We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Run Down”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2009

I booked a room at the El Portal Motel in Beatty based on the recommendations on this site. The room I got was so different from the descriptions on this site that I actually went out and re-checked the name and the address. Sadly the motel room was extremely run down, with stained brown shag carpet, dirty curtains, chipped and threadbare furniture and holes in the blankets. The list goes on and on. If you are looking for the worst motel room you could possibly stay in, this one should be at the top of your list. On a safety note, the heat was provided by a free standing heater that could be dangerous for kids and some of the rooms also faced the main street with no demarcation or fence. There are several good hotels and motels in Beatty, so my advice would be: don’t stop, just keep on driving.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Business_Traveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2008

This was my second time staying here, and I ended up in the same room as the first time. No surprises, everything was exactly as it was last year. The room was clean & reasonably comfortable. My only complaint is that 3 lightbulbs were burnt out and there was no garbage can in the room, but other than that it was fine.

As long as the El Portal remains the least expensive motel in Beatty that offers online reservations, I'll return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

The El Portal Motel cost us $49.95 for the night.
The room was spacious with a large bed, small fridge and microwave. The whole place looks very dated and could do with a bit of investment. Having said that, it was comfortable and our room was very clean. The motel is ideally located if you are visiting Death Valley.
Beatty is a small town but you can get what you need there. I recommend the Mexican diner (very good food and not expensive) and the Rebel petrol station for its coffee and doughnuts in the morning. Make sure to stop at the Death Valley information centre across from the motel - the ranger was extremely helpful.
The El Portal is not luxury but if you are only staying one night who cares? I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sallyfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

An exciting, upscale, romantic western motel this is not! But wait! The El Portal motel in Beatty, NV, however, provides a comfortable and quiet night's sleep for very little, about $45 double. We stayed there in mid June, 2007 after seeing other visitors reviews on TripAdvisor, which have been favorable, except for the guy who got shut out due to a busload of tourists arriving just before him.
Yes, it's plain and looking a little like it's 50 year old age. The pleasant fellow who signed us in suggested the two-story building, since it is newer. Our two rooms were spotless, neat, with new bedspreads, and most importantly with comfortable beds. We had to wake the owner at 7 AM to get ice, but he was very nice about it. A pleasant and inexpensive stay. And, the location is great for getting an early start into Death Valley National Park, only 15 miles down the road. And please don't forget your advisors (including us) tip to go see the old ghost town of Rhyolite, which now houses an outdoor display of very unusual art and sculptures plus a few of the remaining buildings. It turned out to be an unexpected highlight of our 1600 mile circle tour of California, Nevada, and Utah.

4  Thank ArchieGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

I stay here often on trips to the Death Valley area and traveling between CA, NV, UT, and AZ. I like to patronize little Mom-n-Pop businesses when I can, and I've become friends with the owners, who are from the same family that started the motel. I've referred other people here, and this last time had friends also stay here.

This isn't the lap of luxury, pool is open only part of the year, no restaurant or casino (but everything in town is within a short walk). But the rooms are clean and spacious, parking is never a problem, and it's quiet and dark when you want to sleep. This is the quiet end of Beatty, away from the bustle and noise of the casino at the north end and highway traffic to Las Vegas at the south end.

Beatty is one of my favorite small towns in Nevada. It has real character. It's not near enough to Las Vegas to become another ugly, sprawling Pahrump-style burb. If you come here, be sure to enjoy the fine Mexican food at the Ensenada Grill. See the Rhyolite ghost town and the offbeat art at the outdoor "museum" as you enter the town. And spend as much time as you can in Death Valley, the most awesome place in the Western U.S.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Frisco_Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed 22 April 2006

Didn't actually manage to stay. Despite booking well ahead and getting confirmation, at the end of a long drive from LA we find all the rooms have been let because of a coach party taking all the rooms. I would like to think that this was just poor admin rather than the motel deliberately taking our room for the coach party booking. in any case they could have emailed. the wife at the motel blamed her husband!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2006

We were going to land in Las Vegas at night and couldn't find a room there for one night, so we decided to drive 2 hours to Beatty to the El Portal. We stayed in one of the "retro" rooms, which haven't been updated since the 60's. It seemed a bit musty when we got there, but once we had heat and fresh air it was fine. Whoever cleans the rooms does a stellar job and 3 nights cost a total of $130. Beatty's pretty small and quiet, but the Beatty Museum right across the street from the motel was very interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank velmavelour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#3 of 6 in Beatty
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#5 of 6 in Beatty
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing