We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All aboard!”

Nevada State Railroad Museum
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Carson City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Train buffs will love this museum which features a diverse collection of photographs and artifacts that trace Nevada's railroad history. Highlights include a 19th-century rail equipment exhibit and five steam locomotives.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All aboard!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was a great way to spend an afternoon with two kids (7 & 4). You start off in the exhibition building with touch screens, artifacts and models that tell the story of the V & T rail line. The next building houses the train cars. A volunteer will guide you through and take you on the cars. Last but not least is the hand rail car that you get to try out. The museum is open Saturday - Monday. During the summer they offer train rides.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelgrl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    57
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to the Nevada State railroad museum where we spent about an hour touring around, but I would have liked to have spent more time reading the displays. I really liked the two interactive video displays that explained the history of the V&T Railroad. They had two steam engines on display as well as a few rail cars. The main museum was nice, but we really enjoyed the large building in the back with the old rail cars (many dating back to the 1800s). We hope one day they will get the funds to restore those old, wooden cars. They had some engines in there that we had not seen before, and you could look into the workshop through some windows to see the engine that they are currently working on. We did not take the opportunity to participate in the free handcar rides, but the kids who did looked like they were having a great time! We agreed it would be neat to come back during the summer to ride the train from Carson City to Virginia City.
Also, you cannot beat the price of admission to the museum: $6/adult and children were free!

Disclaimer: If anyone has visited the California State Railroad Museum in Sacramento, do not compare the Nevada State Railroad Museum to that. As my mom is a docent at the California State Railroad Museum, I have visited many times and know the museum pretty well. These two museums are very different in size and exhibits. So, when touring the Nevada State Railroad Museum, I tried to not compare the two.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cutedisneygirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

These V&T trains are amazing part of the past. The photos are great and the trains restored there are beautiful

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank julier4232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great little history museum if you have kids, bring them!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

This isn't a large fancy museum, but it is enough to entertain the kids and go try something out. A hand pump train cart, a real oil burning engine (wear your not so nice clothes, it does pump out oily residue in the smog which will get on your clothes in teeny tiny droplets you won't notice until later). Otherwise, inexpensive, and fun quick 2 hour tour with the kids, assuming you do the "train ride" and the hand cart tour.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank LarBearSSF-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Gotta see this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

If you are in Carson City, you gotta check this out. Interesting for the whole family. The Santa Train around Christmas time is a must for families with small children.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank NevadaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nevada State Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Nevada State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing