We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ilchester Arms Hotel(Ilchester)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonshire Arms(Langport)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wessex Hotel(Street)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
73
28
13
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
28
13
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe barnstylish roomsmenu choicesbeautiful mealhakelovely old pubchristmas lunchcountry lanestayed here for one nightthe ground floorwet roombusiness tripmarqueemalbecsomersetwedding
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed on a recent Friday evening and met with a warm welcome before being shown to beautifully appointed rooms.tasteful and comfortable. The pub is superb with a good selection of ales, ciders etc and again service was friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant was xcellent and again service was brilliant. Fantastic nights sleep and great breakfast -a wonderful stop on our journey and highly recommended. really loved this place and the staff were fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meiskha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Found the place after a very lengthy drive , having been directed down a narrow country lane. Thought we had got lost but arrived there eventually. The chap in the reception was not particularly welcoming; polite but off-handed. He asked us if we wanted an evening meal, to which we replied that we would. The room was very well presented and clean but there was no soap in the bathroom and only one towel. When arriving for our (pre-booked) evening meal, the staff were unaware of any booking and did little to put us at ease as they went away to see if they could fit us in. Eventually, after standing around for quite a time (and being regarded by the rest of the clientelle as though we were trying to sell lucky white heather!) we were shown to a small, out of the way table in a discrete corner. Again, after a lengthy wait, our order was taken. Again, a lengthy wait until the meal arrived. Not what we ordered. Apologies and another wait while the staff corrected their mistake. The food, when it arrived, was meagre and poorly cooked. I had a pasta dish which was somewhat overcooked and my wife's offering was virtually raw, even for partridge. This was pointed out but the waiting staff merely said "OH, I'll mention it to the chef" and nothing further was done. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty but again, meagre portions although, unlike the previous evening, the staff actually seemed to know what they were doing and were friendly and chatty. All in all, our memories of our visit are those of indifferent/incompetent staff and, food (when correctly supplied!) that was of poor quality/quantity. All this from an establishment that was appreciably more expensive than any other of this type that we stayed in during our travels along the south coast and around the West Country. The only other that came anywhere near to being of such poor quality was a Premier Inn (almost as expensive) but at least they had an "all you can eat" breakfast!
In summation, the Red Lion could be a worthwhile stop if they rid themselves of their delusions of grandeur, trained their reception and restaurant staff, provided proper portions in the restaurant and charged a realistic sum for the service they provide. Would not recommend at all.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative accommodation provider.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Steve C,

Sorry it has taken so long to respond. I am sorry to hear about your visit, and that our staff came across so off hand. I'm sure it was nothing personal.

I am also sorry you were made to feel awkward when you arrived for your meal in the evening, again I'm sure this was unintentional, we do not go out of our way to make our customers feel unwelcome, and we also sit people where we have tables available, and do not tuck them away in discrete corners ?
In reference to your food, I did check with the staff on duty that evening, and they were under the impression that when asked if everything was ok, you never mentioned overcooked, or raw ?

I would also like to defend ourselves and say we do not have 'delusions of grander' as you put it, we are a small independently owned rural pub ( hence your lengthy drive down a country lane) , trying our best to offer a good service, a restful night sleep, and a tasty meal, and not a Premiere Inn !

I'm sorry you felt you had to write such a long bad review on this site , and that if everything was as bad as you say, that you didn't ask to speak to us the owners when you were there , when we could have done something about it ? We are very approachable, and could possibly something about you list of grievances.

I'm sorry we won't be seeing you again, but unfortunately we can't be right for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My new wife and I were looking for a nice place for lunch to break up a journey. We rang ahead to a couple of other pubs just before 2pm to be told they had stopped serving. The Red Lion on the other hand said they would make sure the chef kept the kitchen open for us. We had a lovely meal of steak for me and a Ploughman's for my wife. The service was attentive and cheerful and despite our late arrival we were spoilt and not at all hurried. I couldn't recommend a visit enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TinselRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Tinsel IRN,

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that the staff looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We found this lovely country pub via a Secret Escapes offer and stayed here on the way to our holiday in Devon, it is a very rural spot, we would never have just found it by chance!
We had a large room in a new building adjacent to the original old pub, it was well appointed with quality fittings and linens etc, the tea tray had fresh milk in a flask and homemade biscuits.
We were pleased to see how busy the pub was on a Sunday evening which led us to hope we were going to have a good meal - we did, delicious Belly pork, Lamb Shank, quality bread and wonderful homemade icecream with very intense flavours.
Our Breakfast was all locally sourced including homemade jam.
The staff were all helpful and friendly, we would return as as detour again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear nwspm,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip down to the West Country.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Room very nice and clean on arrival, no soap in bathroom for wash basin. Problem with the people up stairs as they had a route march round their room every morning starting at 6.30am!!!
First meal on the Friday was great except for the warm white wine. We had friends join us on Saturday we had to wait 40mins for starter. Overall meal was excellent.
On Monday we returned and found our room had not been serviced. The girl at the bar brought us fresh towels and crockery, milk etc.,
On leaving when settling the bill, someone else's meal had been added to our account.
Not sure we will come back, no real apology. Would have liked a discount of sorts, a round of drinks on Saturday, money off the bill, anything that would have softened the blow of our
experience. Thought the nightly rate was a bit high

Room Tip: Not all rooms have purpose showers. Eg Room 2 has a bath and hand held shower.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare G, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Phyllis D,

I was sorry to read your two reviews on the Pub, as I know you spoke to my husband on the morning of your departure, and maybe at the time did not make him aware of how many problems you had, had.
After reading your in house review comments left in your room, I was surprised to hear so many negatives? after all your positive feedback ?

We do try rectify problems people might have there and then, but unless we are made aware, we cannot offer compensation.
We are sorry you felt you needed to air your complaints online, but that is your prerogative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews