We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The pub thats more like a Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Babcary B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The pub thats more like a Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This beautifully renovated country pub retains all the authentic period charm and authentic features of a traditional country pub. Whilst the accommodation provided is absolutely 5 star, luxurious beds and bedding and large bathrooms and showers.

Breakfast is delicious all local produce and dinner wholesome and tasty too.

Room Tip: Ask for the family rooms upstairs in the barn as they are extra spacious and eat in the restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    27
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a nice pub om a lovely location (great beer garden) and I would recommend it but for the price of soft drinks. I stopped off at a lunch time with 3 kids, had 4 soft drinks and some chips. £10 for 4 soft drinks hurts and it will make me chose an alternative next time. I doesnt halp that they only have soft drinks in bottles and not on draft - you get used to this is restaurants but this is a pub that does food at the end of the day.

Perhaps I am not the type of customer that they are aiming for so I wont hurry back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3childfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I don't think the hotel website does this place justice. I booked it not knowing what I was going to find but as soon as we arrived and were shown to our room I was happy! The rooms (I think all of them) are located in a new/refurbished building adjacent to the original Inn and they are beautifully decorated in a contemporary country chic style. The room was very spacious with a modern stylish bathroom... all incredibly immaculate. We had dinner at the Inn and the food was good and the atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and buzzy. The service was friendly and attentive. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a meal with friends here this weekend and were very disappointed with the standard of service and of the food itself. Initially, we were kept waiting for 20 minutes before menus arrived and were not offered water or other drinks during this time. Finally we ordered but when the food arrived it was incorrect and one person had to eat a meal she hadn't ordered. The standard of the food was very average - steak was only just warm and not flavoursome. One of the waitresses admitted that she knew nothing about the wine. Generally the service was slow and we repeatedly had to request further drinks and water. Shame, because the pub is characterful and has a good atmosphere - !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for the New Year Celebrations with a group of friends and had a wonderful time. We received a very warm welcome on arrival which set the mood for our stay. The rooms are amazing, I would love to copy the style for my bedroom at home. The food was really good too, as was the service, in fact it was hard to fault around. I would definitely recommend a stay here especially if meeting up with friends. A Big thank you to Sue and her staff for making it a great New Year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I come from the area and know the locale very well.

the old pub has oodles of character - the new rooms in the converted barn are very tastefully done - the area is quiet but with very good access, whether it is to Yeovil, Dorset, Bath, Wells etc. The staff are always helpful and make you fel as though you are a long-standing regular, so any request is met pleasantly and dealt with very well.

As a property person, i would be slightly critical of the 'snagging' on the new rooms, but that is something the main contractor should be doing and is not the hotels responsibility.

Room Tip: Numbers 5 & 6 are good ones to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perrystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This one ticks all the boxes.
Lovely vibe, warm friendly welcome, good drinks, amazing food that could attract a more premium price, with quick and pleasant service.

And the homemade raspberry ripple ice-cream has probably ruined me for life.... don't think I'll ever find better so will definitely be coming back.

Oh - and very dog friendly too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rw5373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babcary
4.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms
Devonshire Arms
#1 of 2 in Langport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castle Cary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
4.6 mi away
The White Hart Somerton
The White Hart Somerton
#1 of 11 in Somerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: Main Street, Babcary TA11 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Babcary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Babcary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Inn, Babcary - a beautiful thatched country pub in the heart of this unspoilt Somerset village.Pubs have always been at the heart of the local community and The Red Lion is no exception. As well as six en-suite rooms, a flagstoned bar and award winning restaurant, we also have a function room that overlooks a pretty courtyard garden and provides an ideal venue for weddings and parties. We offer a range of catering options and have our own marquee.Our team are handpicked for their personality, professionalism and ability to provide first class customer care. Wherever possible, we use local suppliers so that we can offer our customers fresh, locally sourced produce. Our role in the community is important to us and we take every opportunity to reduce our impact on the environment and our neighbourhood.Conveniently situated five minutes off the A303 and A37 The Red Lion is a perfect stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing