We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, decent hotel and casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stay, decent hotel and casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

I found the Red Lion to be a decent hotel. In a major city with big choices it probably wouldn't receive four stars, but here it is a good choice.

I can't disagree with the other reviews. There is a strong smell of smoke in the hallways but my room was ok. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and pillows of good quality. The room photos on the Trip Advisor page are a bit more upscale and modern than the room I stayed in.

The casino was a good size for a small town. It had a variety of games and a lively feel.

Taking the hotel as a casino in Elko, Nevada and for the price I paid to stay at a chain hotel, I was satisfied.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
I am pleased you were satisfied with your stay and that your room was comfortable for you. We are installing new carpet and wallpaper in our hotel hallways, which we are hoping will help with the smoky smell. It's also nice to read that you enjoyed our casino. We hope to see you again. David Zornes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    156
    84
    37
    23
See reviews for
125
133
35
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We had reserved a king suite room for our stay. When we arrived our check in was seemingly flawless, but when we got to our assigned room we discovered we had been given a room with two queen beds. There was no mention of changing our room type at check in. Fortunately there was still a king room available, but it was on a high floor (we prefer 1st floor because we travel with our dogs) and it was much more dated than the first. I was very disappointed to learn that the room type you reserve isn't necessarily the room type you will be given when you arrive.

Other than the room assignment error, the hotel room was very quiet and the bed was comfortable, which is extremely important. The room was also very spacious. I would give this hotel a much higher rating if you could count on receiving your reserved room type. Since I can only get a restful night's sleep in a king bed, not being guaranteed the room I reserved is a major detriment to this hotel. I will only consider, with great caution, staying at this hotel again because of this issue.

Room Tip: Verify your reservation before arriving if room type is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanStuckInUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Good hotels in the Elko area can be somewhat expensive, so I booked a room at this location via Hotwire. I have stayed at this hotel in the past and already had an idea of what to expect.

What I like about this hotel is its convenient location to the freeway and downtown Elko. The rooms were renovated a couple of years ago, and there are a few amenities (24 hour on-site restaurant, Starbucks coffee, gift shop, beauty salon, fitness room, pool, and casino) that are not available at some of the other properties in town.

When I arrived, the front parking lot was a madhouse, as there was a car show in town. The back parking lot was much quieter, however. The front desk clerk was courteous and friendly. He advised me that I had been reserved for a smoking room, but at my request he got that changed to a non-smoking room.

On the downside: In spite of being a non-smoking room, my room smelled somewhat smoky. I was unable to open the door to the deck to get fresh air. Room temperature was also an issue, as it was either too cold or too warm, and the temperature control was hard to decypher.

On the plus side: The bed was comfy, everything worked, there was in-room coffee, and it was quiet.

I ate breakfast in the 24-hour restaurant. It wasn't what I would consider inexpensive ($8.00+ for a standard bacon/eggs breakfast), but it was good.

Just for fun, I obtained a Players Club card and played a few slots. I lost the $5.00 free credit and $20.00 of my own money within about a half hour. I was hoping to earn enough points to get a free t-shirt, to no avail.

In summary, this is an OK place to stay in Elko, but I wouldn't pay top dollar. If they had managed to keep the smoky odor out of my room, I might have a different opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the property are more likely to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
813 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I want to be fair and say that the inside corridors of the hotel and the actual casino area smelled like smoke and the first floor smells like dog/cat. We later found out that they use the first floor for guests that have pets. I specifically asked them for a quiet room because I have a problem sleeping and they put us on the first floor. As soon as we walked into the building, a dog started barking so we had to go back and went to the second floor which was much, much better. Do NOT stay on the first floor unless you have a pet. The room also smelled on the 1st floor. The second floor room was actually quite clean and very comfortable with a fairly large room, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was a nice size too. They also had a workout room. There aren't that many places to stay in Elko, but I would try to find another place to stay. If you want a Basque dinner experience, go to the Star Hotel in town. It was wonderful. Lots and lots of food served family style but get there early. They are also closed on Sundays.

Room Tip: Do not stay on first floor of the hotel. that's where they have guests stay that have pets. Sm...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
I do understand your comments about the smell of smoke in and around our hotel/casino. We are doing our best to resolve this problem, because we can certainly appreciate the concerns of our non-smoking guests. In addition, we do have many guests who travel with pets and are very happy to find that we accept pets in our first floor rooms. I am pleased to read you did receive an alternative room which was satisfactory to you. We value your patronage and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

As a former resident of Elko I was aware of the positives and negatives of the Red Lion. Our reservation was made over the phone and the gentleman I spoke to could not have been nicer or more professional. My company has a negotiated rate with this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the nice discount! We reserved a non-smoking room on the third floor. Our room was clean and nice and we really enjoyed the balcony! The easy chair and footstool could stand replacing, they were rather shabby. However, it's not often that you'll find a room at a casino with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker! We really appreciate that! The long walk from the elevators and the hallway carpeting were negatives, as were the maids talking loudy right outside our door in the morning.

Room Tip: South facing rooms warm up quickly in the morning, but have a nice view of the Ruby Mtns. No traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear McFarland Clan:

I’m so pleased to read that your reservation process went smoothly for you and that you enjoyed your room. I will be sure to check on the chair and footstool and most definitely will speak with our housekeeping supervisor concerning the maids. In addition, I want you to know we have ordered new hallway carpet and wallpaper, as we are continuously pursuing appropriate upgrades for our property. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again should your travels return you this way!

David Zornes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very average hotel and casino but it's probably the best Elko has to offer. The room was an adequate size but not very clean. The curtains were off the track, The carpet was slightly dingy in the traffic areas. There was one easy chair. It's a very long walk to the Ice machines and casino so bring your walking shoes. The elevators aren't real clean and you see greasy fingerprints all over. The whole hotel has a certain old smell to it. It's probably from the cigarette smoke.There was a lot of guests that appeared to be single men who worked construction pulling up in huge work trucks and carrying in an overnite bag. Elko is not close to anything so I assume they are skilled labor who stay during the week because they can't drive home. That explained why the carpets looked dingy and partly explained why the finger prints from dirty hands were everywhere. The bed was moderately comfortable. The casino itself looks dingy and the bars at the casino gave an impression of being dirty. The staff was courteous. If I HAD to stay in Elko again I'd probably stay there just because it did look like it was the nicest hotel there but as far as return visits, Elko is OFF thte list!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near an entry door, elevator and take the entrance closest to the casino. It's sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisK32816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear Kris:

I am sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied during your stay with us. We have ordered new hallway/stairwell carpet and are anxiously awaiting its arrival and installation. I have reported your specific concerns to our housekeeping/maintenance departments. I do appreciate your advising your concerns as it is through such comments that we can only improve upon our customer service and product. We are very proud of our company and staff and feel we work hard to create a memorable guest experience. We are always sorry to read when that experience has not been the best. Thanks again for your patronage!

David Zornes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burrville, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I reserved a room by phone. But when we checked in, the desk clerk told me that my reservation had been cancelled "by the person who made it." After a few iterations of me asking for more information and the clerk saying he could not help, he went in the back and returned saying he had found a room for me. It matched the parameters of the original reservation. I was left wondering whether there actually was a problem with the reservation or the clerk was trying to squeeze out a tip, or both.

The room itself was adequate, though overpriced; the quality and ambiance were what I'd expect from a Comfort Inn or Holiday Express at $60-80 per night, rather than the $115 I was quoted and charged.

The attached casino seemed undermanaged and understaffed. My repeated calls before the visiit were unable to reach any casino host or players' club representative, or anyone else who could tell me about complimentaries. After I arrived, I was told the only person who could answer my questions was away that day. I nevertheless gave some action, a bit over $6000 of slot coin-in, that evening, losing $500, and talked to the players club clerk the next day, who said they couldn't do anything toward my room this trip, but if I played 4 times as much as I already had, I might get a discounted room rate on my next trip. In over 25 years of staying and playing at casino-hotels, this is the first time I've ever paid full price for my room..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drz77, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Andrew:

I have read your review and appreciate the comments you expressed. I am unsure why there was a problem with your reservation, but I will definitely discuss the circumstances with our front desk manager. With respect to your concerns about our casino policies/practices, I would be happy to discuss them with you personally. You can reach me most days here at the Red Lion Hotel & Casino by e-mail (DRZ77@PlayElko.com) or by telephone (775-753-0433). Please feel free to contact me at your convenience. Thank you.

David R. Zornes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Elko Inn
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Elko
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Property: Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Address: 2065 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-2628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elko
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elko
#4 Business Hotel in Elko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel & Casino is Elko’s premier hotel and casino, offering comfortable accomodations, great amenities and endless entertainment. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, we’ll make you feel right at home. Elko’s Red Lion Hotel & Casino features the finest accommodations available in northeastern Nevada. Enjoy plush, pillow-top beds, contemporary furnishings, wireless internet and more in our inviting guest rooms. We also have a fitness center, gift shop, seasonal pool and business center, so you have everything you need under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel And Casino
Red Lion Hotel Elko
Red Lion Elko
Elko Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing