We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I booked a room here for 2 nights through Expedia (and I will never use Expedia again). The rate was for 29.99 a night...........I called the hotel (not a hotel by any means, but a motel, and a crappy one at that) to verify with them that pets are ok and that there aren't any additional pet fees (prior to booking the room through Expedia)....and pets were ok and there were no additional fees for pets. When I arrived to check in the desk clerk told me only 2 rooms are used for pets, and they are on the first floor , and the rooms on the first floor are at a higher rate of 39.99 a night............and as I was tired I didn't argue- I wanted to rest. I also asked for a nonsmoking room and they said the room was nonsmoking yet it had a strong odor of cigarette smoke in it- enough to give me a headache. I went to the desk to request a different room and of course wasn't given one as there are only 2 rooms designated for pets here and so I wanted to cancel my reservation for tomorrow night then and was told by another desk clerk that I had to contact Expedia to cancel. So I called Expedia and they gave me the runaround also saying I had to check out first before they issue a cancellation..............I never heard of such stupidity. I want a refund before I leave here, and not have to come back later to get it........how ridiculous!

Room Tip: find someplace else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I've stayed in this hotel 4 times since 2010, and each stay has been pleasant. The property is quiet. Have never been disturbed by noisy guests. The rooms are clean and well maintained. Rates are generally around $40 a night. Close to downtown, casinos and even a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merv1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have been here twice, 2009 and 2011, both stays were ok. The place has it's own charm. Sure it's not fancy and rooms are different. TVs, beds, etc. are bit old, but they work. Front side first floor is ok. I did't like the second floor room that much.

At least on 2011 the lady handled our late arrival without reservation well.

I'm not sure if I would take children with me. But friends on budget? Sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank z0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Checked orbitz and it had cheap rooms ($49) so we checked in. Rooms were surprisingly nice and clean. Would recommend it if you're just there to gamble

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor. People upstairs sound like elephants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwoman2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

This Hotel is not very well maintained. Carson City is not very big, any of the hotels could be considered a good location. Other Hotels at a similar price would be a better choice. I got a higher price quote when I called the Hotel direct. I got a better price through Expedia. I was in a non-smoking room that smelled like cigerette smoke. Bathroom is Motor Home small. Refergerator had let overs from a previous customer. The bed pillows are as hard as you could ever imagine.

Neighborhood recommendations: Since Carson City is not a big city, any of the Hotels in Carson City are relatively close to all you would want to see. The area around the Fandango Casino seemed like the newest, but all the Carso City Hotel locations are ok.

Dining: The Buffet in the Fandango Casino id great. They usually have a low promotional price during the week.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ewhitestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carson City hotels

Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

We are in our 60's and frequently travel and stay in Nevada, especially Carson City. We recently spent two separate nights, about four days apart at this motel. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and with the courteous staff of Marlene and Jody. We have used three other downtown motels in the past and will be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dick_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Wonderful place to stay. Very clean and the location is great. The staff is very courteous and would recommend this hotel to anyone. All in all, amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carson City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
The Plaza Hotel Carson City
#10 of 17 in Carson City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#4 of 17 in Carson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns

Property: Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns
Address: 651 North Stewart Street, Carson City, NV 89701
Region: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Nugget Hotel by Carefree Inns 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing