We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home, but you're on holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalqueich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalqueich Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalqueich B&B and Inns
Lija, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like home, but you're on holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Staying at Bob and Helen's is just one of those experiences that you want to have over and over again. They leave nothing to chance, the rooms are equipped with anything you may need up to the minutest detail. Anything you enquire about is met with genuine interest and they go out fo their way to help you make your stay and holiday the best possible. Travel books are available in abundance, as are reading books, dvds, and the like. Their breakfast is exquisite, not to mention their award winning jams, which make you want to try them again and again. Everything is genuine, fresh, and absolutely delicious. We particularly liked the fact that we were made so comfortable within a short span of time. The quaint conservatory, the beautiful flowers, the garden...it all made it a great escape from our busy lives. Thank you Bob and Helen, we will be back!

Room Tip: Dalquiech has two rooms available - one double with an adjacent bathroom, and one double with anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay - we don't get many travellers from Malta, which is a terrific place with so much to offer.
Come back anytime, we'd love to see you again soon.
Kindest regards
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The house is located nearby the motorway on our way from Hull tot the Scottisch Highlands
A romantic house in a wildgarden , with his own little river!
Our guests were very friendly and " served " us like princes!
The room is lovely decorated as is the rest of the house.
The diner and breakfast were even more superb!
We brought some homemade marmelade with us to remember our stay at Dalqueich Farmhouse.
Helen and Bob described the region and made us curious to come back and stay longer
Thank you so much, Helen and Bob!
Adèle and Paul, Brugge, Belgium

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelenaeyaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hi, Thank you for the great review, Kinross is a great place to stop by on the way further North, and as you found, there is a lot to see and do nearby. Over the last year or two we have found a lot more come to stay in the area having arrived in Hull or Newcastle by ferry- it's just a nice ditance away for the next stop.
We do hope you enjoy the marmalade- it travels the world with our guests, and we'd love to see you again.
Best regards
Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat of Garten, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I found Dalqueich from a recommendation from a friend and would certainly recommend this B and B to everyone. I arrived after a hard and wet day dog training to a lovely welcome from Helen and Bob. Tea and cake was ready for me when I arrived and much appreciated. Bertie the spaniel then gave my dog, Mos a lovely welcome also and tired her out a bit more for me. Then with Mos and myself were relaxing in the lounge Helen brought me wine! the room was perfect with a private bathroom beside with an amazing shower. Superb breakfast the next morning which well and truly set me up for the next day training - Helen even made me a packed lunch with a sausage for Mos. I left with a couple of jars of amazing homemade marmalade definitely worth getting some. Very relaxed and friendly service from a couple that couldn't do enough for me.Thank you Helen, Bob and Bertie. I don't think you could find anywhere better to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your comments, which mean a lot to us; you and Mos were the perfect house guests!
Bertie really enjoyed playing with Mos and missed her when you left.
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay and hope to see you and Mos again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth Pride of the south
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Found this B&B by chance looking for somewhere to stop after visiting Edinburgh for the day and enroute to the Highlands. We found it easily from the instructions and arrived to discover Helen in the garden. She not only recommended somewhere to eat that evening but also booked as it was already 5.30.
Our room was pretty and had everything you could wish for. The double room has a private shower room next to it and this had all the things you could possibly need.
We slept like logs and went down to the most amazing breakfast. We chose smoked haddock rarebit, there was fruit, home made yogurt, home made bread and the most amazing selection of marmalade and jams (award winning ones).
The welcome given to us and the kindness shown was second to none. We felt like we'd been visiting with friends who were fab cooks and hosts. If you get the chance go (and make a fuss of Bertie the spaniel for us). Will definitely be back. Oh and don't go without buying your jar of marmalade!

Room Tip: They're both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galsgottheblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Hi, and thank you for the prompt and generous review.
Nice to cook and have such appreciative guests, we think that a leisurely, relaxed breakfast is one of the great pleasures of being on holiday.
Please visit again, your knowledge of birds is impressive and we love to learn more and share our local experiences (though we have yet to see any of the Sea Eagles released in Fife).
Kind regards,
Helen, Bob & Bertie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Dalqueich Farmhouse is by far the best B&B we have ever had. Helen and Bob are the most friendly people I have ever met, and they do like to pamper you in their wonderfull house!

The cosy rooms, great showers and bathrooms, the really DELICIOUS breakfast wih the best marmelades, jam's and jammalades of the world (they officially are!) .

Being 'Dalqueished' is a very nice experience!

Helen and Bob, thanks for all that, we will be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Try them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koosvanleeuwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for the review, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed all your trip.

Nice to chat and compare gardening, food ideas and recipes - your recipe for mango and ginger jam is delicious, and thank you for letting us put it on our website blog.

Hope to see you in the autumn when Drummond Castle Gardens will be well worth visiting.

Kind Regards, Helen & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at Dalqueich and I was pleasantly surprised that it was even better than the first time that we stayed.

The welcome was genuinely warm - Helen let us relax in the lounge and lit the wood fire for us to relax in front of.

The room was comfortable and cosy. It is one of the best night's sleep that I can remember - maybe it was the fresh country air or just the overall feeling of relaxation. Whatever it was, I woke the next day feeling great.

I went down for breakfast the next morning slightly concerned that the breakfast may not be as good as my memories of the year before. I need not have worried.

The fresh breads, jams and marmalades were just brilliant. If Helen has any left, ask to try her amazing, gold award winning marmalade.

The cooked breakfast set us up for the day and the interesting company of other guests made for a lovely, relaxing breakfast.

Overall, I wish that Trip Advisor allowed me to offer more than 5 stars - Dalqueich is certainly worth it and its excellence is the reason that I have already booked my room there for next year! My biggest quandary now is can I find a good excuse to go back before then.......

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tildaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We are looking forward to your next visit and catch up with the news!
We're glad that you feel so relaxed, we really enjoy your company. We are just starting to make some more of the prize-winning marmalade- eight jars of jams and marmalades left for Holland with guests this morning:so we need to catch up as stocks are running low!
Thank you for posting the reviews, very kind of you.
Kindest regards, Helen, Bob & Bertie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, tr
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Dalqueich is conveniently located to catch an early flight at Edinburgh Airport, so we used it as a last stopover coming down from the Highlands. That is a pity, as it would have deserved so much more of our time to enjoy its every corner.
It is indeed a lovely, lovely home, and you feel welcome from the first moment. Helen and Bob's effort in making you feel at ease goes well beyond professional care and make you feel that they are really enjoying your presence there, and are proud to show you the details of their home.
And the details are really delightful: with only two rooms, they can personalize them at best, and ours was wonderfully warm and luminous (and impeccably clean). The night tables were packed full of children literature, for the happiness of our little one. She would have leafed through all of them if she hadn't been so busy tormenting Helen and Bob for a chat, as if she had just gained two more grandpas. The comfort in which she moved around the house shows how much she felt at home (and she is only five).
The lucky guests at Dalqueich do not just enjoy their beautiful room: they also have a sitting room at their disposal (again with books and games and teddy bears), a large and airy conservatory, and a warm and cozy dining room for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast itself is a highlight (one of the many of the place), as it is a pleasure to taste fresh fruit, jams and yoghurt after one week of scottish breakfasts (Helen and Bob provide that too, of course: blood sausage and puddings for the adventurous).
And of course there is the garden: the soft carpet of grass of the front garden, and the wonderful confusion of trees and spice plants at the back, with benches overlooking a small river which must be a joy to sit on in warmer weather (the nature is so wild around Dalqueich that we saw a deer in the fields while getting out at night).
And then there is Bertie, which was a lot of fun for our daughter to play with, as warm and welcoming as his owners.

All in all, we really should have planned at least a couple of nights to exploit all the perks of this wonderful little place, and to enjoy the company of Helen, Bob and Bertie. We will certainly do so in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yudhisthira70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen P, Owner at Dalqueich Farmhouse, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it means alot to us that you felt so relaxed on your last day in Scotland.
We hope you can make it back here someday. Bertie never forgets good friends and would love to get to know you all better and enjoy more playtime (so that others can see, we put a photo’ of him on this Tripadvisor page)! A lot of our guests return to see more of this undiscovered area which is also an excellent base for touring.
With your love of gardens you would enjoy visiting some of those open around here. Drummond Castle Gardens are lovely, especially in the autumn, with wonderful colours. Perthshire is also historically renowned for its plant collectors and large specimen trees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalqueich
0.0 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kinross
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Windlestrae Hotel
Windlestrae Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnbank Kinross
Burnbank Kinross
#1 of 10 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelson Lodge
Kelson Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalqueich Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalqueich Farmhouse

Property: Dalqueich Farmhouse
Address: Bridge House Dalqueich Dalqueich FARM | Kinross, Dalqueich, Kinross KY13 0RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross > Dalqueich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalqueich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalqueich Farmhouse is a restored traditional farmhouse in a lovely rural setting, yet convenient for motorway and airport. Accommodation is spacious and of a high quality. Guests have the use of a sitting room (where they can learn about Scotch whisky from an expert!) And the conservatory (winter garden) and eat in the elegant dining room (home-made bread and prize winning marmalades feature). Two rooms are available, an en-suite family room with a double and a single bed and a double room with king size bed and adjoining private shower-room. Set in spacious gardens it is a wildlife paradise with red squirrels, and kingfishers amongst its visitors. Wild deer are commonly seen as are a wide range of birds - both native and migrating. Walking, cycling, and golf can all be enjoyed locally and the Loch Leven Heritage trail has become immensely popular. A great place for touring, with Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling and Glasgow and the beautiful Fife coast and the Highlands all within easy reach (as well as malt distilleries!). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing