We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plusses and minuses but overall fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Carson City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Carson City
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Carson City
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Plusses and minuses but overall fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

There are definitely a few things about this Super 8 that need improving, but overall it was a fine stay. The carpets are beat and need replacing. The first floor has an unpleasant odor, but the second floor is fine. Maybe it's the combination of smoking rooms and the breakfast room (food odors) on the first floor, I don't know. The bed did creak or squeak, but it wasn't bad enough to prevent decent sleeping. There were wear and tear issues in the room - particularly the casing of the heating unit and the undersink area in the bathroom. The bathroom sink counter was small, yes, but just put your shower bag on the toilet tank instead. No problem. The breakfast room is an ex-hotel room, so is really too tight for the job of feeding all the guests. And now, for the plusses! The linens were clean and soft, the bathroom was clean all over, and the shower totally rocked! The water was hot and the spray was strong. The heating unit was off when we arrived, but after turning it on, it heated up the room in no time and was not loud. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of food and plenty of choices. The staff was pleasant; location is good; the price was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alborealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Alborealis,

Thank you for providing your feedback regards to your stay at Super 8 Carson City. We appreciate your comments and glad your stay was good. We always seek guest feedback for continuous improvement. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    74
    62
    27
    27
See reviews for
65
67
48
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff were all very nice, courteous and professional. The rooms were great and nicely done. Definitely will be coming back to this Super 8. Also, I loved how the wi-fi is free and it works everywhere in the building perfectly well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
James H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your stay at Super 8 Carson City. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to having you as our guest in the future! Call us directly and we will be happy to reserve a room(s) for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stay somewhere else. This place was dirty. The room had a bad odor and the air conditioner/heater was either on full blast or not at all. It would not cycle as the temp in the room increased. It just kept running. I may have missed the fine print, but I didn't realize this was a pet friendly hotel. I went into the hall to make a personal call on my cell and a guest's dog decided he was a guard dog so I went outside and another ankle biter chased me down the sidewalk. Good grief. Went back in the hall and the managers dog decided to chase me to my room! REALLY! I was wishing I had stayed somewhere else for sure. To top it off, at the continental breakfast there was a sign asking that each guest take only one (1) item for breakfast! I'm not staying at this dump again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farmerjoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
FarmerJoeF,
Yes we are a pet friendly hotel, listed clearly on our website. We apologize for your dissatisfaction during your stay. Reason why hotels put a sign in the breakfast room is due to stealing excessive numbers of breakfast items. It is just a courtesy sign advising to take one item of each of whatever you’d like however there is not an issue if you do wish to have more than one item, it is just to deter stealing. We appreciate your feedback for continuous improvement and again apologize for your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carson City hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Yes, the furnishings were dated. But it was late, I drove through a mountain pass in the dark and I was tired.

That said, the staff was excellent, and the room was comfortable. The breakfast was your typical waffle with juice and coffee and it wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
MJesF,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad your overall stay was good at Super 8 Carson City. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I often stop at Carson City, NA when visiting Lake Tahoe. It is much cheeper than the one in South Lake Tahoe and just as good. The air conditioning is wonderful, the rooms are clean and the beds are soft. There is a restorent within walking distence and a swimming pool on the grounds. It is pet friendly and has a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north side to avoid the sun heating your room up too much before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Amanda S,

Thank you for providing your feedback about your stay at Super 8 Carson City. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

i found the super 8 carson city very good internal hallways all rooms have a frig,microwave and hotel and rooms are nice and clean ,also has bathtub hot water very good room are 7 out 10 for niose bed comfortable my be more pillows? breakfast is also good it has all you need to get started for the day and hotel in great location for food and shopping

Room Tip: stay up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCarsonCity, Manager at Super 8 Carson City, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your stay at Super 8 Carson City. I am pleased to hear your stay was great. I appreciate the feedback your provided, as we do take our customer feedback seriously for continuous improvements. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carson City hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carson City
2.0 mi away
Hardman House Hotel
Hardman House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Carson City Max Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gold Dust West Carson City
Gold Dust West Carson City
#3 of 17 in Carson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Carson City
Courtyard Carson City
#4 of 17 in Carson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carson City

Property: Super 8 Carson City
Address: 2829 S Carson St, Hwy 395 1 Mile S of Town, Carson City, NV 89701-5514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Carson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carson City 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Super 8 Carson City, centrally located in Nevada’s historic State Capitol at the junction of U.S. Routes 50 and 395. Conveniently located 30 minutes from Reno and Lake Tahoe, our hotel is located close to area businesses including shopping, government offices and the Carson City Airport and National Guard Armory. Enjoy easy access to everything the Sierra Nevada Mountains have to offer in both Summer and Winter. Experience the Old West by visiting the Nevada Railroad Museum, Kit Carson Trail, or Virginia City. Plan your trip from the comfort of your hotel room with free high-speed wireless Internet while enjoying free SuperStart continental breakfast and in-room coffee. Our hotel is pet friendly and children age seventeen years and younger stay for free with an adult. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, make Super 8 Carson City your home away from home when visiting the Carson City area. We look forward to serving you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Carson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Carson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing