extremely quiet. I stayed on the fourth floor and was right next to the elevator but never heard it once. All of the other guest rooms on the fourth floor were down the other hall. I did not eat at the onsite restaurant, but heard it's quite good. I did review their menu, the prices are a bit on the high side. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay and would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CMM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We decided to stay here, because we love the onsite restaurant, Kahills. We got the Valentine's package, which turned out to be a joke. We were supposed to have champagne & chocolates in the room - turned out to be 4 tiny squares of cake, not chocolates, and a dinky sample bottle of sparkling wine that was enough for by boyfriend and I to each have half a glass. I didn't expect good champagne, but I did expect a bigger bottle. The vending machines & ice didn't work on the 3rd floor. Hunted around 2nd floor and managed to get 2 CANS of pop but that was all we could get to work from that machine. Gave up.
The one nice thing about the room, was there was a little trap door window so we could get some fresh air in. That was a saving grace, because of the rinky-dink heating system - we would've been miserable otherwise. Wasn't a digital thermostat, wasn't a thermostat at all. Under a metal panel, you could choose from hot, cold and high, medium, or low. We set it on low and on the cool side, and it just pumped out hot air, but only in spots. Some parts of the room were cold, other parts were like an oven.
Bed was hard as a rock. With a lump in the middle. My boyfriend likes firm beds, but after an hour, he admitted he was uncomfortable. It hurt to even toss & turn because the bed was so hard and convex, I probably would've been better off on the floor. I don't know how many times I woke up in the night, and then had a sore back the next day. One of the worst nights sleep I've had.
We did check out the pool. There's a cool mural of a beach on one wall by the pool, and the pool was decent size. However, the floor dipped all the way around the pool between the pool and the wall with no drain, so there was just this dirty trench all the way around. I don't know if it's always that filthy, or if they hadn't cleaned the floor in awhile. But I'm guessing that dirty water was what was leaking into the hot tub, and leaving brown rings of suds in it - it was disgusting, and I've never seen a hot tub that dirty.
Overall, I'd NEVER stay here again. I expected more from a place like this, but it was lower quality than some dumpy motels on the interstate - seriously. I'd recommend the restaurant, but stay somewhere else for the night.

Room Tip: River-side view is worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ificouldonlyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
784 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This great hotel on the banks of the river has excellent facilities and felt very luxurious.
The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed and the quality of furnishings is excellent.
Staff were excellent and although I didn't try it the attached restaurant is supposed to be very good. For business or for a romantic stay this is a great place, also very well located near downtown Sioux City.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I've stayed in the Marina Inn before and been really impressed by the quality of the furniture, the decor, and most importantly, the rate. Having spent a LOT more for the right to stay in hotels that offer a LOT less, I think that you get a TON of hotel for the money.

I was disappointed this time, however, by the thermostat in my room. Not only did I struggle to find it -- it's an old school model hidden behind a metal panel -- but it wasn't responsive at all, making the room either ridiculously hot or ridiculously cold.

To be fair, I didn't call and ask to be moved to another room -- something I'm certain the receptive and kind hotel staff would have done without question -- but I did leave a little disappointed this time around.

Still a great value for the room rate, though.

Room Tip: If you can get a room rate that includes a complimentary breakfast at the hotel restaurant -- Kahill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wferriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our view was also awesome. Get a room facing the river! We also enjoyed some drinks in their very comfortable lounge and the employees working the bar were very nice. We would like to have eaten our meal at the onsite restaurant but all courses are ordered separately, making your meal very costly.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
584 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The rooms are comfy, it's a quiet place to sleep, they even have basic washing facilities. In the evening we had a stroll along the river bank and there was a beautiful sunset along the river. All in all a great rest stop after a long day of driving.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Sioux City
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux City Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Sioux City
0.5 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
Hard Rock Hotel Sioux City
#4 of 19 in Sioux City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux City
Holiday Inn Sioux City
#13 of 19 in Sioux City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.0 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites Sioux City
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sioux City South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 385 East 4th Street, South Sioux City, NE 68776
Region: United States > Nebraska > South Sioux City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Sioux City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a hotel or conference center in the Sioux City, Iowa area that offers the best in accommodations, service, dining, and meeting facilities, the Marina Inn Conference Center has it all. From our spectacular location, gracing the banks of the Missouri River, to the many amenities we offer, guests will find everything they need for an enjoyable stay within minutes of several destinations in the tri-state region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel South Sioux City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing