We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Pioneertown, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very nice motel. Everything is immaculate even though the motel is quite old. Very quiet and with a lovely pool. Sheets and beds very comfortable indeed. Our host was helpful and pleasant. Highly recommend if you're visiting Death Valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pioneertowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    42
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
99
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

There aren't many good choices to stay in Beatty.

The Death Valley Inn has the best looking room & pool. The front desk is rude & not helpful. The rooms have a strong odor and the doors are not secure.

The El Portal is not as fancy room. But the front desk is very nice & helpful. They allowed me to check in early in morning & bring my dog at no extra cost. The rooms do not smell & the doors are lockable. I also like the old fashioned key instead of a card to get inside the room. All of the rooms are ground floor & near parking lot.

I have never stayed at Stagecoach so I can't comment on that. They do have a Denny's. But I don't like smoky casino.

If I needed to stay in Beatty for more than 1 night, I would stay @ Exchange Club. It has a nice room, closer to restaurants & gas station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarajonevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is an excellent place to stay when visiting Death Valley. The cost is less than half of what you'd pay by staying in the Park. It's not the Ritz, but it's very comfortable.

PROS:
Quiet - from room 21 we couldn't hear road noise. The next room was occupied for the three nights we were there, but we never heard the neighbors.

Room size: larger than most.

Clean: an older property, but everything was spotlessly clean.

Everything works: the Wifi, microwave and fridge worked well and the fridge's compressor was almost silent. Don't know about the heat, AC and TV because we didn't use them.

Management: excellent, helpful management. We asked for extra plastic cups and they left 10 of them.

Beds: comfortable.

Towels: still had plenty of life in them, not the threadbare towels often found in budget motels.

CONS: a 35 minute drive to Stovepipe Wells or Furnace Creek. But the drive is gorgeous and the extra gas costs much less than the additional cost of staying in the Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in a room in the front building. The room was very old, but huge. Everything worked, and the sheets were crisp and clean. That's all we needed, and it fit the bill perfectly - especially for the price. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, along with a small kitchen table with chairs. If you want to take the family on vacation but can't spend enormous amounts of money on lodging, this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conniefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our room would have been a good value anywhere, but it seemed even more so in comparison with the lodging inside Death Valley National Park. Beatty is only about 35 miles from Stovepipe Wells, and our room was cheaper by a factor of almost 3 relative to Stovepipe Wells and a factor of more than 5 relative to Furnace Creek. It was also enormous, even for two people and two bicycles. There was a desk with plenty of space to spread out a computer and papers, plus two comfortable upholstered chairs in addition to the desk chair. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and everything worked fine--fridge, microwave, wi-fi, plumbing, large (but not flat screen) TV, lights. They gave us more soap and shampoo and towels than we knew what to do with. The motel is an old-fashioned mom-and-pop style place, which was fine with us. The only minus for us was the lack of an ice machine.

Beatty is, of course, a tiny place. Restaurants are limited to a 24-hour Denny's inside a casino, a handful of establishments that style themselves as saloons, and Mel's Diner (excellent breakfast and lunch, but no dinner.) There are two gas stations ("Eddie World" with a Subway sandwich shop and ice cream counter, the "Rebel" with a local deli.) Eddie World also has a large, rather ideosyncratic nut/candy/souvenir store that must be seen to be believed. The town also has one very small market, "Beatty Mercantile", with groceries and hardware; we were told that residents drive to Pahrump (a long way!) for supermarket shopping.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank bicycledude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We walked in to this motel and stayed one night on the way to Death Valley. The room was basic but clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean with hot water running and wifi worked fine. This was all we needed. No complaints, especially for the price we have paid. If you are just after a clean room for sleep, I would recommend it

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bahadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location for Death Valley and faultless value for money. Clean, good size room, but very basic. But you expect that for what you pay for, perfectly adequate though.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.4 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#4 of 6 in Beatty
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
321 reviews
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Property: El Portal Motel
Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing