We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carson City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Run Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Carson City B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We fell in love...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We immediately fell in the love with the Deer Run Ranch, it is truly a shangri la for nature lovers. We were surrounded by animals, beautiful flowers, a working farm and a peaceful lake. We enjoyed our stay so much we decided to spend an extra day and plan on coming back. It is very conveniently located to the adjacent Carson and Virginia City but is also a great destination for relaxation itself. Lots of places to walk a state park is also extremely close by. Most of all we enjoyed the company of our charming hosts. Very friendly and accommodating to our interests. We enjoyed the fabulous breakfasts topped with edible flowers, one of many special touches here. I highly recommend the Deer Run Ranch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindamccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverton, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Muffy and David are wonderful Inn Keepers.
The beauty we saw there was surpassed only by their gracious hospitality.
Enjoyed seeing the hundreds of deer.
The breakfasts were wonderful. Made with fresh garden items.
Anther fabulous memory for the "Gurgle Pot Girls" (4 high school friends that get together in a different city every year to reconnect - Fawn, Lory, Wendy and Vicki)
Vicki
Silverton, Or

Room Tip: 3 rooms to choose. 2 - queen bedrooms - 1 room with twin beds - 2 full bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This B&B ranch was a tremendous, refreshing change during our 3 week trip around CA and NV staying in chain hotels! The private guest area has 2 rooms, 2 baths and a large sitting room with tons of books on built-in bookshelves and it faces a small pond with a dock, rowboat, and ducks! It would be a great place to make home base while touring the area...close to Lake Tahoe and many other sights, including Reno. Muffy and David made us feel welcome yet were not omni-present. They happily work hard on the ranch after having designed it and built it all themselves. You can tell that they love what they are doing! Muffy is also a talented potter and has her own studio nearby to the house.
The breakfast was all home-made and mostly home-grown. Muffy generously let me copy her breakfast bread recipe and I have since made it for my family...delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasrts4046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

You will be amazed at the paradise tucked away in the foothills of Washau Valley. Muffy and David love people and it shows when staying there- they make you feel welcomed and well cared for. The rooms are spotless, warm and inviting. Although I have visited Carson City for over 20 years, this was the first time we needed to find lodging. Now I am wondering how we can let our friends know we will be staying at Deer Run Ranch the next time we visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toni f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent a couple of nights in Deer Run Ranch. It is a small B&B with only 2 rooms located a short driving distance outside of Carson City. The rooms are nice and clean and the breakfast wonderful and healthy. What makes Deer Run Ranch special is the secluded location, the fabolous garden with the pond and the Owls and David and Muffy. David and Muffy were friendly, attentive to our needs and really made our stay something special - thanks.
Whether you go here for solitude or use it as a base for roaming the area - we can only recommend it very much.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hajsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a great place to go for peace and solitude. You are on holy ground the minute you turn into the drive. Muffy and Dave make you feel as if they had known you all their lives, and enjoy showing and telling the history of this part of Nevada. Most of the food for Muffy's incredible breakfasts is grown on the property. Even though we live only ten minutes from Deer Run Ranch, we often stay there just as a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Both rooms face the west, and are decorated in artistic native American themes. From your window you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orgnizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Whenever we can, we stay at B & Bs. Deer Run Ranch is the perfect reason why. We felt welcome. Beautiful grounds. Excellent service. Wonderful breakfast. And, most of all, the chance to spend time with really nice and interesting people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carson City hotels
6.1 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#7 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
5.7 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
8.8 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#4 of 17 in Carson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Run Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Run Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Property: Deer Run Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5440 Eastlake Blvd, Carson City, NV 89704-9236
Region: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing