We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Ely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Over the past 4 years i have done a lot of business trips up to Ely. I have stayed at all the places around town. When i first came to the prospector in 2009 it was average, but i noticed there was remodeling and other changes going on. The past two time i have come now there is no other place i would rather go then the prospector. Nice TV size, clean rooms, great staff, amazing price and what i love best....the restaurant. Food generally appears and tastes like it is mainly homemade, portions are huge, and the price is excellent. I read trip advisor all the time but rarely contribute, but the prospector deserves the time to write about.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsiejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel two days ago on a return trip from Arizona. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. The rooms are beautiful and clean-the staff is excellent and the restaurant is second to none. The daily specials are special and make sure you arrive hungry. Our dog was with us and the pet rooms are unbelievable. Pets are treated like another guest with their own beds, biscuits and doggy bags. The details in this property have to be seen. Everything is tailored to the guest experience. Did I mention the lounge with it's creature comforts. So much thought was put into the whole operation.

The dollar value compared to the amenities cannot be beat. When the Head Honcho is wandering around on a dreary, cold morning, checking everything and picking up garbage, you know you are at a hotel where the people care.

If you find yourself in Ely, do yourself a favour and check in.

Room Tip: The most pet friendly hotel I have ever seen. This property has every amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierceCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We drove through the town after a long day of travel, and this place was the last one before leaving the town. We were pleasantly surprised by everything. The front desk was wonderful, and for some reason upgraded us to the Oriental room. What a hoot. It was huge, clean, and. Dry quiet. We entered th room, and besides the obvious "Oriental" theme, there was a BIG stuffed floppy dog greeting us on the bed. We decided to eat in the small cafe and had a excellent meal, and great service. We would happily return to the Prospector, because it was very friendly, the service was excellent in every aspect, the casino was small, but fun and we sept well. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabbkakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stopped here overnight in an RV while driving through Nevada. Great place to stay for reasonable price. The check in staff was very nice and gave out some free drink coupons. The hotel pool is also available to registered RV guests and though we did not use it, it looked nice as I walked by.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drjohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Booked reservation for second floor and let front desk convince us to take first floor. Big Mistake ! Above us the people walked the floors atleast every 1/2 hour and flushed toilet every 1/2 also. The noise when they did was like a train rushing thru the walls. No sleep for us all nite.

Asked front desk to switch to second floor for second nite and all was quiet.

Other than noise problem a very nice motel with updated pretty much everything. The Restaurant had very good food and large portions.

Be sure to stay on second floor

Room Tip: Second floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed for Labor Day weekend. We went with the best value room as we did not want to pay inflated prices for the Chain Motels in this small town. We were pleasantly surprised. The beds and rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Even the little casino and restuarant we nice. This isnt Vegas but it Exceeded our expectations. It will be on my contact list if I stay in the area again. No question.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workmas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Sign reveals Luxury Rooms and free wifi at $69. Earlier in the summer we stayed at the Best Western and were disappointed that they did NOT have wifi, which is more and more important to travelers. Also, we checked out the La Quinta and found that their rooms were more than $110.

Prospectors' sign does not misrepresent. The room we had was large, generally clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our only problem was the carpet, which was badly stained by a previous traveler -- in our minds, this should have been shampooed before the room was made available again.

It's hard to explain the Prospectors' premises. With a discerning eye, one can see the special treatments that have been afforded to the rooms and the cafe. There is incredible detail in many of the fixtures and art work that you will find nowhere else.

I liked the casino, in that the slots were relatively loose and had good choices for a few hours of fun -- of course, you're still likely to leave a contribution! The only problem here was perhaps a lack of good ventilation -- very, very smokey.

We had breakfast in the cafe and thought the food was quite good. When I rate restaurant food, I don't take that lightly because I hate to spend good money on poor quality options. I think restaurants of all kinds should take their customers seriously and provide the best fare that they can for the price. Prospectors appears to do just that.

Prospectors makes rooms available for people with pets but, for people like us, they block rooms that have never had pets or smokers in them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevuR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Motel & Casino
0.9 mi away
Bristlecone Motel
Bristlecone Motel
#3 of 15 in Ely
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 1501 E Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £79 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prospector Hotel & Gambling Hall is a beautifully appointed Hotel and Casino including an onsite Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge. The property is newly remolded with 5 Star Amenities throughout, therefore, we are positive you will enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel is Pet Friendly so we love all pets and YES, we Love You too! In addition, being less than a mile away, we are the closest Hotel to the famous Train Station, Airport & Hospital. Safe Travels and See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Ely
Prospector Hotel And Gambling Hall Ely, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing