We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, Great service.”

Cell Block Steak House
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$120
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cell Block Steak House is open nightly from 5:00 p.m. Until 9:00 p.m. Reservations are recommended.
San Francisco, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I was staying at the Jailhouse Motel and Casino. My room was acceptable but dated so I was concerned about dining in the area. The restaurant was the highlight of the stay.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Cell Block Steak House. I ordered a Prime Rib dinner and it was cooked to perfection, The salad and sides were fresh and tasty. My server was helpful and attentive. If I pass through Ely again, this will be a definite stop for me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    80
    28
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great service in small town USA”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The staff gives you great attention in their restaurant. The food is excellent, though a litle pricey. Tasha is a great server, along with her "deputies"

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food unique atmosphere ”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Eating in a jail is not something I ever wanted but the food was good and since I left on my own it was a much better experience than the other way the service was good and the food was good too

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainier, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
813 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Much better than real prison food”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Because we were doing a site visit at the Ely Max prison, we though it would be a kick to have dinner at the Cell Block. Well, it was interesting, but hardly gratifying. The food was adequate, but nothing to write home about. All things considered, it was much better than the bologna sandwiches the inmates at Ely State Prison had for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Jail Food”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Makes Aunt Bee's Mayberry jail food just average. Get to sit in a jail cell and the service was great. They will take your picture in jail if you want. The food was good. Being from beef country I would say I have had better steak but for ELY NV this was a very good choice. A little pricy but still a good meal. We had lots of fun and enjoyed the quiet privateness of the cell.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManyRoadsTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cell Block Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing