We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Main Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Main Motel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night, got the military discount but were charged extra for a pet. The staff is great and wifi is available if you ask. Free great breakfast in the morning, take advantage of it if you stay. The place is clean and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
9
17
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here in September and really have no complaints. We were not expecting luxury and we got clean comfortable and friendly.
Walked downtown to an old hotel for dinner that was surprisingly good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stopped here, nervous of the quality of this place. We needn't have worried. The service and staff are very friendly. The room was clean and, with the exception of an ill-fitting bathrooom door, in very good condition. Beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast hours were posted as 6am-9am. We got there at about 8:45 and everything was ready and well-stocked.

Excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horizonbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This motel is not up to the price they charged, but everything was full because of horse races. Very strange room (132) had long hallway leading to backroom where beds were. Hotel was clean but air conditioner was in back corner and curtains obstructed. We got a broken down fan from the office (all the electical wires were exposed) and very carefully set it on top of TV cabinet, which helped a lot. What got me was on our second, a Saturday, we went for Breakfast around 9AM (Breakfast hours were from 7-10am) and found everything gone. The young man said he thought everyone had checked out so he put away breakfast. Why he didn't simply check the register I don't know. Previous day, the breakfast was out until after 10. He offered to get us what we wanted, but it wasn't that good a breakfast, (but the hardboiled eggs were a nice touch)so we passed and went ot McDonalds. This breakfast experience turned an average hotel experience into a definite negative experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfsPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The Main Motel in Ely, although small, is an excellent choice. Room was very clean, quiet, 2 queens, micro-oven, small fridge, net access, and best rate found by search engines I use. I certainly recommend it. Also, the Big Apple restaurant up the road (50 going East) about 2 minutes is an excellent place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miata-MX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picabo, ID
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Room was good size. Clean, Quiet, has Refrigerator and Microwave. Small Coffee pot in room * Continental Breakfast,need work .
I was they only to have a good night sleep. This is what I Great hot bath and a great night sleep.Had dinner from the Twin Wok Chinese Cuisine 700 Park Ave [--]

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaskowskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I probably wouldn't have chosen it based on it's streetside appearance, and gone on to the Best Western next door. Glad we stayed at Main Motel. The lady who checked us in was happy, friendly, and helpful. There is a charge for pets that isn't in the description - $10 cat, $20 dog, one-time, not per night. Clean, fairly new carpeting, drapes, furniture, wallpaper, bathtub, tile floor, counter and sink. DSL access. Continental breakfast was good, with a selection of bagels, toast, sweet rolls, fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs - Yum! Large mini-mart across the street is well-stocked, they even recommended a good Reisling, and a fun restaurant to go to. Coffee in room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.6 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.7 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#5 of 15 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#4 of 15 in Ely
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#14 of 15 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Motel

Property: Main Motel
Address: 1101 Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-1642
Region: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Main Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Main Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Main Hotel Ely
Main Motel Ely, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing