We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and peaceful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Elko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

For a hotel in a casino the room was surprisingly quiet. Everything was clean and the overall stay was very peaceful. Having a Starbucks onsite is also a big plus. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient during check in/out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cramerhunts .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed a good night's sleep in our hotel! Nice to hear too that our front desk associates took care of you! We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Rm 243, a king. The room is very large, clean with all the comforts you need. However...the bed was awful!! The duvet felt like it weighed 50 lbs, the mattress felt like springs in spots. Couldn't get the air to turn on unless it was set to 50 degrees and high. We were too tired to request a move. Might stay again if in town.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank SandiG680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry that you experienced some discomfort during your stay. We hope your next visit gives us another chance to "do things right."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Unless you like the high Nevada desert, there isn't a lot of reasons to linger in Elko, but if you are passing through and need a big, comfortable room to stay, with a Starbucks downstairs, this is the place. If you gamble, there is also a big casino. Restaurants are in the hotel and nearby. Our room was clean, very large and comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Flyfisherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the room size and the fact that we have a Starbucks on property. Many guests enjoy our two restaurants as well. When you return to Elko, let us now as there are things going on in Elko and there are some areas nearby where locals have caught some nice size fish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

don't expect to be recognized as a RL club member. Upon check in I was treated very rudely, not given the bottle of water as they say you would receive or the coupon sheet, asked for a few more clothes hangers, only had 4 in room and told there weren't and more available????? Second day went to the counter to ask for the coupon sheet and treated very rude, maybe because the lady at the counter was upset that the guy in front of me she was flirting with left and I was next??? The rooms are half way clean but still a non smoking room smells like smoke. Going to try the Holiday Inn express next visit. Rooms are Ok but carpet is worn and dressers are used.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank carolyns178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I am very sorry you felt you were treated rudely by our front desk staff. It is our policy to always give R&R club members a bottle of water, but occasionally we forget. A friendly reminder to staff will prompt them to take care of providing you with your water. Again, my apologies to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We price lined our room at a pretty great rate. There were a lot of really great things about our stay -- so I will start with them and then the negatives in each category.

My first impression of the staff was very positive. The front desk was very efficient, made an effort to give me a room that was close to the elevator for easy loading and gave me wonderful information about the amenities available. She also gave me some really great coupons for food, the gift shop and gambling. That said, my first impression of the reception area was that it was very smoky. It is in the casino, so as you can imagine, it really smells of smoke, it's dark and not very "family" friendly.

Our room was in building 3 on the second floor. I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the room: the beds were plush and comfy, there was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker, there was a flatscreen tv with lots of channel options and a balcony. The balcony is nice -- but there are no chairs on it. Another nice feature is that there is a sink in the bathroom and in the vanity outside of it. The room was updated, clean and very comfortable. That said, the public areas/halls seemed run down a bit. The doors to the building were never secured, so anyone could enter the building without a key card. Also, they allow dogs, so the grass in the back of the building had dog smell. Also, since there is no smoking in the rooms, people congregated outside the doors to smoke. Ick.

There were lots of things close by -- groceries, food, and gas. The location is good. Overall, I would recommend this place. We had a very nice stay. Best of all, my husband won $40 with the $5 slot credit they gave us at check in!

Room Tip: Don't walk in the grass in the back of the buildings. This is the "dog walking" area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind words. Department heads have been notified of your concerns in the public areas and will be addressed. We thank you for choosing the Red Lion Hotel & Casino. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Rooms are clean and service is great. The free internet offered by the hotel is beyond awful. It seems the only time I could get a decent signal was between midnight and 5am. Security was another big issue for me. I was a female traveling alone on business and so for security sake, I requested a room on 2nd floor or above, this was not available. The exterior doors around building leading to the guest rooms were open access to anyone 24/7. Where most hotels usually require that you use a room key to access exterior doors around the hotel (other than the front entrance), this hotel did not require anything. The doors were wide open for anyone to come in. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review of the hotel. We are very sorry that our new front desk clerks did not follow policy procedures and move you to a 2nd or 3rd floor room. Also, we do have security procedures for locking down all hotel entrances in the late evening. I am sorry that you didn't feel safe during your stay. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The king room was neat and clean, no complaints there, ecept an oversite of having no shampoo, lotion or conditioner!! That's what happens sometimes. No biggie. But I am thinking maybe $89? No patio/balcony chairs and the red lava rock was littered with bits of this and that. $20 went into a slot machine and nothing came back out! Dinner was good tho at the Aspen. Wine selection limited but then it always is east of California. Tommi was a great waitress. Staff was fine. Go back? Probably. Maybe another place tho. Will read other reviews next time!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank candydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZornes_CEO, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry that our room attendant missed stocking your room with amenities. A quick call to the front desk and we will always take care of bringing those items to you. As to our rates, we are competitive with all other high-end hotels in Elko. Our local economy usually fills our rooms Monday through Thursday and then we have more rooms available on weekends. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the Aspens. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elko hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Elko Inn
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Gold Country Inn & Casino
1.6 mi away
Ramada Elko Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Elko
0.3 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Elko
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Elko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel & Casino

Address: 2065 Idaho St, Elko, NV 89801-2628
Region: United States > Nevada > Elko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elko
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elko
#4 Business Hotel in Elko
Price Range: £58 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel & Casino is Elko’s premier hotel and casino, offering comfortable accomodations, great amenities and endless entertainment. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, we’ll make you feel right at home. Elko’s Red Lion Hotel & Casino features the finest accommodations available in northeastern Nevada. Enjoy plush, pillow-top beds, contemporary furnishings, wireless internet and more in our inviting guest rooms. We also have a fitness center, gift shop, seasonal pool and business center, so you have everything you need under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel And Casino
Red Lion Hotel Elko
Red Lion Elko
Elko Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing