We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the nite.”
Review of Hotel Nevada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nevada
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Needed a hotel/motel for the nite, so decided to stay here. After checking in, went to our room and found it pleasantly more than expected. King size bed, comfortable as could be, quiet and secure all thru the nite, shower was extremely great, had great water pressure for a fourth floor room, and good WiFi connection. The room was very accommodating, had all amenities and were all functional. Was also finally able to leave the curtains open without fear of someone peeking in.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a back side room, for more quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is my third visit. Twice before on motorcycles with biker buddies and this time with my wife in the car.
Let me assure you that biker friendly does not mean biker trouble.
This historic hotel has bike parking directly in front of the main entrance.

The rooms are named after famous people who stayed here in the past. We are in the Charlie Pride room on 6th floor. These modernized rooms are clean and comfortable but retain a certain feel from the past. Our room was air conditioned as were the previous two rooms. I don't know if they all are.
There are rumours that a couple of the rooms are haunted. Ours wasn't. We had a good nights sleep with no noise or distractions.
The main floor has a uniquely styled restaurant. There is a huge articulated python skin on one wall and various antlers and sculptures.
The restaurant staff seemed friendly and efficient. The food orders are large. Coffee is Starbucks.
There is smoking in the gambling area main floor.
Check out is 11am and it is too bad we have to leave. Thank you Beverley at reception for the quick and friendly check in.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a bit of a difficult rating for us. We stayed one night at the hotel, (Tuesday), then checked out, but decided to take the Chamber of Commerce advice to "spend another day" in the area. When we got back to the hotel, which was pretty empty as it was a Wednesday, my wife tried to get the same rate as the night before and was told all those rooms were sold. (Again the place was empty and it was after 6PM.) With more than a bit of a snotty attitude the desk clerk tried to sell us a more expensive room. Even though I am a retired CEO I am still amazed at how the attitude of one staff member can hurt a business. Had the clerk been more cooperative and professional they would have filled a room, we would have eaten at the restaurant (again) and played at the hotel. Due to her attitude we took our business elsewhere and the hotel lost it all. There were plenty of other hotels in Ely, but we decided to drive up the road another hour and forty minutes to Wendover which was on our route the next day anyway. Happy Ending! At the Golden Nugget Hotel in Wendover, we purchased a midweek suite for a fraction of the cost of the Nevada Hotel, got a discount on the prime rib buffet making it cheaper than the small prime rib dinner at the Nevada Hotel and won $65 on the slots to boot! I will say we ate breakfast at the restaurant at the Nevada Hotel and they feed you well. At the Nevada the rooms are small but quaint and the noise from the road or on the floor, was not too bad. Had it not been for the desk clerk we would have rated the overall experience higher, but when someone is rude it just taints the entire experience.

Also, in fairness, it should be noted that other travelers have reviewed the Nevada Hotel and rated it much higher than my rating, so I would suggest you not let my low rating due to a bad staff member deter you from staying there at least one night and judging for yourself.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on Nevada Highway 6, (America's Loneliest Highway-btw its not anymore) but we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathyey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked a room at the "historic Hotel Nevada" for one night during a recent quick trip to Nevada. We rented a room with a King size bed for the night and the price was better than any other place in town (all of the places to stay in Ely are WAY over priced considering there isn't anything in Ely to do).
If you like a small room with a bathroom that has the toilet touching the bathtub and sink that is 1/2 the size of a normal sink, 2 old restaurant chairs (metal frames) to sit in, beat up furniture and a terribly uncomfortable bed to sleep in, then this is the place.
Never again for this place once was enough.

Room Tip: Overnighter in Ely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the first hotel in the US where I have brought in minimal luggage just in case we needed to leave or change rooms; one woman's "quaint" can be another's nightmare. But the initial inspection of our room was just fine; it wasn't huge but it wasn't small, seemed very clean and good enough for one night. There was a table but no chairs; there was one nightstand. There were two lamps which were insufficient to light the room adequately; we turned on the bathroom light and left the door open, which helped somewhat. The bathroom is definitely a challenge in that you can touch all four walls, but, again, it was clean, and water pressure was fine despite signs warning that the shower can change from hot to cold and vice versa with no warning.

It wasn't until we settled in that we noticed the empty condom wrapper (not the condom!) in the waste basket; that was unfortunate, but not a deal breaker. We were immediately adjacent to one of the neon signs in the front, but the blinds/curtains obscured them sufficiently. It wasn't hot enough to need the AC, but its position immediately next to and at the level of the bed might have been problematic. Noise was not an issue for our floor despite us being adjacent to the elevator and the ice machine.

Staff were friendly enough; I appreciated that the two women needing to ask a lot of questions at check in were attended to but the fact that we were waiting was noticed and we were taken care of promptly. You were given coupons for a beer across the street, a margarita in-house, and two $1 gambling tickets. (We weren't interested in the drinks but used the latter later in the casino, where we made a little bit of money.)

The only problem with this room, really, was that the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. We had been on the road visiting the National Parks, rising at 6 or 6:30 most days and falling sound asleep by 8 or 9 every night. We could not get comfortable in this bed and both of us slept poorly. This made the other minor inconveniences much more exaggerated as a result and it is not likely I would return to this establishment if in the area. If nothing else, I have to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CR_NYC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stay here frequently traveling between ID and AZ. I won $104 playing video poker, which helped to pay for dinner at the nice restaurant. However, we stayed in a pet-friendly room on the top floor, and were next to some noisy people. The walls are thin, and the neighbors were loud, with their TV blaring all night, so this made for an agitated puppy. We ended up leaving at 5AM because we couldn't stay quietly and comfortably considering our guests. Lesson learned: if the guests are loud, notify the front desk. They told us that they would have helped us out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a historic building so don't expect new construction conveniences. Smoky casino but room was non-smoking and comfortable. We loved the old-fashioned building and the location was within easy walking distance of several restaurants. The price was very reasonable and I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cremanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.9 mi away
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
1.1 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.4 mi away
White Pine Motel
White Pine Motel
#14 of 15 in Ely
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nevada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nevada

Address: 501 Aultman Street, Ely, NV 89301-1578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £51 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nevada 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The structure was one of the tallest in the state at one time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nevada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nevada Hotel Ely
Hotel Nevada Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing