We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chinese”
Review of Happy Garden

Happy Garden
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great service, great chinese, great portions, great value, great location... just go! Nothing not to like! Unless you're not a fan of Chinese food. Big room in the back to accomodate larger parties, fyi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great portions”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had dinner with a group of friends and the service was fabulous. Would eat there again, wonderful Chinese food, right off of Main St. (Aultman).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
441 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“It's a classic American Chinese Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Happy Garden's Chinese Restaurant, 562 Aultman St., Ely NV, tel. 775-289-3313. This is a nicely decorated but a cold space, even with two portable heaters. It is also a classic, American-Chinese restaurant from the 1950’s. The food was just like you’d expect. In keeping with that, we had one of their special soups ($7.95), one tofu with pork, one egg fu yong with barbeque pork ($8.95), one tea ($1) and one glass of Mondavi cabernet ($4.95). There was so much food we took the leftovers to go for lunch on the road on Wednesday. We spent $32.75 plus tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family owned and operated”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Was treated like a local even though I wasn't. Great Chinese food very friendly service with a very busy takeout business too. Very cold beer and big appetizers. Good size portions too!

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice Portions, Good Tasting”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I have eaten here a couple of times, choosing the dinner for two option. both times the food came out piecemeal, with soup, but next rice dish, then a delay before the entree came out. The food is more than two people will usually eat and quite good, but the odd delays between dishes left us with a rice dish on the table and no entree for a while.

It appears if you order the normal entree dishes, you get it all at once, but the family style offering comes out a bit at a time. We will likely order a regular entree and split it in the future.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Garden also viewed

 

Been to Happy Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing