We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Portal Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Inn at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
US$253
bedfinder
View Deal
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel(Death Valley National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
51
98
42
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
98
42
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeath valleylarge clean roomslocal informationfamily run placehuge roomsmall towncan't beat the pricelong daysan older propertysmall fridge and microwavestay there againroad tripgas stationrhyolite ghost townchillitwo queen bedslas vegas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I guess I'm spoiled by getting great rooms by online sites like Priceline, etc. - We wanted something close to Death Valley so booked based on Tripadvisor reviews and our experience was pretty much like everyone elses.

Rooms are large and everything worked fine - bed was clean and comfortable. Had a fridge and micro and even wi-fi (free too!)

Only concern was the rate - they took a 10% deposit upon online booking but there were two guys extending their stay by one day in the office when we checked in and their rate was cheaper than ours. AAA discount was only $3 on a $65 room. A bit odd I thought.

There are some nicer places like the Motel 6 down by the city's one casino and seemingly cleanest restaurant.

If you're planning to stay in Beatty bring a good book - if you don't gamble there's nothing to do in town!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Wasn't quite sure what to expect given some of the reviews, but fortunately I found El Portal OK.

The room [#18] was very big. OK, as somebody else says, " ...it's not the Ritz", but it is more than OK. Yes, it is a little tired and could do with a makeover but for a pitstop with a good bed, hot water & a wifi signal it does the job.

If funds allowed I would suggest to the owner, who incidently is a nice guy and provided me with some very useful directions, should invest in some new heating appliances.

p.s. I hope the cold water tap in the bath/shower has had some attention, I couldn't turn it off!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingsleyronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We used to visit Beatty, Rhyolite, and Death Valley regularly when we lived in Vegas. We always stayed at the El Portal. The rooms were not Ritz Carlton quality, but they were always clean, the price was right, and the beds were comfortable. Not bad for a sleepover on the way to DV.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmatejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

El Portal Motel turned out to be a pleasant surprise in the middle of a desert. The staff were friendly, gave us some valuable tips about the area & made us feel very welcome, which was especially important after an exhausting day in the Death Valley.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlenaRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Welcome to the town of beatty, full of trailers, trash and rude people. This motel is no exception. Made a reservation, but had to cancel due to a change of travel schedule. We kindly visited the motel, as it was on the route to Vegas, to cancel the reservation in person. The B*()%$ at the reception told us we still had to pay in full for the reservation. After a brief discussion she threatened to call the cops if we didn't give her some money.

If you are near death valley, just find a motel on hwy 395. Lone Pine is nice. Looking for a hotel in vegas, the stardust is cheap, clean and big.

Avoid El Portal motel and the town of beatty at all costs!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DutchTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews