We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Beatty”
Review of The Atomic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atomic Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Beatty”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I decided to stay at the Atomic Inn based upon other TripAdvisor reviews; I'm glad I did. It's one block off of the main highway so there is very little street traffic. My large room (#4) was clean, quiet and well appointed (flat screen television, DVD, microwave, refrigerator and a good wall air conditioner that blew cold air). The king sized bed was comfortable and the bed linens and blankets were fresh. The shower unit came with liquid body wash, which was a nice touch considering how the hot and dry summer climate in this area can desiccate one's skin. All of this came at a price that one would expect to pay for a small, featureless room at Motel 6. The retro look of the Atomic Inn has character; something you won't find at a chain motel. If I am in the area again, I will most definitely stay at the Atomic Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atomic08, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Please stay with us again - 'Retro Cool' is a lot better than 'Big Box' that is for sure. We hear that 70% or more travelers are looking for a 'historical or cultural experience' in their travels. The Atomic Inn is a great place to find just exactly that - hopefully our Atomic Era Museum will be up and running next time you come by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    124
    76
    46
    56
See reviews for
72
165
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 17 and was completely satisfied with the room, the owners and the location.

The room was large and clean with a very comfortable bed. Had a flat screen and a desk. The bathroom was spotless.

The room was outfitted with some cool posters and some new but retro light fixtures.

I stay 150 nights a year in hotels and I would not think twice about coming back to the atomic inn.

Great way to get acquainted with the park when coming from the west is to drive through the park and take a few side tours and end up at zabruskie point for sunset then drive the pass to the hotel. The next day you can go back to the park and see ryovite ghost town and Scotty castle.



  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Db0340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We keep our rooms very clean. We like to keep our guests happy and comfortable. This hotel is definitely a great location on the way to Death Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Great location near to Death Valley and Rhyolite, the Atomic Inn was really good value. Ask for the newly remodelled rooms, which seem to face front on 1st Street, rooms 1-6. Room was spacious and clean. Loved the atomic-era decor, soviet posters and USAF jet prints! Borrow a 50s sci-fi classic from the front desk and admire the geiger counter on display when you check-in! The Bob Lazar-autographed antigravity drive poster on display was sweet! The website promises a movie drive-in later in 2012. Hope that happens. I loved our stay there

I loved the theme - seems like the proprietors are continuing the transition from the place's previous incarnation as the Phoenix Inn. When all the signage is changed it will no doubt be even more distinctive. Pretty relaxing to have a cold beer on the decking out front after a hot day in DV, watching the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rb0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen J, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Yes, the Atomic Inn prides itself on being the only boutique hotel in the Death Valley region. We are not a "big box" experience, we are unique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Being "snowbirds", we travel through Nevada twice a year and Beatty is pretty much a halfway point from Las Vegas to Reno (and not much in between). It's a small town with few accomodations, but years ago we discovered the Atomic Inn, a block off the main highway, and we always stay there.
As retirees, the price is what first attracted us, and the fact that it was always clean. The staff is friendly and helpfull. But through the years we have appreciated all their efforts to upgrade this motel. The rooms have been refurbished, are not only clean and comfortable, but have a fun decor. "Men in Black" would fit right in here.They have improved the grounds also. In this economy it is nice to see a business not only put their money into upkeep, but also into improvements, and they've been doing a great job. I've always recommended this place to friends and relatives who appreciate a good value, and have never heard any negative comments about their stay there. So for people traveling to or through this old west small town, and don't want a boring, generic "this could be anywhere" chain motel, stop at this privately owned friendly place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen J, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Beatty is probably the best value and quality location between Las Vegas and Reno. We really pride ourselves on being clean, quiet, affordable and offeriing all the modern conveniences a traveler has come to expect these days like free wi-fi, sattelite channels, and a touch of designer decor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Took a group to the Atomic Inn recently and was really impressed by the quality of the room and the low rate. My group was hiking all day and needed a place to meet up and lay their heads. The managers at the Atomic Inn were really accommodating and made sure we were able to book rooms close together and listened to our every need. Would recommend this place to anyone who likes a nice and moderate room and an independently owned one at that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles & Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen J, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
As an independently owned hotel, we are more accomodating to our guests than chain hotels. We are very attentive to the every need of our guests. We are a modern motel with a 50s retro theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

If you imagine a scene from the Simpsons where Mayor Quimby goes to the desert to spot UFOs, you might indeed find him at this little seedy location.

There isn’t much choice around these parts for tourists wanting to visit Death Valley and so we chose this place thinking it seemed the nicest (as well as being reasonably priced) one around. The website had some nice images of the rooms, and as it had just been “re-vamped”, we decided to give it a shot.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by some older guy and a younger guy who clearly have some kind of passion with aliens and UFOs. However, we were not put off. They were very helpful, really chatty and really helpful in providing us with info about Death Valley. They were the best bit about this place by a long way! In fact, they reminded me of Bill and Ted, just a shame it was such a bogus adventure that we had there!

We got the key to our ‘deluxe’(!) room, which had apparently just been cleaned. Great!

We entered our room (which could easily pass as a trailer), and it felt like I had just stepped foot into a 1970s horror classic. Dim lighting, boiling hot and very dirty. There were pubic hairs on the bed sheets, dirt all over the carpets and bed sheets, and blood on the bed sheets. We even took it upon ourselves to clean the room.

Awful night’s sleep as it was so disgusting. We used towels for duvets and sheets as they were the only clean thing we had. We left as early as we could the next day to get out of this dump.

Definitely belongs in the X-files.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_boy_called_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atomicinnmanager, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
This is an upsetting review as it is false. Our rooms are cleaned and inspected every day. The carpets are vacuumed and shampooed, the linens are cleaned and sanitized. If the room was a little warm, there is a wonderful invention called the air conditioner that is so easy to turn and make the room nice and cool in no time. We have great rooms that are quiet and comfortable. Stop by and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beatty hotels

Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

On the last leg of a weeklong Nevada Roadtrip, The Atomic Inn proved a perfect synthesis of the journey. The lobby is a little rough around the edges; like a Silver State highball. Stirred, not shaken. But the room (no. 4 to be exact) was a mid-century modern marvel! Our sparkling, swinging pad was Rat Pack worthy and fitted with a handy refrigerator and hairdryer. The Cosmonaut prints reminded us that we were just barely on the legal side of the Nevada Test Site.

The web advertised designer coffee and pastries have vaporized, but while you're in the lobby turn to your right a little . . . it's an autographed print of Bob Lazar's Area 51 antigravity propulsion system!!! ***One Bonus Life***

The friendly host encouraged my boyfriend and I to select from the (free) library of films to take back to our room. They include, but are not limited to:

- 50s Horror/Sci-Fi
- Spaghetti Westerns
- Don Knotts in The Reluctant Astronaut ***One Million Gold***

It's true: the tv is a bit small and the walls a tad thin, but when was the last time you drifted off to sleep in the desert to an Ennio Morricone score - surrounded by vintage teak and beveled mirrors, no less?

Beatty's bars and restaurants are situated just 100 yards down the street. For local flavor and brews, give the Sourdough Saloon a whirl.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a remodeled room on the street side. It'll run about $60.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reno_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen J, Manager at The Atomic Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
We're probably the only motel in the country where you can rent out a copy of classic films you probably haven't seen in twenty years. Ranging from Gidget and Elvis, to 007, The Duke and even Barbarella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atomic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atomic Inn

Property: The Atomic Inn
Address: 350 South First Street, Beatty, NV 89003 (Formerly the Phoenix Inn)
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Atomic Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atomic Inn is a newly remodeled retro-themed motel located only 6 miles from the Death Valley National Park entrance. All rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. Many rooms now have flat screen televisions and DVD players. NEW - Now the only motel in the area with dial from your room room service - order some popcorn and root beer to go along with your movie. NEW - DVD rentals and popular board games available for check out at the front desk! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atomic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atomic Hotel Beatty
The Phoenix Hotel Atomic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing