We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and old, but clean”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A rustic place to stay, nearest to Death Valley. The place is old, but well taken care of. The hot water never got really hot, just warm. Otherwise it was a suitable place to stay for the price. It was winter, the summer temperature would most likely make the water hotter, or more comfortable to shower in. Nice for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chacochaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

No complaints here. Stayed here during an epic trade show road trip across the US. Great value, the rooms were clean, and the staff was nice. If I pass through Beatty, NV again, I'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is older, but is kept up well, the parking areas, sidewalks and buildings are clean and freshly painted. Can't beat the rate of $50.. The clerk is such a nice man, he appears to be a one man show; check in, cleaning, repair ... He was busy busy, but greeted us both times we came back to the motel. We had a motor home and he came out to guide us and show us where he wanted us to park. The room was clean, didn't have any odor and has a 70's funky charm. Nothing fancy, but funky layout and plenty of room and plug ins. It is also clearly locally owned, not like the other hotels in town. We had stayed at the Death Valley Inn the night before for a lot more money--- the El Portal is a better choice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Sunall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The wife and I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Arizona through Nevada and up to the California / Oregon boarder then down the coast to San Diego. We got to the El Portal and the woman in the office checked us in quickly and pointed us to our room. The room was very clean and the place was perfect for our 1 night stay. If ever passing through that area again we would Definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Azriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great staff !
By strange mistake we (two persons) had a room for three persoons. This last room was already booked in advance for a family, but by mistake we got the room. The manager let us stay in the room and took care of the other family. He booked a room somewhere else in Beatty for them.
We were shamed but also very greatfull.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HuizenAnoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This motel is not the Ritz. But, It is a comfortable place to stay. The Person who runs it is always on site. All you have to do is go to the office. The rooms are average, but clean. They have a small refrig. in each room. Wi-Fi is free. No problem with parking and the swimming pool is very nice. I used it each day and it cooled me down quite nicely.
Only problem is that you are at the south edge of town and there are no stores or restaurants within walking distance. At nite it is very quiet. I walked out on the boulevard and stood there with my beer and looked up and down the town. Pretty cool.
The Beatty Museum is across the street.
Price wise this is a good deal.

Room Tip: You can get rooms in front or on the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dieselkmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very nice motel. Everything is immaculate even though the motel is quite old. Very quiet and with a lovely pool. Sheets and beds very comfortable indeed. Our host was helpful and pleasant. Highly recommend if you're visiting Death Valley.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pioneertowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#3 of 6 in Beatty
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#5 of 6 in Beatty
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing