We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value near Death Valley”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best value near Death Valley”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The original motel is very old an not used. Do not be discouraged as you will stay in a more modern addition. This is the best value near Death Valley. The owners are nice and the rooms are acceptable, clean and basic. Take their advice for restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank distancewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    92
    42
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
96
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pulling up to the motel & entering the 'lobby' we were a bit doubtful of our choice. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The room - Lighting is dim and the room itself is dark. It is also very large. The beds were very comfortable, linens were nice, and even the pillows were good. Everything worked, even though many things were worn, they served their purpose. If we found ourselves in Beatty again, we would stay here. There are not many choices in this area and I'd stay with the El Portal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunnyDaizePHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
554 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a nice option if you want an inexpensive option near Death Valley, but outside the park. We spent a night here and were happy with the accommodations. It's an old motel, with plenty of wear, but the room was clean and everything worked fine, including WiFi. We got a good nights rest and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
248 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent two nights here while visiting Death Valley and were quite happy. We had quite a large room and it was clean and convenient. It was exactly what we needed after a day of hiking in the park. We ate at Denny's which is in a casino and is slightly smoky. However, the staff are very nice and the food is predictable. There is no supermarket in Beatty, but there is a store where you can get basic supplies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kipling. SK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Knowing full well the cost of accomodations in Death Valley, we decided it was in our best interest to save some money at this point of our parks tour and stayed in Beatty. Coming from the west this is the first motel you come to, which is off of the busy truck corridor further to the east where the other accomodations in Beatty reside. What we found was an effective place to stay the night. During check in the owner/manager was polite and helpful in answering our questions on where to go and where to eat. While the rooms were quite old, everything was in working order and clean. The room had a microwave and a fridge, but no coffeemaker tho. The wifi was excellent during our stay, and I used it to file this review and plan out our next day of travel. The bath/shower was a little more updated, and the water was hot and plentiful. The only issue was the noisy shower plumbing, which was worth a laugh as it groaned into commission. The TV had a good selection of channels, there was plenty of counter and table space, and the beds were mildly firm, though we had to sneek the pillows from the other queen in the room to make up the thickness we required. Lighting was adequate, all the basic amenities were present, and we received a good nights sleep. Thank you to El Portal motel for providing an effective place to spend the night, and to help us save some money.

Room Tip: We were located in an outbuilding with a half dozen rooms, so little disturbance from the other hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Widmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Of the six lodgings in Beatty, El Portal is at the quiet end of town. No trucks pass by. They stay on highway 95, driving past the other lodgings. No casino, so people not out being loud around the property. I, a single woman, comfortably walked to the other end of town past restaurants, lodging, casinos. Only a 15 minute walk, 3 minute drive. Don't speed. El Portal is a mom and pop operation. Very nice and helpful people. They have worked very hard to provide clean, ample, well maintained accommodations. If you need a hair dryer and coffeemaker, bring them. WELL WORTH $50!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverTrailWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, ky
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A rustic place to stay, nearest to Death Valley. The place is old, but well taken care of. The hot water never got really hot, just warm. Otherwise it was a suitable place to stay for the price. It was winter, the summer temperature would most likely make the water hotter, or more comfortable to shower in. Nice for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chacochaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.4 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Beatty
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Property: El Portal Motel
Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing