We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and nice property but needs better management”
Review of Death Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Death Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for two nights during thanksgiving. The property is in great shape. Rooms are decent for a motel. Pool and hot tub area is very nice. Other positives are good location and very friendly front desk staff. They are also pet friendly and only charges $5 per stay.

Booking system was messed up. Showed me a 3-person and 4-person room as the only available rooms when I booked. Turns out all rooms are the same, and there are plenty left and they charge by person. so I almost paid for 7 people when there are only 4 staying. Receptionist was nice enough to change booking upon arrival though.

Housekeeping was subpar. one bed was not made at all, coffee packs were not refilled and towels not restocked. ultimately not a big deal after all but could be improved to be more professional.

Also, the pool area could use some pool towels. we had to bring room towels and they run out fast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is an older motel that needs a little TLC. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but clean. The desk clerk was helpful in telling us where to eat. ( There are very few choices in Beatty.) The rates are fairly reasonable, but the motel is nothing special. Its best attribute is that it is very close to Death Valley National Park. The town of Beatty does not have much to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here one night to break the journey from Mammoth Mountain to Las Vegas. Not very welcoming - lots of notices saying what you can't do and don't try to gain entry before 3.00 pm - absolutely no exceptions allowed!! Pool was OK and the bed was comfy but the room was very dated, awful chemical smell and very few facilities. I wouldn't recommend staying in Beatty - couldn't wait to leave the next morning and most of the other guests had already left.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brindo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a great place to stop when you are on your way to Death Valley. The beds were comfortable. Too bad they don't serve any breakfast but there is a few diners in town that serve food. We just grabbed breakfast at a gas station which was enough for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfgiants2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had spent two nights in Las Vegas in a lovely hotel so this was a bit of a contrast. The room was very basic and rather dreary. The room facilities were adequate but you wouldn't have wanted to spend any longer than absolutely necessary. Maybe a coat of paint and some brighter furnishings? The pool was nice and a welcome relief from the heat, and Beatty was a friendly town and very handy for Death Valley. However the price was good and we did sleep well, so for a quick stop off on the way somewhere else I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Me, hubby and our 13 year old daughter stayed here during out travel around the West Coast.
We had visited Death Valley during the day and booked this hotel for 1 night before heading to Yosemite (long journey).
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We found the location great, Beatty is a lovely place.
The hotel looks lovely, reminds me of something you would see in the Flintstones. Not because it look sold I might add, but the decor and the fact it is in the desert *lol*
There is a pool area although we didn't use this on our trip.
We did visit the local supermarket (very friendly people) and we had dinner at Denny's in the casino (again very friendly people). We also visited the ice cream and candy store, nom nom!
No breakfast supplied at this hotel but there is a small cafe across the road 'Mel's Diner' which we went to for breakfast.
Wi-fi, TV and other facilities worked great and the room was nice and spacious.
Only negatives would be: The lady who checked us in was helpful but not very 'bubbly' and a lot of dust and mess behind the bedside cabinet which was only found because there was a spider we needed to get rid of *lol* I am sure there is a lot of dust and mess behind my stuff at home though!
Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed just for the Night traveling from the canyons to Yosemite - arriving around 11pm so we did not use the pool next door which is inclusive.Rate of 38.00 USD for full hook up. New, spacy and clean restrooms / showers. Convenient RV park when you just need a place for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan-Bln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beatty hotels
0.3 mi away
The Atomic Inn
The Atomic Inn
#6 of 6 in Beatty
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exchange Club Motel
Exchange Club Motel
#2 of 6 in Beatty
336 reviews
28.2 mi away
Shady Lady bed and breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Portal Motel
El Portal Motel
#1 of 6 in Beatty
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Beatty / Death Valley
0.7 mi away
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Death Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Death Valley Inn

Address: 651 South US-95, Beatty, NV 89003
Region: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range: £61 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the site of the historic Burro Inn Motel, the Death Valley Inn Motel is the best place to stay, whether you are visiting Death Valley National Park, traveling along Highway 95, or just trying to get away from it all! Our motel offers over 60 clean comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool, Jacuzzi and barbecue area, and a laundry room right on site. We are also in easy walking distance from Mel's Diner, Exchange Club Motel, Beatty Museum, and convenience stores. 24 hour food and gaming is just a short drive away at the Stagecoach Hotel & Casino, and home-made ice cream is also available in Beatty at the Death Valley Nut & Candy Company (located next to the Motel 6) - you don't want to miss that! All of our motel rooms have high-speed internet and satellite TV, a hair dryer, shampoo & lotion. Our RV Park features 39 pull-thru spaces, with 50 amp hookups. We have a dump station, showers, and restroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Death Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Death Valley Hotel Beatty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing