We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in Uneventful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel in Uneventful city”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights here. Hotel was ok. Nothing to brag about, but nothing to really complain about either. It was perfect for sleeping and using as a "base camp". Lobby was beautiful and inviting. I'm used to HIE staff giving the impression they LOVE their jobs and are here to make my staff amazing, that was not the case. Nothing bad happened with the staff, however, they gave the feeling they were only behind that desk because it was their job to be, no greetings unless guests initiated, no interactions unless asked, etc. Breakfast food was average, packaged muffins, sausage, boring eggs, make your own pancakes, bananas. Single, small elevator seemed subpar for HIE. Again, nothing truly horrible, just weird compared to other hotels in this chain. We had to wait on more than one occasion for Housekeeping to load up their carts either in or out before we could use the elevator. As always, the king bed was very comfortable and the room spacious and clean. However, room was "stuffy" when we first opened the door, but we easily fixed that by opening the window for awhile. At 8:59 both mornings of our stay, we awoke to the sound of "Housekeeping, housekeeping" knocking on all doors around us. My recommendations to hotel management: 1. Install fans in bathroom 2. Do something about the "vent/duct" in the bathroom that appears to be a DIRECT microphone to the room next door's bathroom!! 3. Out the back door, at the bottom of the stairwell, either post a sign that alerts guests of the 2 inch 'dip' going in/out of the doors or construct some type of threshold (that is an accident waiting to happen) 4. Retrain Housekeeping to COMPLETELY check the mini fridge in the room, bend over and make sure it is truly empty between guests (as we were emptying out our food we found someone else's leftovers sitting on the top shelf, obviously been there for way too long….GROSS!!). The best part about this hotel is its proximity to OTHER cities!! We drove about a half hour to Reno for dinner. We drove about 30 minutes and spent the day in Virginia City (highly suggest!) and then after check out we drove approximately 30 minutes to Lake Tahoe. We honestly found nothing to do in Carson City itself. Due to the less than stellar stay (like we are used to with Holiday Inn Express) here, we will not be back….Reno or Tahoe will get our business next trip.

Room Tip: Not sure, we were toward the end of a hall, far from elevator, view of the parking lot….ehhhh, not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear karla j,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is very nice to know that you liked the close proximity of our hotel to other cities. We also appreciate your positive feedback about the comfortable beds. On the other hand, we are very sorry to read that the service you received and noise disturbance prevented you from fully enjoying your stay.

Please be assured that all feedback will be acted upon by the appropriate departments. We take the confidence you put in us very seriously and we will strive to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    105
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
103
80
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I were on the last night of our 2 week driving vacation, so we wanted something more than a standard hotel room. I told this to Meredith at the front desk and she offered us the Honeymoon Suite for a reasonable price. Having been married for 33 years, we had to laugh about that. It was a great room but a little absurd because it had a huge bathtub with jets right next to the bed. Everything else about the room was great - Four windows with views of the hills across the street, clean and comfy bed and bathroom, and great wi-fi. The price of the room was definately a good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyzieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Great room, super.clean and comfortable. I was passing tbrough but the hotel was so nice it was a big factor in deciding to stay an extra day in Carson. Breakfast was pretty comprehensive with something for everyone. Clearly some thought has been put into this and so it should be - but how often is breakfast a couple of bits of bread and whatever cereal is cheapest by the bushel at costco ?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamSpongeCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Carson City, NV last weekend with our family. The hotel is right on the main street. We were there for a wedding. The front desk agent was very helpful and gave us a Suite with a view. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. I enjoyed the full breakfast that included Oatmeal and Yogurt. Will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLCTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After traveling all from SoCal we arrived to a very nice smile and given our keys to our room on the 3rd floor. Our room was large, microwave, fridge, but most of all it was very clean and comfortable. The following morning we started our day with a nice breakfast buffet provided by the hotel. We will stay here again when we return to this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We were in town visiting family and everything was just great! The staff was so caring and helpful, it really made us feel welcomed. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere was so relaxing, it was nice to just be able to sit back and watch tv. And the indoor pool was a definite perk!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_Mamakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hello Big_Mamakitty, thanks for sharing your experience by writing a review for our hotel. Your feedback and comments are very important and essential for our team. I am glad you choose our hotel and enjoyed your stay as well.
Please stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hotel is in excellent condition. I was traveling from Mexico with my family including 2 children. Front desk welcomed us with a big smile and took care of us during our stay. The hotel is located on the main street a mile north of downtown. There are 3 retaurants within walking distance. My famnily enjoyed the free Buffet Brekfast and Kids loved the pool. Room are very clean and we all got great service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carson City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
1.8 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#5 of 17 in Carson City
178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Carson City
Days Inn Carson City
#8 of 17 in Carson City
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Address: 4055 N Carson St, Carson City, NV 89706-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City, Nevada. We are conveniently located off scenic North Carson Street (Business 395) on the north end of Carson City across from the Green Golf Course near the Nevada Capitol Building, casino gaming and restaurants. This beautiful hotel is only 30 miles from Reno Tahoe International Airport and all Reno attractions, 30 miles from Lake Tahoe and 17 miles from Virginia City. Special in-room amenities are: free wireless high-speed Internet, 27' TVs with HBO and Pay-Per-View, microwave & refrigerator, 2 line phones with free local calls, work space, hair dryer and free parking. Luxurious granite appointments including bathroom surrounds, counter surfaces along with granite vanity tops were installed for a touch of class. We have 20 suites and a Honeymoon Suite, which come with a wet bar, separate living area, sofa bed, activity table and 2 chairs. Take a dip in our heated year around indoor swimming pool and spa . Other amenities include a fitness room, guest laundry and meeting facilities. Wired and wireless Internet is available in the lobby and in all rooms, pool and breakfast area.Visit Carson City, NV and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.There is a computer with Internet access in the lobby for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carson City
Holiday Inn Carson City
Carson City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Carson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing