We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“despite some of the negative feedback I thought El Portal was OK.”
Review of El Portal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Portal Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Wasn't quite sure what to expect given some of the reviews, but fortunately I found El Portal OK.

The room [#18] was very big. OK, as somebody else says, " ...it's not the Ritz", but it is more than OK. Yes, it is a little tired and could do with a makeover but for a pitstop with a good bed, hot water & a wifi signal it does the job.

If funds allowed I would suggest to the owner, who incidently is a nice guy and provided me with some very useful directions, should invest in some new heating appliances.

p.s. I hope the cold water tap in the bath/shower has had some attention, I couldn't turn it off!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingsleyronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for El Portal Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2009

We used to visit Beatty, Rhyolite, and Death Valley regularly when we lived in Vegas. We always stayed at the El Portal. The rooms were not Ritz Carlton quality, but they were always clean, the price was right, and the beds were comfortable. Not bad for a sleepover on the way to DV.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmatejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

El Portal Motel turned out to be a pleasant surprise in the middle of a desert. The staff were friendly, gave us some valuable tips about the area & made us feel very welcome, which was especially important after an exhausting day in the Death Valley.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlenaRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Welcome to the town of beatty, full of trailers, trash and rude people. This motel is no exception. Made a reservation, but had to cancel due to a change of travel schedule. We kindly visited the motel, as it was on the route to Vegas, to cancel the reservation in person. The B*()%$ at the reception told us we still had to pay in full for the reservation. After a brief discussion she threatened to call the cops if we didn't give her some money.

If you are near death valley, just find a motel on hwy 395. Lone Pine is nice. Looking for a hotel in vegas, the stardust is cheap, clean and big.

Avoid El Portal motel and the town of beatty at all costs!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DutchTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

booked to go in may 2009...had to change booking,,,,sent 5 emails.....did not reply to any of them,,,,,very very poor service,,,,,,,will never book there again......disgrace

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dick111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Our brief stay at Beatty's Nevada El Portal Motel was a very memorable one. Unfortunately, there is nothing pleasant to reminisce about: our room was noisy, smelly and dirty - simply filthy, dilapidated dump! This place is for you only if you cannot afford to pay a little more than $50 for 2 people per night.
Please, be aware of unwritten but vigorously enforced 48 hours cancellation policy. With prior reservations they got you for 2 nights; or, you "donate" $100 or so to the owner; or go through winnable confrontation with the front desk.
If, for some unusual reason, you decide to stay at El Portal Motel, request room # above 21 (as they are in newer building) and perhaps you will have a better chance of acceptable accommodations. But really do yourself a favor and stay at Beatty's more reputable motels/hotels with predictable, standard quality, such as Motel 6 or Casino's Hotel.
There is, however, a silver lining to this unpleasant and sad story - each room at El Portal is equipped with "deluxe" toilet bowl plunger!
Happy motoring everyone...

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EX-Portalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Reserved room online for one night for $55 plus tax. Confirmation email stated rate of $60 plus tax. Emailed back to dispute rate and received no response. Emailed again (to same email that sent the confirmation) to say that we would be happy to stay at the reserved rate of $55+ and if no response was received we would presume the rate would be honored. No response. Checked rate online again immediately before leaving and it was still $55+. Arrived to find that the rate in their handwritten reservation book was $60+ and the clerk couldn't honor the $55 (despite our documentation) without explicit approval "in the book" from the owner. We went down the road to Motel6 and secured a walkup rate of $53 plus tax.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
1  Thank Travel2Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
Death Valley Inn
Death Valley Inn
#3 of 6 in Beatty
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.8 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Portal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Portal Motel

Address: 420 West Main St, Beatty, NV 89003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Portal Motel is located in Beatty Nevada just outside Death Valley National Park (only 8 miles away) making it an ideal location to rest up from your daily adventures at the park. Located two blocks from Hwy 95 makes it easy to find and proves to have less traffic giving you a quiet and restful stay. Our Motel is a small cozy Motel that has been Family owned and operated since 1958. We are mostly known for our location, reliable customer service, friendly and informative staff and quiet and clean area. If you are traveling to Death Valley National Park, this motel is a must stop. Too hot? No worries, take a dip in our pool! With your immediate needs taken care of, rest assured this is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your El Portal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Portal Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing