We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but could do with some updating.”
Review of Death Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Death Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had spent two nights in Las Vegas in a lovely hotel so this was a bit of a contrast. The room was very basic and rather dreary. The room facilities were adequate but you wouldn't have wanted to spend any longer than absolutely necessary. Maybe a coat of paint and some brighter furnishings? The pool was nice and a welcome relief from the heat, and Beatty was a friendly town and very handy for Death Valley. However the price was good and we did sleep well, so for a quick stop off on the way somewhere else I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Me, hubby and our 13 year old daughter stayed here during out travel around the West Coast.
We had visited Death Valley during the day and booked this hotel for 1 night before heading to Yosemite (long journey).
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We found the location great, Beatty is a lovely place.
The hotel looks lovely, reminds me of something you would see in the Flintstones. Not because it look sold I might add, but the decor and the fact it is in the desert *lol*
There is a pool area although we didn't use this on our trip.
We did visit the local supermarket (very friendly people) and we had dinner at Denny's in the casino (again very friendly people). We also visited the ice cream and candy store, nom nom!
No breakfast supplied at this hotel but there is a small cafe across the road 'Mel's Diner' which we went to for breakfast.
Wi-fi, TV and other facilities worked great and the room was nice and spacious.
Only negatives would be: The lady who checked us in was helpful but not very 'bubbly' and a lot of dust and mess behind the bedside cabinet which was only found because there was a spider we needed to get rid of *lol* I am sure there is a lot of dust and mess behind my stuff at home though!
Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed just for the Night traveling from the canyons to Yosemite - arriving around 11pm so we did not use the pool next door which is inclusive.Rate of 38.00 USD for full hook up. New, spacy and clean restrooms / showers. Convenient RV park when you just need a place for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan-Bln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed overnight on a family outing to Death Valley. If you're coming from California, you oughtta know that Beatty, NV is ALL the way on the far side of Death Valley.

When we arrived, the front desk clerk was nowhere to be found. I waited, poked my head into the office behind the counter and walked around for about 10 minutes. Once she arrived, the check-in process was simple (I had already reserved on-line) and she informed me that if we planned to leave early, there would be no one available for checkout before 6:30. OK. Not the greatest check-in experience, but not a deal-breaker either.

The room was OK. Stark, but tidy. The furnishings dated, but the beds were super-comfortable. Ask for extra pillows, though, cause the ones on the bed are tiny. The air-conditioner worked like a charm and helped cover what little noise there was. I paid about $80 with tax.

Speaking of noise, there was a sign at the front desk asking for patience in dealing with the crickets. Apparently they invade in the spring and early summer. I noticed lots of cricket noise outside, but, meh ... I always travel with earplugs anyway.

The sounds in the morning were incredible. Woke to a blazing desert sun and what sounded like a million birds singing outside. It was lovely.

We had breakfast across the street from DVI at "Mel's Diner." It's only open until 3, so they're focus is breakfast. If you want a great diner-style place this is pefect. We had eaten dinner at Denny's (inside a nearby casino) the night before. Denny's is the same everywhere, right?, but not with kids at this one. We had to runn the sad gauntlet of chainsmoking slot-machine gamblers because the restaurant entrance is INSIDE the casino.

If you're travelling to Death Valley, I'd recommend staying in Beatty. Gas is MUCH cheaper than in the park. There are some decent food choices (not the awful Xanterra place in the park), cheap places to get supplies and it's a lovely drive from Beatty into the park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misterlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We were going to stay at the RV park next door but it was $38.00 nightly for a dirty, rock parking lot slot, no picnic table or no BBQ grill. So that cinched it for us! We just pulled right in to the motel and they had plenty of vacancies...And DVI is pet friendly, which we need....It's a very decent, average place, and met all our needs...No complaints here...The check in staff were super nice...The landscaping has rose bushes all around, very nice touch...As others say, there is no continental breakfast served....We just had cereal, fruit, and yogurt in our room the next morning...all and all we felt refreshed and satisfied the next morning as we continued on our road trip...

We also enjoyed the warm desert evening and walking our pooch the short distance to the swell city park...

We read the Beatty TA restaurant reviews and it didn't look too exciting so we settled for Subway sandwiches instead....It was OK, really!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Clean room, nice pool area with hot tub! Price was great!
Beaty, NV is like a living ghost town of a place with lots of rundown buildings but this hotel looks like new.
The walls are paper thin but you have a microwave and fridge. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very close to Death Valley!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We needed a room in "beautiful" Beatty for one night and since the motels in town all seem alike we tried the one with a pool. When we arrived we found the weather was too cool to use the pool that day so that was a waste and can't comment on the it. The room was nothing special so there is not a lot to say about that either, but I'll try.

The room was kinda clean but it smelled of some strong cleaning solution that was obviously heavily used. We left the door open for a while but as it was getting cool outside we had to shut the door before the room aired out. After an hour or so we didn't notice the odor any more unless we went outside for something then it hit us as we went inside again.

The bed was hard and sleep was so-so, there's not many cable channels, Wi-Fi was intermittent and the shower ran out of hot water if anyone in a room near by turned theirs on.....I know that for a fact! The staff was nice so no problem there, the room price seemed high for what it was but is cheaper than in Death Valley by a long shot.

All in all it was OK for one night but I wouldn't want to stay here for any length of time, the problem is there are no better choices in Beatty that we could see, so good luck if you need to stay in Beatty for more than one night, you have our sympathies.

I might add that there are minimal services in Beatty, like two gas stations, a handful of places to eat and a few low end motels. There was no breakfast at the D V Inn so we wound up at Subway for a breakfast sandwich which was mediocre at best but filled the belly. We were more than glad to leave town and head up the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
331 reviews
28.2 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.7 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Death Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Death Valley Inn

Address: 651 South US-95, Beatty, NV 89003
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the site of the historic Burro Inn Motel, the Death Valley Inn Motel is the best place to stay, whether you are visiting Death Valley National Park, traveling along Highway 95, or just trying to get away from it all! Our motel offers over 60 clean comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool, Jacuzzi and barbecue area, and a laundry room right on site. We are also in easy walking distance from Mel's Diner, Exchange Club Motel, Beatty Museum, and convenience stores. 24 hour food and gaming is just a short drive away at the Stagecoach Hotel & Casino, and home-made ice cream is also available in Beatty at the Death Valley Nut & Candy Company (located next to the Motel 6) - you don't want to miss that! All of our motel rooms have high-speed internet and satellite TV, a hair dryer, shampoo & lotion. Our RV Park features 39 pull-thru spaces, with 50 amp hookups. We have a dump station, showers, and restroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Death Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Death Valley Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing