We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalqueich Framhouse B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalqueich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalqueich Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalqueich B&B and Inns
Brownwood, Texas
2 reviews
“Dalqueich Framhouse B&B”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

WOW! What a treat to get to stay in one of the best B&B's ever. Coming from Texas and enjoying this beautiful country and friendly people. Bob and Helen take great pride in making sure their guests are comfortable and well fed even if they are staying for only one night or several. After a most delicious breakfast you won't be hungry again until dinner. The homemade bread, homemade jams, tons of fresh fruit, and eggs, bacon and sausage were wonderful. The beautiful dining room and relaxing music were exquisite bonuses. Bob and Helen are very informative about Scotland and were gracious enough to give us lots of tips on where to go and what to see. You will love the peaceful farm setting with gardens and animals everywhere. If we are ever in Scotland again this will be a "must" place to stay. Will definitely recommend to our American friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobmaria6594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Hi Bob & Maria,
We're really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Scotland, and found the suggestions we made useful for visiting Edinburgh and the Tattoo.
We hope that you can come back sometime and we can talk some more about the land and good food!
With thanks for the review, and kind regards from us all.
Helen, Bob and Bertie dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow,Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My husband and I randomly found this place on google maps, when we were looking for a place to stay near Edinburgh. Once we entered the house, we felt very cosy and comfy. The rooms were very clean, bright and quite spacious.The hosts, Helen&Bob were just great. Helen served the greatest breakfast I've ever had: it was not only about the variety of food( omlets,porridge, cottage cheese, berries, homemade jams etc) but the whole entourage around it( the great dining room with exquisite serving and relaxing music) . I would say I felt similarly treated only in the most delux hotels.
My husband is grateful to Bob for his whisky tasting and introduction into different kind of whiskey specific. Aftert the great evening of whiskey tasting my husband amazed many people in Scotland bars with his expertise in whiskey...
Helen, Bob, we are glad you are on tripadvisor now and we have a chance to say: Thank you for all your care and delicious jams that we brought home in Moscow. Hope to be back some day!
Natalia&Vova

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hi Natalia and Vova,
Thank you for the kind review. Since you stayed, last winter, we have made improvements and now have lighting all the way up the drive- so no need to use the phone as a torch when you arrive in the dark !! If your husband wants a good, up-to-date book on Scotch Whisky then Bob would recommend "Whiskypedia" by Charles MacLean. It was shown to us by three guests from Norway, they had bought a copy at Talisker Distillery, on Skye, and Bob thinks it's pretty good as a guide to the current malts on sale. It's available on Amazon.
Hope to see you again if you're ever this way.
"Haste ye back".
Sláinte!
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Thank you Helen for agreeing to a very late request (due to late arrangement for meetings nearby) and making the room available on a "day off". We very much enjoyed staying with you and appreciated the high standard of both accommodation and food.
Our only regret was needing to leave so early in the morning and not having time to eat more of the delicious homemade bread.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - maybe next time you will have time to enjoy a more leisurely breakfast. Kind regards, Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed in Dalqueich only for 1 night, and it is a pity we could'n stay any longer. This beautiful place is ideally situated to explore the kingdom of Fife. We enjoyed a lot the place! The rooms of this old Victorian house are furnished very tastefully (overlooking their amazing garden), and you can find there all what you need - from tea and snacks to ironing board... We loved a lot the sitting room, filled with the sense of real people living in it (you can sometimes find quite a lot of immitation in other B&Bs). A wide range of books shows intellingence and broad-mindedness of hosts. We wish we could stay longer to read some of them! The breakfast was just fitted for kings, and that's exactly how we felt after it - smoked salmon and eggs of their own hens (or a wide choice of other meals to choose from),delicious home-made bread (you can really see Bob enjoys cooking it!), fresh local berries, fruits, all kinds of jams - it just couldn't be better! And, yes, we loved the garden - flourishing, abundant, even a bit wild, a lot of shady areas to relax, but very tastefully done - a perfect example of Scottish gardening. Again, what a pity we couldn't spend more time there. Just like in the "secret garden" near the river that Bob showed us. And we liked a lot little "B&B guests" in the hut near the house - orphan pheasant-babies that they found and now take care of them. Thank you, Helen and Bob, for your hositality!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Hi Lina,
Thanks for the review, we really enjoyed your company (as did our other guests from France-Luc & Emilie), and we do know where Lithuania is (Bob spent a time in Estonia- close, on an ecology project)!
The world comes to our door, which is delightful. We get to share experiences, history and geography, great fun.
We hope we can offer just a flavour of Scotland's rich heritage and wonderful countryside, and would love to see you again.
Kind regards
Helen , Bob and cheeps from the pheasant orphans (quite big now!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed for five nights at the Dalqueich farmhouse. Helen and Bob are warm-welcoming, considerate and kind. They are great advisors too. Thanks to them we discovered some wonderful coastal villages, walking paths, restaurants, ... The room is really comfortable and so is the sitting room and you can borrow a big amount of DVDs and books for your cocooning evenings. The garden is beautiful ans so is the house. And, finally, the best : the breakfasts. So much choice of fruits, cereals, breakfast menu,... And all of it tastes so good. The bread is home made and is different every morning, the marmelades and jams too. Perfect. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Hi Luc and Emilie,
Thanks for the generous review. We are really delighted that you found a lot of interest in the area and extended your stay. We also both enjoy cooking and it's really rewarding when guests enjoy what we can provide. Your company was excellent and we would be delighted to welcome you back anytime.
Kind regards, Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After a week's birdwatching further north, we booked this farmhouse for our last night on the way back home. What a lovely surprise!

This seems to be more than a B & B. Everything we could have wanted was there for us and the attention to detail was second to none. The farmhouse is truly lovely and welcoming, with lovely gardens. Bob and Helen looked after us so well and the food was delicious - the best breakfast we have ever had!!

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone wanting an uplifting stay in Scotland. Bedrooms and facilities 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thanks for the kind review, so glad you enjoyed your visit. Since you stayed we have adopted a couple of orphan pheasants- we put something on the blog about them. Meanwhile, the kingfishers have been pretty shy- seen by guests more than us; maybe it's the weather which has been cool and damp. We would love to see you all again. Kind Regards, Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Great location, Bob and Helen are super friendly tending to our every need and making us feel very welcome. House and gardens are wonderful, our room was immaculate with everything you might need during your stay. We even had a comfortable sitting room fully equipped with all the home comforts including a vast collection of books and DVD's. The food is the best we have ever had. lots of home made preserves, bread, yoghurts etc. We would definately recommend this place to anyone and look forward to returning again next time we visit Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaandEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for the generous review and we hope to see you again.
The pheasant chick orphans have now been moved to luxury accomodation in the new shed and are growing fast-we will put a photo and comment on the blog!

Kind regards, Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalqueich
0.0 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kinross
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Kinross M90 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelson Lodge
Kelson Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kinross
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalqueich Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalqueich Farmhouse

Property: Dalqueich Farmhouse
Address: Bridge House Dalqueich Dalqueich FARM | Kinross, Dalqueich, Kinross KY13 0RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross > Dalqueich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalqueich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalqueich Farmhouse is a restored traditional farmhouse in a lovely rural setting, yet convenient for motorway and airport. Accommodation is spacious and of a high quality. Guests have the use of a sitting room (where they can learn about Scotch whisky from an expert!) And the conservatory (winter garden) and eat in the elegant dining room (home-made bread and prize winning marmalades feature). Two rooms are available, an en-suite family room with a double and a single bed and a double room with king size bed and adjoining private shower-room. Set in spacious gardens it is a wildlife paradise with red squirrels, and kingfishers amongst its visitors. Wild deer are commonly seen as are a wide range of birds - both native and migrating. Walking, cycling, and golf can all be enjoyed locally and the Loch Leven Heritage trail has become immensely popular. A great place for touring, with Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling and Glasgow and the beautiful Fife coast and the Highlands all within easy reach (as well as malt distilleries!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing