We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem where you least expect it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Border House at Crystal Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Border House at Crystal Bay
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hidden gem where you least expect it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

I discovered the Border House three years ago and decided to finally share this special place. My husband and I have stayed in every room of this boutique hotel. Suite #11 for the 60" flat screen, heated bathroom floors, steam room shower, king bed, fireplace and the space is our favorite room. Suite #6 is our second favorite for the balcony, jet tub, fireplace, double beds and double sinks. Every suite has a second tv in the bathroom, Keurig machines, fridge with complimentary bottled water and plush robes. The suites are all very comfortable and modern. Check-in is easy and efficient at the casino. We love this hotel so much that we reserved the entire place for our wedding weekend. Our families and friends were impressed with the accommodations as well and everybody was satisfied with their stay. It is truly a hidden gem with luxury in North Tahoe. One would never even think this is a hotel as it looks like one big house from outside. We travel to North Tahoe often and the Border House is always our go to place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent 3 nights at Border House in early December. The check-in process was extremely confusing! We arrive at 5 p.m, only to find the parking lot completely empty and the hotel's front door locked. Called reservations, told us to head to the casino right next door, and checked in there. Turns out the keys they gave us were both for the hotel's front door AND our door. Our room was on the second floor right next to the staircase, so although we had to bring our luggage up the staircase, the walk wasn't to bad. The room looked exactly like the picture, and the windows showed a decent view. Pillows were a but uncomfortable, but the bed was great! Didn't care for the jacuzzi tub; it wasn't built for 2 and it was very loud! However, we loved the fireplace!

Throughout our stay we received fresh linens and new amenities, even if we didn't use all of them up. Loved that they were eco-friendly! Wished they had a laundry facility though. All in all it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stay in Room #9, which was a spacious room that also overlooked the parking lot so you could keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RXII3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with a girlfriend we went to the Creepers Ball to see Tainted Love at the Crystal Bay Casino! Awesome show. Me and my friend where very surprised at how awesome the room was, I had booked it a few months in advance. Very clean, modern did NOT smell like smoke. The bathroom was very modern loved it, however I'm short only 5.2 and the sinks for a bit high for me, but it wasn't bad. There is a safe in the room which was very nice. Fireplace huge bathroom with spa tub and a flat screen tv in both the bathroom and main room. Would love to come back and spend a few night there. We stayed in room 2 on the first floor, very large. Was very, very happy with the room, and will stay here again.

Room Tip: You need to check in at the Crystal Bay Casino to get your room key etc. No pool for fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We are in room 11, third floor to ourself. A beautiful boutique like hotel.... A few quirks, but worth the price for sure! You check in at the players desk at the casino, it's an old Nevada casino so it's very smoky! (You only endure it a few minutes so not a big deal) the rooms are beautiful, and incredibly clean! The furniture is very nice, but a few Things to keep in mind.... Our room has a gorgeous wine bar with the glasses, no wine opener. So bring your own, problem solved.
Bathroom has a curtain as a door. But the lack of door is made up for with the beautiful bathroom! Steam shower is heaven!!!! But... No hair dryer in the room, haven't been a hotel for years without one provided. We would stay here again, well worth the price you pay! Just embrace the quirkiness and you'll be pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lphillips25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Border House is truly on the border, on the border of Nevada and California and on the border of being a good place to stay. It's an odd building and hard to find. No sign. You check in at the casino next door and then the doorman points to the building next door. The rooms are dark without sufficient light and without a view - even from the third floor large attic room where we stayed - and while there does seem to be one room with a balcony, it looks out over the road. But the fact that it's a converted brewery gives the building character and the furnishings are extraordinary - museum quality antiques from another era. But, yes, there is no elevator and you do have to walk your luggage upstairs. They've remodeled the bathrooms and, at least in our very large third floor room, everything is super modern to the finishing touch of a steam option in the shower. I missed a bathtub but that's because I like to soak. On the up side, for being so close to the main road, the whole building is extremely quiet, parking is easy and there's a fabulous walk down to the lake just one street over down Harbor Road. Since we don't like staying in a casino, even an upscale one like the Hyatt in Incline Village, nor do we like staying in a ski lodge that's been worn to the bone, we would stay here again but, be warned, it's unusual. The place grew on us and since we were there during fire season, we appreciated its excellent air conditioning! If anyone finds a lovely hotel on the Nevada side with a view, we'd like to know about it.

Room Tip: The third floor attic room is the one if it's available. The whole building is very quiet, well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grass valley, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was really shocked at how gorgeous our room was: high end accessories/linens/decor. It was quiver but close to the lake and casinos. We enjoyed being able to walk through the Cal Neva parking lot toward the lake then to the right down the side street to speedboat beach. Mellow Fellow across the way is great as well. A wonderful getaway

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

A friend of ours had a Wedding set in Incline Village. Invatation was received a year ago. Memorial Day weekend. Well, my Wife went looking for a place to stay and found that the Crystal Bay was renovating an historic landmark. What a Place! Via other TA's feedback, we booked room 6. This had the only deck! You could look down the road..500 yds. and see Lake Tahoe or you could see the guy across the street with 40 beers advertised! The room was huge and came with the ammenities that we can appreciate. Comfortable, quiet and accessible to the casinos or wherever you wanted to go. Staff was awesome! Price was even better, but..this is a hidden gem, if you know what I mean. North Shore is different than the South but wouldn't trade it. This place ROCKS!!! And Remember...Room #6.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal Bay
1.9 mi away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
2.2 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#7 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
2.9 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Ferrari's Crown Resort
#1 of 4 in Kings Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border House at Crystal Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border House at Crystal Bay

Property: Border House at Crystal Bay
Address: 24 Stateline Rd, Crystal Bay, NV 89402-7702
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Crystal Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Crystal Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Border House at Crystal Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Border House at Crystal Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Border House At Crystal Bay Hotel Crystal Bay
Border House At Crystal Bay Lake Tahoe (Nevada)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing