We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridculos liar/ hustler ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matelot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blanchisseuse Beach Resort and Laguna Nature Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 days and 2 of those was w/no running water. When I made my reservations, wife, Barbara called to make sure water was fixed! When I complained each day he said the h20,would come back up' Not! After 3rd day "pressure from village!! Fred refused to make any adjustments on bill paid $440tt/nite. 4 camping facilities. No shower/toilet. How r they
cooking..,,,hmmm! Love the beach and eddies paddle boat rental. Will do a dispute w/CC company when I return 2 states.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Debora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This resort is ideal for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. A group of us 8 in total spent 4 days there between the 19 - 22 June, 2014. The journey to the lodge is a long one and the roads are not the best. Although a 4x4 is preferable, cars get there without any problems. The logde is located along the main road just a couple minutes before the Mariane River. The main office and the restaurant are on the left and the lodges located on the slope to the right of the main road. Be mindful the lodge offers no phones in the rooms and cellphone reception is very very limited.

From inception the reception was excellent. Fred the owner is the warmest most inviting person you can meet. His wife though appears alot more businesslike. The rooms are very simple a bed. side tables, a small table in front, shower and toilet and a small closet area. Luckily the rooms are air conditioned and once the door is closed no need to worry about bugs. We stayed in the second odge which offered a fairly large deck area on the upper floor were we were able to hang out to late hours.The only real issue we had is the lodge is supplied water from its own reservoir and given it was a long weekend and the lack of rainfall the water supply shut of on our second day. We therefore had to purchase drinking water and be very innovative in the way we flushed the toilets. We were forced to bath in the Mariane River, alot more fun than we thought. The waters are crystal clear and shallow enough to be inviting to all and to rinse off with bottled water we bought.

The surrounds of the hotel remind one of a real eco setting. Enormous fruit [mango and pomerac] trees together with indigenous lumber surrounded the cabins. At night you can hear alot of insects and crickets. Across the road is a private road that leads to the beach. Although the water is not the best for bathing its an excellent area to see nesting turtles and hatch-lings. To the right side of the stretch of beach the Mariane meets the sea and the area is popular for bathers. There are also kayak an paddle boat rentals available there to add to the fun.

The lodge does not offer any kitchenette so it is advisable to pack readily eatable fooditems. There are shops a little distance away in the village. The restaurant however offers some divine dishes. The prices are on par with mid to upper class restaurants in the city but the food is excellent. The kitchen staff is limited so there is usually a little wait for food after orders are placed, but then again it goes with the laid back ambiance of the place.

Overall the lodge is ideal for those looking to get away from it all, to relax and unwind. It is ideal for friends and even family getaways and it is close enough to the beach. river, hiking trail to Paria and the village to make it the ideal place to stay in the area.Overall it was a great stay and even with the issues surrounding the water supply I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room on the upper level of the lodges offer a larger deck area and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelVialva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent the day on the beach, and had breakfast/lunch at the Lounge, food was great, Fred n staff was warm n welcoming, the patatoes pancakes are to for for, I'm sure the accommodation is jus a grand, def would stay there on my next summer vac.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brooklynspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Fred and his staff was great from the first phone call to our meeting always friendly and helpful had a great weekend the beach and river was beautiful had a very relaxing weekend the room was clean and big

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stargirlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here last night and could not have felt more welcome. Gottfried the owner was incredibly accommodating and helpful and entertained us during our meals.
The rooms were basic but for the price we were all very pleased. The beds were comfy and clean however the bathrooms were dated and tired yet clean.
Location was awesome. A 5 minute walk to a stunning beach where we watched turtles hatch after our meal. Lovely lagoon behind the beach to swim in. During the night we could hear the ocean and the noises of the jungles which we loved. A short walk to a great rickety bridge where you can get some great pictures.
Would thoroughly recommend for the price.

Room Tip: Upstairs balconies give a good tree top view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurat114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had a great time here. Incredibly welcoming reception and very helpful with accomodating a veggie for diner. there were 6 of us and we had three rooms together which meant a big balcony up in the trees where we could play cards and hangout together. We had a fantastic time walking down to see the turltes and the road was sparkling with fireflies. We saw baby turltes. The rooms were basic and the bathrooms were a bit past their best but for the price of £44 a night and for it being in the jungle and near the beach, we loved it. Thank you.

Room Tip: Top floor is up in the trees so a great place to see hummingbirds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had stayed at Laguna Mar for one night 8 years ago and had good memories. Unfortunately the place has really gone done hill. The room was dilapidated with missing/broken lights, rusty or dirty bathroom fixtures and lousy linens. It also smelled of insecticide. The nearby beach was covered with trash. The food was still decent but the owner should refrain from smoking when guests are eating. The nearby walks are great. Too bad.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ehn0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matelot
21.9 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
194 reviews
18.3 mi away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,282 reviews
40.1 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
186 reviews
28.1 mi away
The Chancellor Hotel
The Chancellor Hotel
#9 of 21 in Port of Spain
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blanchisseuse Beach Resort and Laguna Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blanchisseuse Beach Resort and Laguna Nature Lodge

Address: 1/2 Mile Marker 65 | Paria Main Road, Matelot, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Matelot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Price Range: £22 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Blanchisseuse Beach Resort And Laguna Nature Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing